We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Warren, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean room will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The lobby was very appealing and updated. Nice welcome bag of goodies. Our room was very nice also, clean didn't have that closed up smell.. Breakfast was fine and the hostess was accommodating. The price was great. Came to Erie for shopping and the casino and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    78
    57
    33
    44
See reviews for
123
53
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked this hotel Sunday and Monday of President's Day weekend with the waterpark package. It was a good deal and is right across the street from Splash Lagoon. For the price, we thought the room was nice. The carpet looked new, the walls, bedding and window treatments looked like they had been recently updated. The furniture looked like it was from the 1970's, but was not immediately noticeable. The room was clean. The bathroom could have used a fresh caulking, but was clean. There was no tub, just a stand up shower, which was no problem for us. WiFi was free and worked well. The free breakfast had enough variety, including waffles, but even with multiple waffle makers, it was extremely crowded with limited seating and took a very long time to accomplish breakfast. It was a large room, so I suspect that had we not been there on the holiday, we wouldn't have had an issue. There was a free shuttle over to the waterpark, but there was often a wait coming back to the hotel, so we just drove across the street each time. We enjoyed using the hotel pool, sauna and hottub. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stopped here during the snow storm on March 12/14. We were on our way back to Canada from Florida. The roads were getting bad by 12:30 so we stopped, this was the first hotel we saw off the highway. They let us check in at 12:30 instead of 3:00, they were very helpful and friendly. Small mix up with one room but it was fixed quickly. The pool and hot tub area was clean. Our rooms were clean and spacious, the shower was small but clean. Breakfast was one of the better ones compared to numerous hotels, lots of selections. I would go there again if I am in Erie Pa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDCaputo, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Lois P,

I wanted to express my appreciation that you took the time to evaluate your experience at our Econo Lodge in Erie Pa. I am so glad that you had a great experience and that your stay was a good one. I hope you come back and see us when you visit the area the next time. Please contact me directly to make your reservations and I will certainly make sure that you receive a discounted return guest rate, and that I have a chance to thank you in person. Have a wonderful Spring season.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkins Glen, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am a travel agent and don't usually write a review as I understand that one mans opinion can be different than anothers. I booked three rooms here this past weekend based on the recomondation from the Splash Lagoon rep when I booked my package. I just stayed this past weekend and I don't think I could have been more dissapointed. I want you to understand what you are getting by booking this hotel. It is in major need of updates. The floors have divets in them. When you are walking you can feel "holes". The king size rooms have holes in the walls between the bathroom and the bedrooms. In a more "honeymoon" kind of environment I might not have minded the lack of privacy but in a hotel that is designated as a kid friendly hotel for a water park this was not a pleasant surprise. I know this is a busy time of year but we had requested roll-aways and when we checked in they were gone. When we asked for the extra blankets because the room is designated for 5people and that is what we had per room we were told they were out except for one... This one had a huge hole in it and we were told at the door when they dropped it "If you don't want it, I"m sure someone else will". They offered additional sheets to make up for the lack of blankets. Our room had a spare blanket but again it had a hole in the center of it. When we went to breakfast the first morning they food was awful. The juice was watered down to the point of undrinkable. The sausage one of my travel companions got was still frozen in the center. We didn't even eat there the next morning. We took our 13 people out to breakfast. (This is one of the savings we like to have with so many kids). The only thing the hotel has going for it was that it was litterly across the street from the Indoor water park which was our destination. I will definately never book anyone here and will spread the word far and wide with my fellow AAA travel agents that this is not a place to book your clients if you want them to be happy with their trip -

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Never again will we stay at this hotel. First, our package deal was all messed up when we got there. The entire halls/rooms smelt like a big cigarette. We found someone else's dirty laundry under the beds, garbage behind the nightstand, the floors looked like they were NEVER ever washed, no hot water, no sheets for the pull out couch, no cot when we requested it beforehand there were HOLES in our dirty disgusting blankets. The breakfast was a complete joke. Everything about this place was disgusting. NEVER again will we even consider staying here. Sad thing, I traveled with my children and family, and I didn't even want my kids to sleep in this room. Jet tubs were GROSS along with the "curtains" in the shower.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Worst place I ever stayed! Pool was freezing, hot tub was luke warm and we couldn't even hook up the DVD player to the ancient tv! Tiny shower looked like it had never been cleaned and the beds were hard as a rock!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjsparkles92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The only nice thing about it is that splash lagoon is right across the street. All the rooms says non smoking but the place smells of cigarettes. If you're looking for a comfy bed, you won't find one here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikaylaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Solstice
Solstice
#32 of 38 in Erie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Erie Ambassador Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing