We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay for a Memorial Day soccer tournament”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Exton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Rooms were adequate for my purposes - a stay for two nights with my son for a weekend soccer tournament. Need to supply more toiletries. Staff was relatively helpful; however, due to procedural matters, we had to check out and check back in after our second night (only needed room 2nd night depending upon team performance 2nd day). And the 2nd check-in process was a nightmare. We had called earlier to confirm rooms were available, and reserved a block for our team, but it took almost 2 hours to get our room! Sat in the hotel lobby after spending all day outdoors...

Breakfasts included every morning and it included an assortment of pastries, fruit, yogurt, juices, eggs and pancakes. There was something for everyone. Hotel centrally located to shopping and many restaurants.

Pool is NOT heated!! Would have been nice for kids to be able to hang out in pool after games, but it was ice cold and they couldn't last more than a few seconds.

Fitness center is tiny - only 3 pieces of aerobic equipment and no weights. Barely enough room to do floor-type exercises.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2000cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was my best stay on Holliday Inn ever. Great service on front desk, very nice rooms and breakfast.
Location is another great advantage, easy access to all places in Exton, in front of Exton square mall and great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I very seldom give a poor rating. I do so for this property because in a one night stay, there were problems and not once did anyone apologize for my inconvenience. Further, I wasn't welcomed or thanked for my busy. I get that they were busy, however, for the price, I expect better service.

- Check-in was quick and I was able to check-in before 1:00 pm, which was great. The front desk person gave me great recommendations on places to get a quick bite.
- There was a used bar of soap on my counter. I didn't say anything. What was the point?
- I took a shower and realized that the towels were damp. And no they weren't damp from the shower. I call guest services twice and never got an answer. However, when I leave the hotel, there are two people standing at the front desk. One person said, "I just got here". The other person said, "I must have stepped away." Neither said, "We're sorry, how can we help."
- I asked for a sewing kit. The front desk person looked everywhere and couldn't find one. She finally asked someone from housekeeping and the person said -- in front of the guest -- "I didn't know ya'll didn't have any." Ten minutes after my request, I received a sewing kit.
- The microwave was dirty. I had to clean it before I used it.
- There were a lot of kids in the hotel for soccer matches. I believe the hotel was sold out. I know they knew the kids were coming. When I arrived at 7:15 am for breakfast, there were no spoons, no coffee lids, no bacon, no eggs, cereal on the floor. It was a total mess.

Needless to say, I do not recommend this hotel and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear CharleneEsawTravels,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am glad to know that your check in experience worked for you.

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had experienced with the hotel staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to Lionville.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I must admit I expected a little more than the tripadvisor rating suggested. This was my first time staying in a HIE and I was not "wow'd" by any means.

o Front Desk- The front desk staff was helpful. I only dealt with the night shift as I checked in at 1am Monday morning and checked out at 4am Friday. They were friendly and no complaints whatsoever.

o Housekeeping - when I travel I prefer NOT to have any housekeeping in my room. I left the do-not-disturb sign on the door all 5 nights, so I cannot comment on their services. But I will mention that the white envelope on the dresser with my housekeeper's name on it (suggesting I leave a tip) was a bit tacky.

o Room - I was given a handicap accessible room in between two conference rooms on the first floor, just past the elevators. When I was informed of this checking in I thought it wouldn't be a problem as I've had great experiences in them before. Looking back, I should have requested something else as the elevator attracted a lot of noise and the conference rooms were ok until the last night when they were busy well past 11pm.
The room was very dated and didn't feel warm or inviting. It was dimly lit and signs of age were everwhere - the leather desk chair had torn arms and seat back - the ceiling had cracks in the plaster - the bed was not as comfortable as mine is at home (this is usually the opposite case!) - I found a small amount of garbage between the bed and night stand - a lot of hallway noise.

o Breakfast - This was a great continental breakfast. Some of the better eggs i have had in a hotel. The hot items (sausage, bacon, biscuts/gravy) were indeed hot and tasty. This was a welcome part of each morning eating breakfast in the bright and inviting lobby / breakfast area.

o Location - Excellent location. Plenty of nearby restaurants and stores. I recommend PJs Pour House right next door as it's brand new and has good food and great beer selections. Quick access to the highway west to Coatesville where I was working. There is a brand new hotel in town there but has no restaurants around it. The best thing this HIE has going for it is location. If I return to the area that's the only thing that would convince me to return.

Also, one last small complaint. I was told when booking over the phone I would receive reward points for my stay but it appears that is not the case after checking my account online. Some hotels do not award points for CLC use, so that is why I specifically ask beforehand as I may not have stayed here if they said No in the first place.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators, especially if on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NodRoj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear NodRoj87,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are glad to hear you liked our location and enjoyed the breakfast. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent location and friendly and helpful staff are representative of this Holiday Inn Express. My party spent two nights there as we had business in the area. The hotel is located within a few miles of many restaurants, shopping etc. everything you need is nearby. The complimentary breakfast is a good start for your day and coffee is available all day. The rooms are comfortable but the bathrooms are in need of an update.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColonelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear ColonelBangkok,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our great location. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our daughters soccer tournament through THS. It was nice and very clean. The older gentleman that cleans and helps guests was soooooo nice! Loved him, he even recommend a great Italian place next door and showed us the way! Breakfast at hotel was ok. Rooms were tiny and when we asked if had suites or larger rooms they said all rooms same size..huh!? Oh well we managed. Overall it was nice just too small for us. We would stay again if had less people with us.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Kim N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I was also recently on the same business trip as the last review. The hotel is in a nice hotspot so for whatever reason your there, there is always something to do. I want to thanks Elaine, Victoria, and the rest of the staff for giving us the best accommodations especially during the snow storm. Can't wait to go back and see you guys again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exton
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Exton
Hampton Inn Exton
#2 of 9 in Exton
595 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West Chester Exton
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center at Exton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Exton / West Chester
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Philadelphia West Chester/exton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville

Address: 120 N Pottstown Pike, Exton, PA 19341-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Exton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Exton
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. Located just minutes away from QVC Studio Park and Longwood Gardens, The Holiday Inn Express Exton Hotel is your best choice for accessibility, convenience, and superior service in Chester County, Pennsylvania. Perfect for the business or leisure traveler, our hotel is 1 mile from Amtrak train station and minutes from the Philadelphia Airport. There's plenty of space to work and relax with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, 24 hour fitness center, and an outdoor seasonal pool. For a great start to your day begin your mornings with our complimentary award winning Express Start breakfast bar and a hot cup of coffee. After a long day, you can walk on over to one of the eight different restaurants conveniently located in the same shopping center as our hotel. The Exton Square Mall is also located just across the street for additional casual shopping and dining. Finish your night in one of our 124 spacious rooms that offer comfort and luxurious bedding, large work station, and over 40 TV channels. We also offer executive king and queen bedded rooms which include microwave/refrigerators. Our staff prides themselves on providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere, so whatever may bring you into our area, you are always right at home in the Holiday Inn Express Exton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville Hotel Exton
Holiday Inn Exton
Exton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing