We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My fiancee and I were in Gettysburg for bike week 2014 and we were lucky enough to find this gem. We were in the 1757 suite, it was comfortable, clean and homey. The staff was great and chef Terry's menu and breakfast creations were excellent. Now that we've discovered the historic Fairfield inn 1757 we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63clairebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It was great having fellow bikers here at the Inn. Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here July 11th - July 13th and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very comfortable and the age of the inn along with the quirky slanting of the floors only added to the charm. The food each morning was amazing, a breakfast that would leave you full until dinner and was absolutely delicious! John was a gracious host, the cook was exceptional and we ate dinner in the on-site restaurant the second night and it was spectacular as well! The homemade biscuits and pumpkin fritters as a side were quite the compliment.

There is a very interesting display for the underground railroad on the 3rd floor and it is amazing to think of all the history this place has seen over the years. If you are looking for a great experience to stay in the Gettysburg area, I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mr_4RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

What can I say but "thank you"? I appreciate the kind remarks. Sometimes I have to pinch myself to remind me that I am a part of so much American History.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Thanks to John and the entire staff at the Fairfield Inn for my most recent stay in the Major Starr room. I must say that the service and amenities exceeded my expectations. The breakfasts' were great! The wine selection from the local winery was an excellent complement to a very good dinner - so much so, I purchased two bottles to take home and of course John talked me into a piece of terrific blueberry pie. I started out wanting a change from the routine of chain hotels (I overnight quite bit with my job) and ended up with the history and ambiance of an 1860's Inn (with some modern updates) and a step back in time. I cant sy it enough - I simply loved the history of the place!!! My only complaint - the pillows were a bit too thin for me. It is an absolute do-over.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Rich - thanks for you kind comments. About the blueberry pie...I almost didn't let you have a piece because it is MY favorite!
Besides, it is fruit, so it MUST be healthy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the 1757 room. It was a large suite with everything you could want. The staff were very friendly. Everything was clean and well kept. We had a great time talking with the owner and the staff. They are very professional and the historic nature of the Inn was great. The food was terrific for both breakfast and dinner. The wine from the local winery was very good as well. A great value and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful. We were in the back in the 1757 suite and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

I always enjoy hearing from a satisfied guest. Thank you for taking the time to rate us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the J.E.B. Stuart room which was quite large with a massive modern bathroom. Everything was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. It was only a short drive to Gettysburg and given the high cost of bland "chain" hotels in Gettysburg, the Fairfield Inn was a real value. We were there to attend a Civil War period dance, which was held literally a block away from the Inn, which made it ideal. Breakfast was fantastic and plentiful! We had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. I wish I had been smart enough to take your photograph while you were wearing those marvelous clothes.
Next time I will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a great time at the Inn during our three day stay. The staff was very accommodating, helpful, friendly and made us feel welcome during our stay. We Stayed in the J.E.B Stuart room. It was very comfortable, spacious and beautiful. The food was delicious and well worth the money. We also had wine from and visited Adams county Winery. I would recommend you visit the winery and visit near by Gettysburg. It was the perfect place to stay and area to visit for a much needed weekend away. We are planning to stay at the Inn when we visit this area again in the near future. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review. The JEB Stuart room is my favorite, and I am happy that you enjoyed it, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Inn is as comfortable & inviting as the first time we stayed there a number of years ago. The age & uniqueness of the structure make up for any lack of modern amenities (excluding the TV), which we really don't miss to begin with. We stayed in the Major Strarr room this time and the sleep was perfect, which is a prime factor to enjoying an Inn. This room is a bit smaller than some others but that did not bother us as we were gone all day (& almost all night) at the bluegrass festival which was a short drive away.
The food was very tasty as usual & the time we spent talking with other guests was a bonus.
Highly recommended for visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. My only regret is that I did not get to attend the Bluegrass Festival myself!
I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
3.0 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
460 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,574 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
1.6 mi away
Liberty Mountain Resort
Liberty Mountain Resort
#1 of 1 in Carroll Valley
105 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Address: 15 W Main St, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320-8320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range: £108 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Fairfield Inn offers an enticing, warm, unique and memorable experience. It has been in continuous operation since 1757, and is one of the five oldest continuously operating inns in the country. Our rooms and suites are sumptuously decorated, and our food delicious. The restaurant is noted for our Chicken and Biscuits, and our Ham and Bean Soup (which is the same recipe as was served to the retreating Confederate forces on July 4th, 1863). Visitors to the Historic Fairfield Inn include Patrick Henry, Thaddeus Stevens, Robert E. Lee, and Mamie Eisenhower. This is a "must stop" destination for visitors to Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel Fairfield
Fairfield Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing