We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milky Way Restaurant

Milky Way Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Fort Loudon
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure how this place stays in business - I guess it's because it's the only game in town.
Ice cream is average, sandwiches are basic...although I would recommend the hot ham or sausage egg & cheese for breakfast. Many like their donuts.
The atmosphere badly needs updated, but the people could not be nicer!!! Friendly folks here!
The owners certainly make a lot of money here, especially during the summer months, so they're doing something right in satisfying the locals.
Free coffee on Wednesdays too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAJStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is one of my favorite places to get a milk shake when I'm on the road. You'll see a lot of families, hunters, and construction workers stopping in for a bite to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

this resturant is great. If you love hoagies and milk shakes you will love this place. The food is wonderful, the ice cream treats are terrific and the waitress are nice. The place is clean and is wonderful to take your family there . They have really good soft serve icecream and large choice of favorites. It reminds me of a 50's type resturant. Comfy, good food, and just a pleasant place to stop.

Helpful?
2 Thank EvieandFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nthing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I haven't been there for a while, but its pretty much an average place to eat. However, in that area its just about all there is. If I remember correctly it was a cash only restaurant, which is really inconvenient if you don't normally carry a lot of cash. The service was average as well. The atmosphere is outdated. My guess is they are having trouble keeping the place open, since they haven't updated anything for a long while.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TJMacoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good but not worth the price!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The sandwiches are basic and something you can make easily at home. $4.50 for a cold roast beef sandwich that's plain and it comes with nothing!!! $3 for a large drink!!!! Just not worth what you pay

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTrips98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milky Way Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Milky Way Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing