We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations”
Review of Rough Cut Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rough Cut Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaines
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights this July and really had a great experience. 2 adults, 2 kids in Suite #5. Meticulously clean, very well equipped. Only had dishes & silverware for 4, but we used the grill (bring your own charcoal) to cook dinner and made due. Nice selection of pots & pans and a modern kitchen. Made a campfire, with the wood provided, and toasted marshmallows down by the creek. The kids loved wading in the creek and playing on the large lawn. Suite was really comfortable & cozy, but even though all units face the creek, they are close to the road. Couldn't sleep with the windows open. Close to the Grand Canyon and a great restaurant down the road (Log Cabin Restaurant). Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Individual cabins & 6 suites in a lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinaDibiaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great little getaway we had to Gaines, PA. My boyfriend and I were here for 4th of July weekend 2014, we originally had plans to stay at another cabin but last minute the other place called and bumped us out of our rental space...Rough Cut Lodge was miraculously available! We booked a room with them asap! We were driving from CT and weren't going to arrive until 2am. Diana and Doug were so nice to leave our cabin lights on for us with the door open, as well as the AC on and a list of recommended things to do in the area. It was great to just come into the room and pass out after a long drive. The place was way more than I expected. It was very clean and cozy and felt like home. A full kitchen with all the kitchen amenities you could need and more. (next time i'll bring stuff to cook an entire meal!) We had a very cute fireplace and a nice flat screen tv and the bedroom was great with a nice queen bed, armoire, and closet. The property was BEAUTIFUL, tons of grass and right on Pine Creek, there was also an available fire pit that anyone could use when need be.
I would definitely recommend this place to couples and families! We will definitely be staying here again when we come back around that way!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here for the Dickens Weekend in Wellsboro. We had suite1. Beautiful place to stay. Very comfortable beds. Loved the view. And Doug and Diana are so nice and very helpful. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORCESTER
Level Contributor
644 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving, we were in town visiting family. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the lodge was. My husband and I stayed in the Maple lodge and it was a perfect size for us. The lodge has a functional kitchen with table, living room area with flat panel tv and a gas fireplace, bedroom and bathroom with shower/tub. There is also a back porch area with a swing with beautiful views of the mountains and Pine Creek. The owners were very nice, I booked over the phone and had a pleasant conversation and after we checked in Don (one of the owners) came by to make sure we were all set. You can tell the owners take great care of the lodges and as a guest I appreciated that. This is located in a great area, lots to do and see.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I am from the area but am military so I only get to visit every couple of years. My family (4) met up with my mom, dad and brother to surprise my grandpa for his 80th birthday. The owners Doug and his wife were so amazing and made you feel like family! The cabins are beautiful and roomy and make you feel right at home but only better! We will stay there every change we get when we come home!!!!!! They have done an amazing job with this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaderbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We went there for a mini vacation and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed at the Maple Lodge (being there were only two of us). It was just the right size and has AMAZING mountain views. We seen all kinds of wildlife (deer,chipmunks, and even a gopher on the property).Later that evening we went to a restaurant just down the road called the Log Cabin Inn, and loved the food there !! (We are from the south) The only disappointment is that there is no phone service there. But other than that, NO COMPLAINTS !!! Really anticipating the next time we are able to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRRay214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We just returned from a long weekend in the PA Grand Canyon. We had a great time. My husband and I took our 7 year old twins for a four day trip. We stayed at the Rough Cut Lodge. It was a really nice place.

First, let me say that my husband, a city boy at heart, was a little concerned when I told him I wanted to hike and bike in the PA Grand Caynon. I mentioned camping, and the Rough Cut Lodge was our compromise. It consists of very nice, very clean cabins. We had three bedrooms, two baths (one had a tub), a full kitchen and a living space. We had a great porch with picnic table which over looked manicured grounds and a creek. The kitchen was fully appointed and, with the groceries I brought, I made a pancake and bacon breakfast easily. We had our own charcoal grill and there were fire rings for you to start a camp fire if you preferred. My kids loved creek stomping in the creek after a day of bike riding.

The lodge was five miles away from an entry to the Pine Creek rail trail, one of the best biking trails in the world (so we were told). We had a great time! We saw a bald eagle and two snakes (tiny garder snakes). We took a horse drawn carriage ride. We hiked a mountain (there were stairs, making it less scary for 7 year olds), saw a waterfall and were rewarded with ice cream at the top of the trail. We also drove about 30 minutes to another parking lot along the trail for a second day of biking. The trail is very flat and an easy ride. There are bathrooms (outhouses) every 4 miles or so.

For dinner, we went out one night. There were a few nice restaurants in the area. We went to the Antler Inn - it was great food! You are in a really rural area, so there are no chain restaurants, big box stores, super markets or other signs of suburbia (which we enjoyed). But, we were able to find plenty of ice cream stores! The town of Wellsboro is the county seat and it is a really nice town with a variety of shops and restaurants. It was about 15 minutes away from the Rough Cut Lodge, through the mountain passes.

We really enjoyed the Rough Cut Lodge. It was a very nice place (definately not camping, but a great mountain experience). We were very pleasantly surprised and we had a great time here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No cell phone service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaines
12.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#4 of 6 in Wellsboro
39 reviews
12.0 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
632 reviews
23.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
23.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
110 reviews
12.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Cut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Cut Lodge

Property: Rough Cut Lodge
Address: 2570 Route 6, Gaines, PA 16921-9502
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gaines
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Cut Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Rough Cut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing