We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place for Family over weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Waterfront Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
“Not a good place for Family over weekend”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here with my family on a Sat evening in Sep 2013 and our experience was not that great.

Cons :
- Wont recommend this for any family at all.
- Starting with the kind of folks we dashed into while parking in the lot right in front of the hotel - People using abusive language, fully drunk and sniffed with drugs were all around the parking slot.
- Loud music till 2:30 AM from an adjoining pub did not let us sleep well - not good especially if you came here driving from a different place
- No breakfast at the property despite mentioned that it is available.

Now the Pros
- The location is nice.Just on the waterfront.
- Currem - weekend reception manager was co-operative.
- Only if you are a bachelor and want to be near in a cost-effective hotel near airport , you can try this out . Room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    37
    44
    25
    23
See reviews for
43
29
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you want a hotel with friendly and helpful service, fantastic location for getting to the Phila. area, especially the airport. Their evening staff Careem was very helpful with a missing cell phone and charger. Thank you. We will return.

Room Tip: All balconies wrap around to the river. There is a club next door making it very convenient for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shavertown
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

super clean room at a great price. would highly recommend to a friend staying overnight in philly or flying out of PHL airport. m wife was hesitant about staying here when I showed her the pics online but she loved her stay here. I'll admit its not the ritz. I don't need fancy but I do want a clean room and it was all of that!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W B, General Manager at Airport Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you posting on TripAdvisor and the high marks your gave our hotel. I am sure it will be of assistance to future travelers looking for a place to stay for the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I gave this hotel a very good rating because I felt that I got what I paid for. If you only need a place to sleep for a night or two, as I did, and you don't want to spend a lot of money then the Waterfront Inn meets your needs. Okay, so I had to walk next door to the Holiday Inn for ice, and I did not have a fridge, there is no paper or pen in the room and there was only one chair in my room,but the price was right, the room was clean and I only spent a couple of non-sleeping hours in the room. The hotel is on the water and has a great view. If you enjoy watching planes taking off you can watch from the back of the hotel. I will attach a few photos taken from just outside my room. My first night here was a Thursday and the next door Club that several reviewers mentioned closed at 9:00. Friday night was a different story. The music started early and is played outside within 20 or 30 yards of the hotel. I was on the opposite side of the hotel and still easily heard the music in my room. If you are a light sleeper you might want to avoid this place on a weekend. Also, as others have mentioned, there is no elevator so stay away if stairs are a problem. Overall I enjoyed my stay and saved a bunch of money over the other hotels near the airport.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on the 1st floor and on the Holiday Inn Express side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ward416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W B, General Manager at Airport Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
As a well traveled individual I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I feel your input will be very valuable to future guests needing accomodations in our area. If in the area in the future stop by and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hi Traveler,
I stayed at this hotel overnight for an interview with USAirways.....got the job and LOVED the hotel. They are within minutes from the airport and provide excellent service. Thank you Dave for the shuttle ride, sorry I missed you at the Deck. One of the coolest things about the place is the restaurant/bar attached. The food is fab, and the bartender is a doll. Just a quick shout out to Bea at the front desk, luv you and thanks again for the room with the view (Room #257 was breathtaking)
I booked this room via Orbitz, paid $60.00 and could not have been happier......kudos Waterfront Inn

Room Tip: Ask for room #257 the view is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josepha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W B, General Manager at Airport Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I posted your comments thru out the hotel so all the employee's could read what a wonderful time. If in the area again hopefully we can be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It may not be the easiest hotel to find and not the fanciest, but the Airport Waterfront Inn is a clean hotel that doesn't clean out your wallet like many of the other PHL Airport hotels in the area. This is an older hotel that has been renovated to be up to speed with its sister hotel- the Holiday Inn Express which is next door. Situated along the Delaware River and only a few minutes from the airport, the hotel is in a very nice area of Essington. There is a lovely park next to the hotel and you can walk to the back of the hotel to the river area and sit and relax... watch planes land, boats go by, or see the wildlife along the river.
The outside of the hotel with its black wrought iron railings reminds one of a hotel from New Orleans. The hotel rooms, smaller than most today and next door at the Holiday Inn Express, are updated and very modern. Is it super fancy inside? No. Is it clean? Yes
The hotel is great for a place to stay if your plane is cancelled or if you want to spend the night before a super early morning flight out of PHL.
Breakfast is offered at the Holiday Inn Express next door with their breakfast bar, or the hotel offers a small to go bag... nothing fancy.
The staff is down to earth and very friendly. A shuttle van to the airport is shared between the hotel and the Holiday Inn Express which makes everything convenient. Nearby in Essington as far as eating establishments - Denny's, Mc Donald's, and a 24 hour Wawa convenience store that makes made to order food.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room since there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No1HotelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W B, General Manager at Airport Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
On behalf of the entire staff here at the Waterfront Inn I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and your kind compliments. I have posted & communicated your review to all the staff and they are very grateful that you had a good time. I see where you are an experienced traveler and for your kind compliments we are most grateful. Hopefully if you are in the area again we can be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Overall, we were pleased with our stay here. The shuttle service was exceptional. They were very flexible, picking us up at a hotel near the airport after dinner one night. We could have breakfast at the nearby Holiday Inn Express at no charge, and the people were very friendly. The room had very comfortable beds and plenty of room to do floor exercises. The bathroom was small with no counter space and nowhere in tub area to put soap, etc., but the water was always hot and plentiful. We did have a third floor room, and with no elevator, had to carry the luggage up. The view was great. Our Saturday night stay was noisy from the band playing at the bar downstairs, but that was the only night that happened.

Room Tip: The Deck Restaurant had very good food for dinner. One of us had crab cakes that were delicious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyminnesota11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W B, General Manager at Airport Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your valued comments in regard to your recent stay at our hotel, they are greatly appreciated. On behalf of the staff we hope we will be able to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essington
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Philadelphia Airport
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Philadelphia Airport
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
0.7 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Waterfront Inn

Property: Airport Waterfront Inn
Address: 103 Taylor Ave, Essington, PA 19029-1290
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Waterfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 room exterior corridor hotel located on the Delaware River, 4 miles south of Philadelphia International Airport. Room amenities include 32" flat screen TV's, iron & ironing board, coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Airport Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing