We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at the inn with a group of friends, which allowed us the inn to ourselves. My room was comfortable, especially loved the bath towels. Had a small problem with the tv, but was quickly corrected. The breakfast was very good and more than what I expected. Because this is an old inn, you do have some uneven floors and creaking, but remember it was built in 1793! That is to be expected - this is a piece of history! My only negative would be that some of the furniture could use refurbishing. Also, enjoyed the humorous guidelines for staying at the inn that are in the guestrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
What better way to spend tax day than at a historic Bed and Breakfast. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    30
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
29
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the lovely Historic Fairfield Inn for two nights, Tues 3/18/14 & Wed 3/19/14. Though it was our first time at the Historic Fairfield Inn, inn keeper John Kramb and Terry the chef, made us feel like old friends returning once again. As we were the only guests on these two off-season, midweek nights, we kind of had the run of the place. This allowed us to 'peek in' on the other rooms that were available. The J. E. B. Stuart room that we stayed in was wonderful...! And will be our requested room the next time we stay there. Guests must remember that this building was constructed 19years PRIOR to the signing of the Declaration of Independence. Therefore, there will be a much different (and nicer...!) feel to the place than a Hilton. The floors squeak in places and the building has settled, resulting in floors that aren't always perfectly level. Quite honestly, if the building was perfectly plumb, much of its warm, welcoming charm would be lost. In short, I would not only happily return to to the Historic Fairfield Inn, but will, and have, enthusiastically recommended it to both family & friends....! John & Terry, thank you again for a wonderful stay...!

Room Tip: We stayed in the J. E. B. Stuart room and will request it upon returning. It does sit on the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. J.E.B. Stuart is the room in which I would most likely stay, too. It's large enough for two, and has a certain charm. I look forward to seeing you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay...the dinner theater magic show was excellent. The location is great if you want to stay in an historic property while visiting local wineries and Gettysburg. Our stay was comfortable for a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for the great review. I am puzzled about your comment about "complete re-do" Could you clarify, please?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn over the Valentine's Day weekend. It was like stepping back in time and absolutely beautiful and well taken care of. We were great very warmly from the moment we walked in. John was very nice and helpful in getting us checked in and even provided us with a bottle of champagne since it was Valentine's Day. We stayed in the 1757 suite which is in the old part of the house I can only say it was everything I thought it would be....so historic and well kept. The dinner in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and so was the breakfast in the tavern in the morning. John was extremely nice to lend us his touring CD for the Gettysburg Battlefields as well. Aside from the historic charm, I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the inn as well. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay at the Fairfield Inn for any occasion or if you are just interested in sharing a part of history. Absolutely looking forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: The 1757 is very haunting and historic. If you want to feel what it felt like to live back during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drakaymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGKramb, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
You two were a joy to have stay. Next time you come to the Inn maybe the battlefield roads won't be snow-covered and you can enjoy more of the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Visited the Historic Fairfield for Valentine's wknd & the B&B was great. The rooms were warm & inviting and the entire place was filled with tidbits of history.
They have dinner that is hosted by a local winery!
The caretaker, John, was very helpful... providing us with complementary champagne for Valentine's and sending us an item we had left behind.
If you are in the area for skiing or visiting Gettysburg, this is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGKramb, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for those very kind words. I look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our story began at The Fairfield Inn on May 8, 2013. That is where my husband proposed to me. The experience at dinner that night was so incredible we decided to have our wedding ceremony there. We communicated with John about a month before our wedding date. He asked questions and made several suggestions for us to consider regarding the ceremony and dinner. He emailed the dinner options so that we could get a rough estimate of how much and what kind of food our guests wanted so they wouldn’t have to wait long to be served.

We met with John the week before our wedding to make the final preparations. The Fairfield Inn was decorated for Christmas, and with the snow outside, it looked like a winter wonderland! John asked if there was anything we wanted to change or add any of our own decorating ideas. John emailed us the day before the wedding to see if we wanted to have the fireplace lit for the ceremony and if we wanted to upgrade to a suite for no extra charge.

The day of the ceremony we arrived at 1:30 (the ceremony was at 5:00). All the chairs were set up for the ceremony. John and the staff wanted to know if everything was to our liking. After the ceremony, chairs were put back and the tables were arranged for dinner. During this thirty-minute time period, guests were invited to the parlor where hot chocolate was available. Guests were also able to take a walking tour of the Inn. The food was excellent and portions were sufficient. During the meal, John gave a brief history of The Fairfield Inn.

We spent the night in the Patrick Henry room. The room was beautiful and clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The combination of The Fairfield Inn and its history, the snow, and Christmas made our wedding magical!! We have received only positive comments from our family and friends about our ceremony. Thank you to John and his staff for making our wedding experience a truly positive one.

Room Tip: Each room has its own uniqueness and charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I really enjoyed having your group here, and the bride was lovely. I hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Its under new management! From the moment we called to book till we checked out we had a blast. We went there and there thinking we would get a small bnb and we got all this history as well. We happen to be there and no one else was staying. But it was much better than the ski lodges. Its 5 min from the slopes and the staff is great. The manager introduced himself at breakfast the next morning :) we will be back for sure !!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blueh2ogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We try to treat everyone well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
431 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,508 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.6 mi away
Liberty Mountain Resort
Liberty Mountain Resort
#1 of 1 in Carroll Valley
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Property: The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
Address: 15 W Main St, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Fairfield Inn offers an enticing, warm, unique and memorable experience. It has been in continuous operation since 1757, and is one of the five oldest continuously operating inns in the country. Our rooms and suites are sumptuously decorated, and our food delicious. The restaurant is noted for our Chicken and Biscuits, and our Ham and Bean Soup (which is the same recipe as was served to the retreating Confederate forces on July 4th, 1863). Visitors to the Historic Fairfield Inn include Patrick Henry, Thaddeus Stevens, Robert E. Lee, and Mamie Eisenhower. This is a "must stop" destination for visitors to Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel Fairfield
Fairfield Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing