We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eby's B&B provided us with a much needed "girl's" weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gordonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eby Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Eby's B&B provided us with a much needed "girl's" weekend”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Eby's Farm Bed and Breakfast was lovely and affordable for our October 2011 girl's weekend (grandma, daughters and granddaughters). The rooms were large and spotless with a bathroom for each room. The common area and kitchen was great for playing games and relaxing in the evening after a fun day in Lancaster. We also got to take a short farm tour and practiced milking a cow and feeding the calves. A hot breakfast was simple but delicious. Joyce and her hubby were very kind hosts. Two things that startled us but would not prevent us from returning: we did not know that the family lives upstairs in the same home, and we were asked to sing a Christian song in the morning at breakfast with Joyce, but fortunately, we are a Christian family and love to sing. That could be uncomfortable for some folks. The Sight and Sound theatre was nearbye as were all the Lancaster Shops, the Strausburg Railroad and the Outlets. We had a great time and I would highly recommend Eby's (also, if you are a light sleeper, anywhere in Lancaster, including a farm, will have early morning rooster wake up calls).

Room Tip: The Melody Room was the nicest and largest and overlooked the covered bridge. It also had a whirlpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masdo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    5
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We loved the location of the farm house overlooking the beautiful pasture and the mooing cows. The room we had was very comfortable and we were made to feel very much at home. In the one day we spent there, our children had a chance to go tubing in the creek, feed the cows, gather the eggs, and do other farm chores with the Eby children. We were so sad that we had to head home to board up our house. Lynette was kind enough to arrange for dinner with her Amish neighbors that unfortunately had to be cancelled. We definitely have to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarY13021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We loved staying at the Eby farm house. Our room was perfect with one room overlooking the cow field and the other some corn. The kids loved waking up and doing their chores and wanted to be home in the evening to help out as well. We stayed busy during the day so it made it the perfect bed and breakfast stay for us. Breakfast was a highlight each morning- as a simple, delicious breakfast was served. My kids loved the families youngest daughter and can't wait to go back and visit with her. We had a delightful time and next time we are going to just stay in one spot ...there. :-)

Room Tip: accommodations are simple not fancy- down to earth place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qualtyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This place is a great B&B for the price. We felt very welcomed and enjoyed our stay. It's very comfortable with beautiful views of the surrounding farm land. The atmosphere is very homey, welcoming and family friendly. I'd absolutely visit again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was my first trip to Lancaster County and I was looking forward to an authentic farm experience. Well, staying at the Eby farm did NOT disappoint. Joyce was incredibly gracious and her home very comfortable. I can't imagine how anyone would review this place with anything less than positive feedback. We were greeted warmly and given a great deal of information about the many wonderful attractions in the area. The big highlight of our stay was touring the dairy farm and learning about its workings. Joyce even helped us milk one of her cows. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishthetraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I had done a lot of research on working farms before our trip to Lancaster. I read all the reviews on here and ignored the one bad review given assuming that guest was a picky person and it didn't match to what others wrote. WELL!! I was wrong. I should have paid closer attention as that reviewer was 100% honest. We drove up to Eby Farm and the scenery was beautiful. The location cannot be beat. It was very close to everything. The farm is actually split into two and there is a road running between the farm house and the cape house. We stayed in the cape house. There was a lovely swing set directly in front of our room that my kids loved, There is also a play house but it was so dirty and full of cobwebs and spiders that my 5 yr old daughter refused to play in it. I don't think it is ever cleaned. The cape house rooms are in a finished basement with private entrances and windows. You are not handed a key to your room. We had to ask for one and were told that it is not done. However, after more discussions, we received a key. The room was decorated very nicely but it was not clean. There was a dust on most surfaces. The same thing with the common areas... the whole place could use a thorough cleaning. The breakfast everyday was a huge disappointment. She made pancakes and french toast and ham, The french toast is made form frozen bread that is kept in her freezer in multipacks. The pancakes and french toast do get reheated every morning when there are leftovers. The coffee pot is never washed!!!!! We witnessed a dead moth on the drip part of the coffee machine that was never removed. Joyce simply made more coffee in the pot every day. The ham is never heated and served cold. The eggs she makes are made on a electric skillet in the laundry area on top of the washing machine that also never looked clean. The fruit she served us usually sat out most of the morning collecting flies and insects before she would decide to put it in the fridge to serve the next day for breakfast. The juice is made from frozen concentrate. The yogurt was served 3 days past its expiration date. The only good part of breakfast were the animal waffles she made fresh. Our towels were never changed and neither was the garbage in our room. We had a baby with us so this was a huge inconvenience for us as we had dirty diapers in the trash. I had to change our own trash every day. Joyce was a lovely lady. Very sweet and kind. However her bed and breakfast service could use improvement. The kids loved their time there. The tour was very informative and fun. The toys in the common room were a big hit with the kids. Especially the marble roller. If you do not mind spiders and dust and old food for breakfast then this is a great B&B. but if u expect a little more then this is not the place for you. that being said, we did have a lovely time..just not the cleanest time...oh and the Amish dinner with the older couple is misleading as it is not in their farmhouse but in their trailer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

In a nutshell, my 7 year old daughter declared that staying at the Eby Farm was the best time of her entire life!
Where do I start? Rooms: I was impressed by the thoughtfulness of the Eby's to build their bed and breakfast home with their guests in mind. The house sits on a hill with two entrances: one to the main floor and one to the lower floor. Our room was on the lower floor directly facing the sunrise. What an incredible scene to wake up to. The room had its own separate door to the back garden where my husband and I enjoyed many hours on the swing watching the pond, the gazebo and the fields. The kids on the other hand, when we remembered to look for them, were either on the swings, in the playhouse, playing with the kittens, or runing with the over-excited and fun dogs.

We have stayed at many beds and breakfasts and I can say that this is the most memorable one. My kids were crying they did not want to leave and when we asked them what did they like the best from their trip to Lancaster, the number one choice was the Eby farm (not the amusement park!).

The room was very clean and fully loaded with soap and towels. We also stored our water and snacks in the fridge.

Joyce was amazing. If you want to go to place where people care about you and welcome you as one of them, the Eby is the place to go and Joyce is the woman to visit with. My children would run out of bed to go help her set the table and run around her like little ducks. The children loved her and wanted to spend time with her. And Joyce is someone who does this business because she loves children and she loves people. It did not bother her that some toddlers threw food on the floor. She went and picked it up with a smile.

There was alwasy healthy snack at the table, and the kids went back and forth and drank lemonade, apple cider and orange juice. The breakfast was so delicious, we often had 2 and 3 servings of everything. Everything was made fresh and was very very tasty. Moreover, most of the items we had was from Joyce's garden. I loved giving the children the fresh milk that we helped her fetch.

What I love the most is how Joyce brought the three/four families together. As guests we all came from different parts of the US, but somehow at the end, we were exchanging phone numbers and email addresses and planning our return trip to Eby's.

Joyce also gave us wonderful advice on where to eat and what to do and what service to access. She arranged a special dinner with an Amish family for us that is so so memorable.

Eby is a family that is guided by their faith. Her many inspirational quotes and plaques were very uplifting.

Value for your money? Eby's is among the most economical places to stay at in Lancaster and what we got for our money far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ratrouta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonville
2.6 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Osceola Mill House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gordonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eby Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eby Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eby Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 459A Queen Rd, 345 Belmont Road, Gordonville, PA 17529-9570
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eby Farm Hotel Gordonville
Eby Farm Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing