We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Motel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granny's Motel & Restaurant

Granny's Motel & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Granny's Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frackville
New Bern NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Horrible Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This had to be the worst motel we ever stayed in....very dingy, shabby and dirty. The outside needed paint and sprucing - was very rundown...the inside was horrible, dark and depressing. The bathroom vanity was coming apart, there was a large patch on the bathroom ceiling, the carpet was dirty, the bathroom hadn't been cleaned and the towels were paper thin. We stayed for two nights and the room wasn't cleaned, bed made or clean towels put in room inbetween nights. They rely on folks coming off Rt. 81 and needing a closeby place to stay. The breakfast consisted of cheerios and coffee..nothing more. If there is anything good I can say it would be that the bed sheets were clean and the bed wasn't too uncomfortable but that did not outweigh everything else that was bad with the room. There was also a shade pulled down across the window that could not be moved so the room was permanently very dark even in the daytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    1
    6
    14
See reviews for
3
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frackville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

grannys LOOKS like it was a nice, quaint place to stay. not anymore. grannys is falling apart. the parking lot is bad, the service was ok, and the rooms (yes more then one) were well, not up to par. the walls were dirty, the fridge and microwave may have been wiped down, but were far from clean. the bathroom was decent, but poorly patched holes in the walls, paint was old and patchy, ceilings were stained, took about ten minutes to get hot water, but its cheap, and i mean really cheap, you can talk the guy at the desk into a room for less then $40. id stay there again if i was broke, but not for a vacation. oh, and the "wifi" was nonexistant.

Room Tip: if you are low on cash, stay here, otherwise, head across the street and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Frackville hotels

Cockeysville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Travelling for a few days on a limited budget as a single mother of three young boys. Trying to scrape together a mini vacation for us, and planned to spend a few days at Knoebels park. On the advice of a friend, who stayed at granny's with her family a few years back, I booked an "efficiency" room for 2 nights. When we got to the motel that evening it was late and the boys were exhausted from the drive up and day at the park. I was almost immediately creeped out by the hotel manager, who may feature in my nightmares in years to come. The place was literally falling down. The room was a terrible smell, sort of like heavily spiced food gone bad. I immediately stripped the bedspreads off the beds and the sheets appeared okay. However that was the cleanest part of the room. The bathroom was filthy, with I can't even imagine what stuck to the walls and tub. The walls of the room had holes in them, poorly patched and peeling paint, all covered with a combination of dried grease and dirt. The dropped ceiling panels were dislodged in places. The outlets were missing covers (great place for a three year old to be). There was a random microwave in the closet of the "kitchen" with what appeared to be dirty q-tips on the floor next to it. The kitchen was revolting, with grease and dirt covering every possible surface. The floors appeared to have not been vacuumed since about 1970.
From the outside of our room on the second floor it was honestly like looking at the bates motel.
Got the kids out as quickly as possible and checked into the Super 8 about 20 minutes away. When the Super 8 is like the Waldorf in comparison you know you are in a bad place!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Room was dusty. Carpet was damp. Bedspread was disgusting, though sheets looked clean. Creepy outside, creepy inside. Shower water pressure was good if you don't mind standing in your own water. Loved the wires hanging out of wall that was most likely were smoke alarm was previously located. Guy working desk was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon72670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Awful. Worst complaint was the black mold growing along the perimeter of the bathroom ceiling corners up to 6 inches out along the ceiling and down the shower walls. This is a serious health issue, obvious, and inexcusable. The room was smoky and perfumy. The floor was wet in spots - I hope they wet-vacuumed. Bedding was clean except the comforter (yuck), but at that point it doesn't really matter. The place was disgusting.

Second room was cleaner, but if you have to ask to change rooms then you know you should change places.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Booked three non-smoking queen rooms. Got three smoking double bed rooms. Paint looks fresh but, was badly done. Fridge was dirty, sink and tub appear clean. Carpet is stained and moldy. Photos on Expedia don't acurately represent the room. Musty smell. Stains on chairs. Crumbling exterior wall. Hot water is only warm. Simply yuck!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We travel a lot-and have never encountered anything like this. We have written, and prefer to write a good review but.....
Must confess, did not stay there. The lobby was filthy-Parking lot terrible (but you don't sleep on the parking lot). Went into the room--stank of perfume - meant to cover up something - don't want to know what -
My wife checked the bathroom--dirty, dirty, filthy rotten.
Does any travel company check all the motels they list ?
We left and are pursuing Expedia for a rebate--not holding our breath.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frackville
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
6.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#1 of 1 in Barnesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ramada Pottsville
Ramada Pottsville
#2 of 2 in Pottsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
#1 of 4 in Pine Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
15.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hazleton
Residence Inn Hazleton
#3 of 8 in Hazleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granny's Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny's Motel & Restaurant

Property: Granny's Motel & Restaurant
Address: 115 W Coal St, Frackville, PA 17931-2419
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Frackville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frackville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Granny's Motel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Granny's - where it feels as if you never left home. You will get our personal attention from the moment you check in until the time your stay ends. You will experience a unique feeling of being at your own Granny's house, from the Old World decor in the rooms to your dining experience in our whimsical restaurant. Our family and staff have been providing exceptional service since 1986. Warm and friendly hospitality is not a thing of the past at Granny's! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Granny's Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing