We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“most expensive cheap hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Erie
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“most expensive cheap hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I had to pay a rediculous rate for this hotel and the room smelled of mildew, the sheets were of poor qualty and the blankets were thin. The curtains were old and the ac was loud. At breakfast, the hard boiledeggs were disgusting and there waasn't much else. Also there was no ice in the ice machine. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Kondan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and it's team. I will make sure that I share your
comments with the staff and management company.
I would also like to let you know that we have some exciting new updates coming soon and hope we will see you again.
Once again please do accept my apologies.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    77
    56
    33
    43
See reviews for
122
51
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fayette City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Room and bath both spacious. Whirlpool bathtub, made for nice big shower. Wouldn't reccomend using the actual whirlpool, appeared dirty, foreign material/hairs in jet intake, yuck.
Random hair throughout bathroom.
Bed was big and linens appeared clean.
Nasty foreign white globs/stains on couch and curtains, photos attached. Yuck.
Television was older and sound fades with static after so long and goes in and out. A good bit of channels available, so thats a plus.
Mini fridge was ancient and broke, photo attached.
Ice machine on the 1st and 2nd floor do not work, tried both evening and morning, and nothing.
Breakfast was ok, typical.
Honestly, I recommend spending a little more money and staying elsewhere.
Boston's across the street as excellent food and service, and also next to Splash Lagoon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Tiffany C.,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Econo Lodge-Erie. All feedback is taken very seriously as we strive to meet each and every one of our guests' needs. I can assure you that your comments will be shared with all the staff and management company. I would also like to let you know that we are working on some new updates to better accommodate our guests' so we hope you'll stay with us again when in Erie.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stopped in Erie for a couple of days during our vacation. This was one of the better Econo Lodge's I have stayed in (others tended to be shabby) so I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were good and the location was just off the interstate, near several restaurants and within a short distance of attractions. Breakfast was pretty decent although I would have preferred it to go beyond 9:30. They have a nice, indoor pool. The water was cold but my daughter still liked it. The room rates were reasonable also. Overall it met our needs for the short time we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ-Tennessean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear NJ Tennessean,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay at Econo lodge, Erie. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and that we met all your needs while you were in Erie. I will certainly pass on all your comments to the entire staff.
Again Thank you an hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Peach Street Econo Lodge. I booked a room after looking online. Don't be deceived, the pictures online look fine. The exterior looks great & it it is in a good location near the interstate. The room was very disappointing. The blanket on the bed was visibly dirty, an unknown substance had dripped down the bedskirt, and the curtains were partially hanging off the rods! The bathroom was very small with only a shower stall which was dirty, stained, & contained hair from the last unfortunate guest. Yuck!

I did contact the front desk about the issues and their only solution was have someone spray some Tilex on the shower stall. The employee then insisted that "some of that was just stained." That didn't make me feel much better either.

I will not make the same mistake again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommaof2cutekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Mommaof2cutekids,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Econo Lodge- Erie. All feedback is taken seriously as we strive to meet each and every one of our guests' needs. I have shared your comments with the appropriate team members and can assure you that your concerns have been addressed.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Going to New York City for Vacation we stopped her for the night. Wanted something inexpensive and clean and we got it. Price was wonderful. We had two rooms. One for our Son and Daughter in law and ours. Nice big spa tub in room. Easy to get to, parking was easy. Breakfast room was larger than most choice hotels. Food was very good. Slept well. We were on the 2nd floor and it was raining out. I was able to open the window to hear the rain. Nice stay, no issues at all. Did not go to the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggertoyoutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Tiggertoyoutoo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during you recent visit to our hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are meeting our guests' needs. I am happy to hear that you are one of those guests.

I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire team here at the Econo Lodge Erie, praising them a job well done. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again while traveling in the Erie area.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I had driven from Portland Maine at 830am to Niagara Falls, NY then pressed on and landed in Erie. I had a Hotel Coupons book and since it was friday night, many of the other hotels were twice the price they were the rest of the week. I was frustrated but Econo Lodge wasn't as pricey. I paid 89+ tax with AAA, and while that is still high to me, it was better than the rest. The staff were all very kind and helpful. We found our room to be clean, but the hot water would not work. I thought this place had a lot of bonuses besides the pool, they offered a laundry area and breakfast, with sodas and snacks in the lobby for purchase. It was convenient for me to walk next door to a food mart to get milk for my toddler. They were kid-friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBradley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear LBradley22,

Thank you so much for your feedback from your recent stay with us at Econo lodge, Erie. I was so pleased to hear that we provided such great services for you. We hope to see you again in the near future, again thank you!

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The only saving grace of this property is the pool.

Beds small and beyond soft. Shower rusting and more caulking than door. Rooms stink from mildew. Front desk were rude and know nothing about customer service. One of the people that stayed in another room had a fold out bed with no blankets, they called the front desk and were told they did not have any blankets, why rent a room with a fold out couch them?

Kids liked the pool and hot tub area and this is really the only reason I would ever think someone would stay at this place. We were here for 2 nights and barely got any sleep due to the poor quality of the bedding, bed and fixtures.

I know it is "econo" but does that mean that it is has to be "garbage" I think not. You can run an economical property and still have it clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CYSBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Cysboy,

First I would like to apologize on behalf of myself and the entire staff that we did not meet your expectations. All issues will certainly be addressed with the appropriate staff members to assure that we improve so that other guests' will not be inconvenienced as you were.

Sincerely,

Bill Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 39 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
0.0 mi away
Solstice
Solstice
#30 of 39 in Erie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing