We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife mom had a massive heart attack and was taken to Hamot Hospital in Erie. We called the Avalon to get a room because the hotel was close to the hospital.
Kathy Kruger managed our reservation from our original phone call to checking us in to taking care of all of our requests during our stay.
She made what is a very stressful situation that much easier because of her outstanding customer service.

Thank you very much Kathy!

Sincerely
Rob Parrette
Connecticut

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words Rob! I am glad that Kathy provided you with superior customer service. We understand the stress that comes when a family member becomes ill and we are glad to help ease the situation in any way that we can. We send you prayers and well wishes for a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 77stacy0816
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Imaging booking this hotel thru Expedia, verifying by phone your reservation is in, and upon arriving in the lobby with you family, reception lady saying reservation is in but it is not paid for and asking you to pay it again. She does not even bother to pick up the phone when Expedia customer service and her own manager try to get thru to get the matter resolved. Finally, she accepts your reservation after speaking with her manager, but not before deriding you in front of your family for paying low, in her opinion, rate! What a joke. Lost an hour. She may be your receptionist!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Leo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. The Avalon strives to provide all of our guests with superior customer service and it seems as though we have fell short during your stay with us. We will be looking into further training with all of our front desk agents to avoid situations as you have experienced. I am glad that your reservation was taken care of and you were able to stay with us despite the confusion with Expedia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the price and downtown location. Our 4th floor room was clean and quiet. It was one of the remodeled rooms. If you want luxury, you will need to pay for a more expensive hotel. The room was satisfactory for the price. Free parking underground was a plus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wicketwarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable night stay at an affordable price. We hope you enjoyed downtown Erie and got the chance to see all of the sights. We have a wonderful array of entertainment during the summer. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have never stayed in a more dingy, dirty, deplorable hotel in my life. The website is very deceiving and the room we stayed in was fully equipped with dirty bedspread, lampshades, stained carpets, rotting windows, broken heat vents and a large gap under the door. We will never recommend this hotel or ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Anne,

We sincerely apologize for you unpleasant stay and are currently looking into future renovations of our deluxe rooms. Our deluxe rooms have not been renovated and we are able to offer these guest rooms at a very valued rate. I will personally speak with our housekeeping staff in order to reconcile the cleanliness issues that need addressed. I want to thank you for your feedback as we will use this as a tool to better serve our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel lobby was the only thing about this hotel that was at all acceptable. We had a "deluxe" room, and found the following problems:
Both beds sagged terribly (I have never seen worse beds)
There were crumbs under the mattresses (we were looking for bedbugs)
The lamps didn't work; the one by the beds was missing a bulb and had a cut cord
The wall outlet was loose
The bathroom door handle was so loose it wouldn't latch properly
The walls were peeling in the bathroom
The shower drain was plugged
The HVAC didn't work; A/C off or on, but no temperature control
There were only two sets of cups in a room for four people

We were told that the "deluxe" rooms hadn't been renovated yet; if we wanted a nicer room, we should have booked a "superior" room. Perhaps they will all be okay when the renovation's done, but the "deluxe" was completely unacceptable. Most of the problems had nothing to do with renovation, it was very poorly maintained. And we're not that picky... we had just come in from a camping trip.

The staff was mostly nice, though our checkout person was rather cold when we mentioned our displeasure. Parking is understandably tight being in the city; underground, and free, though their ticket system was broken. The continental breakfast couldn't keep up with the crowd.

The Avalon seemed to reflect the surrounding area of Erie: a fancy entrance (the pier at Erie is nice) but run-down and disappointing past that (we didn't feel safe stopping at a corner store on the walk back from the pier). We can't recommend either.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank your for expressing your thoughts and we hope to complete the renovation process in the near future. We try to accommodate all of our guests with Superior rooms first and use the deluxe as a last resort. Our maintenance department is working hard to resolve the general areas that need assistance. We hope you will stay with us again in the future when all renovations are completed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for a quick night in June. We got a room on the 1st floor near the lobby since the hotel was sold out and we arrived very late. Lobby smelled like sewage, fountain had a dead bird on the bottom basin, the only pro was the bed which was very comfortable but the smell in the room got to me right away. The staff was TERRIBLE and treated me like dirt. I will never stay here EVER again!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandonMarkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We were unaware of a smell in our lobby and a bird in our fountain! I'm not quite sure how a bird would have gotten inside the building, but we will surely look into this incident to ensure that it will not occur in the future. I'm saddened to hear that our staff did not provide you with customer service that is expected. We will look into further training our staff on their etiquette. Once again thank you for sharing your comments and I hope you will give the Avalon a second try the next time you stay in Erie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.1 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lake Erie
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 38 in Erie
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 W 10th St, Erie, PA 16501-1402 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: £59 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing