We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice property but way overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I arrived early afternoon for a 10 hour stay,descent parking for a semi along road in front of property, the gentleman that checked me in was pleasant and helpful the room was great appeared to be freshly remodeled ..great water pressure..AC worked great..mattress was comfy everything was clean but the problem was is that the room cost $180.00 I feel this is absolute highway robbery I have stayed in many hotels thru the years that were as nice for half the price I understand this is a busy time for them and the prices are inflated but I feel $180.00 for a queen room in a hotel without an elevator is way overpriced..yes it was a nice place but with prices like that this choice privilege member wont be back

Room Tip: I would check prices at nearby properties first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad we were able to accommodate you and your semi truck. I will certainly pass along your kind words to the front desk member who was working during your stay. Unfortunately, this is our busy season and being connected to the waterpark is our main attraction. Our rates change frequently and could be completely different the next time you are in the area. Please consider us on your next trip to rest when traveling through Erie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were passing through the area and stopped for the night. We didn't do anything but sleep and eat. It was late when we checked in and the front desk attendant was friendly and check us in promptly. The room was clean and comfortable. We woke up and ate breakfast before heading out. The breakfast was the usual choices for this type of chain hotel. It was full of families with small children apparently preparing for a fun filled day at the water park next door. The outside was clean and appeared well maintained. I wouldn't have a problem with staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are thrilled you were able to have a comfortable sleep and an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Front desk staff very friendly,hotel was very clean, has nice little pool. Continental breakfast was very good.
Rooms were very clean, beds very comfortable, that been said make sure that your room is away from highway,hotel is located only street from it and after running all day with kids in water park last thing you need is noisy road under your window.
Also there is little journey from hotel to the splash lagoon,which is perhaps great in winter time but in summer if weather is good is almost better to walk across parking lot.
I would go back only if Marriott hotel or Holiday Inn is full.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niagara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your stay with us! I will pass along your comments to encourage the staff to keep up the great work. We will always be more than happy to try to accommodate any room location requests during your next stay with us. The walk to Splash Lagoon is a journey, but you are correct in saying it is really nice during our harsh winters. We can't wait to see you back for another vacation at Splash Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We really like to stay at Comfort Inn's whenever we travel. We have always felt they have a friendly staff, nice breakfast and reasonable prices. This time we were a little disappointed. I felt the price was a little high for a comfort inn even with a triple a discount. It is "connected" to a water park though so I think that is their reasoning. For me, connected means directly connected which it wasn't. Don't let the false advertising fool you. You shouldn't have to walk through the lobby of another hotel and practically through their room hallways just to get to another hotel. It is a good ten minute walk to and from Splash lagoon, and it is not stroller or handicap friendly. The manager felt the need to remind the last person they could just walk through the parking lot. I did that to get my car after we walked over from SPlash Lagoon and checked in and there is no way this is safe for a family or someone who is handicapped. There is no sidewalk at all. Cars are flying past you and don't care you are walking. Also, no matter what the weather is are you expected to take your kids outside into traffic in beach towels and wet clothes to walk to a hotel that is supposed to be connected? It is not worth it. Finally, I agree with the last review about their air conditioning unit. I got to the point where I timed it because it kept me up all night. It was banging and turning on every two minutes. I even put it on constant fan and it still kept going. We came back from breakfast to find it was spewing out hot air while still on cool? How are children supposed to sleep with a loud air conditioner? It was even louder than the sound machine we take when we travel with the kids? The staff was wonderful and what little food we got at breakfast when we could get around the vultures known as guest was nice, but I think next time I will save my money up and stay at a hotel that is actually connected and family friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The connection to the waterpark is a longer walk, but is certainly nice when the weather isn't perfect. Sometimes when the weather is nice, the staff will suggest just walking through the parking lot to the sister hotel and then into their lobby. We wouldn't suggest walking the entire way to Splash Lagoon outside, I apologize for any confusion. We would have gladly helped you with your air conditioning unit had we known there was an issue. Maintenance has already looked into this and fixed it. I am glad you were able to enjoy the staff and eat some breakfast with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When they said attached to splash lagoon we didn't know we had to walk through another hotel up the stairs across a walking bridge and then to the lobby to reach the inn.We had a 5 yrold and a 3 month old and we couldn't use the stroller because we had to keep lugging it up and down flights of stairs. Also the air conditioning unit kept turning off and on every few minutes and was very loud. On the positive they did give us early check in and the breakfast was hot and plentiful.




it

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 488carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast. I have told maintenance about your air conditioner to make sure that does not happen again. Being connected to the waterpark is very nice when the weather is not so nice, but it can be a small journey which does include steps. If the weather is nice it is easier to walk through the parking lot to the next hotel to skip the steps, but that isn't always an option. We do hope this does not discourage you from staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Most people stay here while enjoying Splash Lagoon which adjoins the hotel. We had a Kids Suite with a king bed and bunkbeds for our grandkids, The room had 2 TV's which was nice but it is a small room and not a lot of wiggle room. The pool area is very nice and VERY warm and the pool itself was large and very clean. The only thing I found very odd when we walked over to Splash Lagoon was the fact we had to walk through the lobby of the adjoining hotel and past the front desk in our swim suits. The breakfast area is VERY crowded and hard to maneuver past the tables but there are several servers trying to keep up with the food demand to the hotel's credit. All in all a very comfortable stay and I would stay there again if visiting Splash Lagoon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your stay with us and the waterpark. Being connected is a very nice perk when the weather isn't so nice, but it can be a small journey. We would love to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We at first tried to get a room at the nearby Holiday Inn, we did didn't realize that this hotel was also connected with splash lagoon. The Holiday Inn was quite pricey and the front desk clerk was well, arrogant and he suggested that the Comfort Inn might be more in our price range-LOL after the week and money we'd already spent traveling, this was comical to me, plus the Comfort Inn was only $20.00 less but due to his attitude I'd already decided we weren't staying. I am so glad that we chose this Comfort Inn!! The lady at the front desk was so helpful and she was able to get us in a room right by the door, and she told us about the discounts at Splash Lagoon!! Our room was very clean and a nice size for 4, the kids were able to go to and from the water park without going outside, there was free hot chocolate and since they were cold coming out of the water -that hit the spot!! The noise was not bad at all and we were right near the main road. We were able to walk over to Bob Evens after the water park closed for a quick late evening dinner!!! The only thing we didn't know until after we'd checked out was that they offered a complimentary breakfast, but we will live and learn. I am planning a surprise trip again for my husbands birthday and we will be staying there-and it's only 2 miles from the casino!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here at Comfort Inn & Suites. I will pass along your comments to my staff to encourage them to keep up the great work. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future to help celebrate birthdays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Erie
Residence Inn Erie
#23 of 38 in Erie
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Presque Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 8051 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Erie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#12 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range: £60 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel located directly off I-90 and close to all Erie attractions and businesses. Completely renovated as of April 2014, all new guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing