We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dirty, and very dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and I can honestly say this is the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. Forget getting clean towels in the morning. We were there three days and never got our room cleaned. The toilet in our room did not flush for our entire stay. The room had an open half used bottle of shampoo and nothing else. The comforter on the bed was actually filthy dirty and smelled bad. The Hostess would not help with any problems we had. I really would like the Pa Health Department to take a good look at this place before someone gets sick.

Room Tip: I can't offer any advice on getting a good room at the Avalon in Erie Pa.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank your for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It sounds as if you had several issues during your visit. I wish we would have know the problems you were encountering at that time so we could have our maintenance crew ensure they were resolved. All guest rooms should receive housekeeping service unless otherwise stated with a "Do Not Disturb" sign. We will be sure to reevaluate the cleaning procedures with our housekeeping staff to ensure proper cleanliness is to standards. Thank you once again for your feedback and we will continue to work on exceeding all of our guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My recent stay at this hotel was one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had. We arrived in the room to find the toilet full of toilet paper and not working and a half full bottle of shampoo on the bathroom sink. The carpet had what looked to be a huge bloodstain and the comforters on the beds were filthy. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and asked for fresh towels Saturday night which we never received. The whole weekend we never saw one employee with a cleaning cart cleaning rooms. When we were checking out we asked to speak to the manager, who wasn't there, so they added our name to a long list of people that were complaining. I would recommend to find any other hotel you can find in that area, it was a total waste of our hard earned money and very disappointing.

Room Tip: There are none
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We sincerely apologize for you unpleasant stay with us. It seems as though we have fell short of provided you with proper housekeeping. I would like to speak with you directly if possible, please feel free to contact me at 814-459-2220 Ext 452

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have visited Erie for eight years in a row during Celebrate Erie and have stayed at the Avalon each time. In the past you could say it needed some TLC, but it was always a pleasent stay with friendly staff. In the last couple years they have done much needed renovations and the place looks fabulous! Located in the heart of downtown, within walking distance of great bars and resturaunts. Only a mile or so from the Erie Zoo! I will continue to stay here every year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for you positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Avalon in Erie PA and experienced some of the sites around the city. The Erie Zoo is a great place to take the family, especially during the summer! Please feel free to stay with us again in the near futurre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife mom had a massive heart attack and was taken to Hamot Hospital in Erie. We called the Avalon to get a room because the hotel was close to the hospital.
Kathy Kruger managed our reservation from our original phone call to checking us in to taking care of all of our requests during our stay.
She made what is a very stressful situation that much easier because of her outstanding customer service.

Thank you very much Kathy!

Sincerely
Rob Parrette
Connecticut

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words Rob! I am glad that Kathy provided you with superior customer service. We understand the stress that comes when a family member becomes ill and we are glad to help ease the situation in any way that we can. We send you prayers and well wishes for a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 77stacy0816
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Imaging booking this hotel thru Expedia, verifying by phone your reservation is in, and upon arriving in the lobby with you family, reception lady saying reservation is in but it is not paid for and asking you to pay it again. She does not even bother to pick up the phone when Expedia customer service and her own manager try to get thru to get the matter resolved. Finally, she accepts your reservation after speaking with her manager, but not before deriding you in front of your family for paying low, in her opinion, rate! What a joke. Lost an hour. She may be your receptionist!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Leo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. The Avalon strives to provide all of our guests with superior customer service and it seems as though we have fell short during your stay with us. We will be looking into further training with all of our front desk agents to avoid situations as you have experienced. I am glad that your reservation was taken care of and you were able to stay with us despite the confusion with Expedia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the price and downtown location. Our 4th floor room was clean and quiet. It was one of the remodeled rooms. If you want luxury, you will need to pay for a more expensive hotel. The room was satisfactory for the price. Free parking underground was a plus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wicketwarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable night stay at an affordable price. We hope you enjoyed downtown Erie and got the chance to see all of the sights. We have a wonderful array of entertainment during the summer. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.1 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lake Erie
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 W 10th St, Erie, PA 16501-1402 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing