We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
71
52
82
84
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
52
82
84
160
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Imaging booking this hotel thru Expedia, verifying by phone your reservation is in, and upon arriving in the lobby with you family, reception lady saying reservation is in but it is not paid for and asking you to pay it again. She does not even bother to pick up the phone when Expedia customer service and her own manager try to get thru to get the matter resolved. Finally, she accepts your reservation after speaking with her manager, but not before deriding you in front of your family for paying low, in her opinion, rate! What a joke. Lost an hour. She may be your receptionist!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Leo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. The Avalon strives to provide all of our guests with superior customer service and it seems as though we have fell short during your stay with us. We will be looking into further training with all of our front desk agents to avoid situations as you have experienced. I am glad that your reservation was taken care of and you were able to stay with us despite the confusion with Expedia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the price and downtown location. Our 4th floor room was clean and quiet. It was one of the remodeled rooms. If you want luxury, you will need to pay for a more expensive hotel. The room was satisfactory for the price. Free parking underground was a plus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wicketwarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable night stay at an affordable price. We hope you enjoyed downtown Erie and got the chance to see all of the sights. We have a wonderful array of entertainment during the summer. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have never stayed in a more dingy, dirty, deplorable hotel in my life. The website is very deceiving and the room we stayed in was fully equipped with dirty bedspread, lampshades, stained carpets, rotting windows, broken heat vents and a large gap under the door. We will never recommend this hotel or ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Anne,

We sincerely apologize for you unpleasant stay and are currently looking into future renovations of our deluxe rooms. Our deluxe rooms have not been renovated and we are able to offer these guest rooms at a very valued rate. I will personally speak with our housekeeping staff in order to reconcile the cleanliness issues that need addressed. I want to thank you for your feedback as we will use this as a tool to better serve our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel lobby was the only thing about this hotel that was at all acceptable. We had a "deluxe" room, and found the following problems:
Both beds sagged terribly (I have never seen worse beds)
There were crumbs under the mattresses (we were looking for bedbugs)
The lamps didn't work; the one by the beds was missing a bulb and had a cut cord
The wall outlet was loose
The bathroom door handle was so loose it wouldn't latch properly
The walls were peeling in the bathroom
The shower drain was plugged
The HVAC didn't work; A/C off or on, but no temperature control
There were only two sets of cups in a room for four people

We were told that the "deluxe" rooms hadn't been renovated yet; if we wanted a nicer room, we should have booked a "superior" room. Perhaps they will all be okay when the renovation's done, but the "deluxe" was completely unacceptable. Most of the problems had nothing to do with renovation, it was very poorly maintained. And we're not that picky... we had just come in from a camping trip.

The staff was mostly nice, though our checkout person was rather cold when we mentioned our displeasure. Parking is understandably tight being in the city; underground, and free, though their ticket system was broken. The continental breakfast couldn't keep up with the crowd.

The Avalon seemed to reflect the surrounding area of Erie: a fancy entrance (the pier at Erie is nice) but run-down and disappointing past that (we didn't feel safe stopping at a corner store on the walk back from the pier). We can't recommend either.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on a renovated room!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank your for expressing your thoughts and we hope to complete the renovation process in the near future. We try to accommodate all of our guests with Superior rooms first and use the deluxe as a last resort. Our maintenance department is working hard to resolve the general areas that need assistance. We hope you will stay with us again in the future when all renovations are completed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews