We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird restaurant”

Original Italian Pizza
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Frackville
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
257 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Weird restaurant”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a chain but the people say that they own it, which is I guess the franchise. It is weird in that, you may order something on the menu that is rather ordinary and they say that they are out of it. If you are out of a pasta, go to Boyers and buy some, for goodness sake. Also be careful of seafood entrees. A Crab dish was old and stunk but they insisted it was fine. It is nice inside but the food is rather average. If this place were in a city, it would not be in business.There is also something about the management that I do not trust. Try it for yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
237 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing for a chain”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found OIP in Frackvile totally by accident a few years ago, and we're glad we did. And frankly it was some time until we realized it's part of a regional franchise chain, and then we were really surprised at how good it is on a consistent basis. Often we'll go somewhere and get diverted from the pizza by the entrees, but we always make it a firm point to get the "OIP Special" pizza when we come here. It's often the highlight of the week. Pricing is reasonable but the quality and taste is constently high. And it's always the same staff, so that says something for it's stability and consistency as well. Don't miss it when visiting sunny downtown Frackville.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tubaman77-CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, Ms.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Went to the fair wile in town but missed getting my Italian sausage so I went here. More food than we could finish but the hotel had a microwave, so it went with us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A very nice family run restaurant. Seemed very popular with the locals for good reason. The food was excellent and the menu gave you lots of choices. Try the Calzones!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdefraites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If driving on 81 North and need lunch or dinner, this is a good choice.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

The food here was a step above fast food, and the service was excellent, and the place was super clean. Very family friendly and just a great little place. They come to the table with fresh bread-- and so this is your clue: Anything made with their fresh dough is outstanding in quality. Fabulous bread! The 4 of us ordered 4 separate items. By far the best was the pizza, compared to the chicken wrap ( tasty, but drenched in dressing sauce), the Greek salad ( fresh and had very nice peppers, but again, overly drenched in dressing), the chicken fingers ( for one child- it was ok). But my son ordered the personal pizza and it was very good. So their strombolis or calzones probably are very, very good. Note: Get your salad dressing on the side, and the various salads would be good as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtsyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Italian Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Original Italian Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing