We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Erie
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Can I say enough nice things about this Hotel. I stayed at this hotel many times over the years and I'll keep coming back. The staff is very helpful and if you have any need it's only a question away. I attended a conference at the Avalon and stay for two nights . Very comfortable even with the remodeling they have been undergoing for almost a year now . I was in order room but also visited friends in some of the newer remodeled rooms and they're all just gorgeous. I wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Avalon when you need downtown Erie accommodations.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    71
    74
    149
See reviews for
107
82
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Although there were some things wrong but overall I liked the hotel. They had very nice housekeepers. The front desk employees were exceptional and polite. The two that helped me feel more welcome were Heather and Alex. They had very positive attitudes and kept a smile on their faces. I would recommend this hotel to pretty much anyone. The hotel is convenient to everything downtown and was very nice. Thanks for the comfortable stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at The Avalon for six days. It's location is fantastic. I can't comment on other rooms but the one I occupied was very reasonably priced and comfortable.

The housekeeping staff are friendly and efficient. The front desk personnel were professional and helpful.

For a reasonably priced, conveniently located hotel, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Erie.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. The wedding was beautiful and the ballroom was great. But that's where it all ends.

I had to give this hotel a rating just so I could publish my review. If it were an option to not select a rating, I would have gone that route.

The hotel lists a shuttle is available. In reality, it is a Honda minivan that was driven by the maintenance man for the hotel, who just happened to be available to pick up us up at the airport. We were greeted at the front desk by a couple of teenage employees, other than the lack of professionalism I am accustomed to at hotels, they got us checked in. The entire hotel is dated The hotel restaurant was closed and appeared to only open for weekend breakfast buffets. Our room was supposedly remodeled, which I'd hate to see what the room looked and smelled like before. The entire room smelled gross; a mildew smell mixed with some other stench. The bath tub did not drain and we had to take showers standing in 5 inches of water. We called the lobby and they said they would send maintenance, but no one showed up (probably driving the shuttle, again). I ended up going next door to my sister's room to shower. That bathtub didn't drain either. The next day we decided to use her shower again since the maintenance guy never showed up. We pulled back the shower curtain and apparently the plumbing backed up into her tub and their was who knows what in the tub. We called down to the lobby and again, no one showed up. There were some bugs on the wall in my room that I had to kill with a shoe. The walls are thin; plus the doors have giant gaps at the bottom. You can hear EVERYTHING, no matter if it was coming from the next room or the hallway. If Bounty came in bath towel size, this is what this hotel offers as towels. I CANNOT REITERATE HOW AWFUL THIS "HOTEL" IS. Save yourself the trouble and grief and just find another hotel.

Room Tip: Trip Advisor wouldn't let me type this in all Caps>>>as far as I'm concerned there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSTXAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Chesley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Where do I start. I am one of those people who do not write a bad review. I feel that as long as the staff are helpful and the room is clean I can overlook a lot. We booked a renovated room at this hotel online for 3 nights for a reasonable rate. We checked in at midnight on a Thursday night and were told that the room we requested was not available as it was dirty. Check-out is 11:00 a.m. and the room was still dirty?? The front desk clerk asked how we received that rate and then booked us into a room on the 8th floor. It wasn't the greatest room but for a place to sleep we thought it would do. NOT Out of 6 lights in the room 2 worked. The ceiling was separating from the wall and we could hear everything in the next room. The windows were moldy and dirty, the heat only worked if you turned it up to 90 and then it just constantly ran all the time, very noisy and made it hard to sleep. We had to go ask for our own towels and coffee in the room as they did not replenish them. Over the course of 3 days we went to the front desk 4 times to ask for the lights to be fixed and to have more towels. No one ever came, even after being assured that they were sending someone right up. Even all this we would have ignored, but the worst was when we came back to our room after being out for the day only to find people coming out of our room as the hotel had rented our room to someone else, and that this had been the second room they had sent these people to only to find that both were rented. We are just thankful that these were honest people and they did not go through our belongings. Our room keys were deactivated so we had to keep the ones from the people they tried to rent our room to. The night before check out we went down one more time to express our concerns and we told them that we were checking out the next morning and that would give the hotel time to decide what sort of a discount they would provide us with. Upon check out (which was the same clerk from the night before who assured us she would do something) told us that she could not authorize any discount, that it would have to be her manager but she was not in until the next day. Being from another country we explained that we would not be around the next day. The clerk took our phone number and assured that the manager would call and rectify the situation. I will retract my bad review if and when the manager ever calls and applies a discount. The only good thing about the stay was the friendly bartender at the hotel bar.

Room Tip: Demand a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is filthy. The carpets are dirty. The beds are old and warped There is NO cleaning staff to be found ANYWHERE. Upon asking for extra towels, the gentleman working the front desk said, " The towels are all the way in the basement and I shouldn't even still be here, I'm supposed to be off already." Pardon, but that sounds like a personal problem. There is no professionalism at all. The thermostat does not work. There is NO ventelation through the room unless you open a window. The room key randomly stops working, making you run all the way back down to the front desk at all hours to get the key reset. The overall service and quality of this hotel is more than subpar. It is undoubtedly terrible. I will never stay here again. I came here for a wedding and besdides the "Ballroom" being decent for the reception. Everything else was awful. The laziness of the staff was unbelievable. Next time I come to Erie, I will make sure to stay a franchise hotel. This dump is not worth the money. The portrayal of The Avalon on the website is seriously false.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. This hotel was filthy, several things were broken, and the front desk staff was rude. There were bags of garbage piled up and spilling out of the hallways. The ice machine was broken on my floor. The walls and the carpet throughout the hotel were dirty. The room was also dirty- hair in the tub, a layer of dust on the windowsill and hair/dirt balls were behind furniture. The dresser had something sticky spilled down the front of it that looked like soda pop . The carpet was not vacuumed. The curtain was duct taped to the rod. The bathroom was in worse shape. The shower curtain was mildewed. The tub drain was broken and so was the blow dryer. When I asked the staff at the front desk in the morning if I could get another blow dryer, she rudely relied that there was no one in housekeeping at the hotel so she could not help me. I had to crank the heater and stand on the bed to dry my hair with the air blowing out of the wall vent. I should also mention that the walls are paper thin... my young daughter and I could hear EVERYTHING that went on in the next room. Needless to say, I was not happy. I will never EVER stay at the Avalon or recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE. There are much better hotels in the area for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILUVCHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.1 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
214 reviews
4.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing