We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A trip to remember”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B and we absolutely loved it. Everything was pristine - room was great - food was tasty. Robert did a great job ensuring our stay was a memorable one. We will definitely be back and hope to bring friends this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody5756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    22
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and i enjoyed staying at the "After eight" very much, i must say we wore the only ones there at the time and maybe that had a lot to do with our pleasant stay. Robert is a terrific host, very attentive to our needs. The pros, the rooms are excellent, overall cleanness and comfort, nice porch in the back with nice view, beautiful grounds. We felt at home. The cons, on a busy road, traffic noise. If you get there a little earlier then 3 pm don't expect to get in, there's a note above the door bell to confirm that. When we came back, after ringing the door bell, we waited for a while before the host came to meet us, maybe because it was slow at the time. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is our fourth time staying here, and we love it every time. It's sooooo relaxing, and the breakfastes are to die for.Robert is a great host, so funny.We bought freinds and stayed in the cottage east.. Such a great getaway. We will always return to this b&b.Keep up the great work Robert.We will see you soon.

Room Tip: We always like the east cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We enjoyed the stay so much here. It was wonderful and the breakfast was to die for. Robert was such a great host and cook! He took the time to give us some suggestions on where to go for different things to see while we were there and we took some of the suggestions and had a great time. We really liked the Farmers Market in Manheim and can't wait to go back! We bought the cookbook from Robert with the recipes in it and that is a great cookbook. Robert claimed he didn't know how to cook when he started the bed and breakfast, but there was no way we could tell, as the food was fabulous and we couldn't wait until the next morning to see what new breakfast menu we were going to have. Thank you, thank you, thank you Robert for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at After Eight immensely! The property is beautiful and Robert is a wonderful host. His breakfast was the best, and even came with comedic entertainment! He offers wonderful recommendations about local restaurants and activities tailored to the guests' interests, and although we were familiar with the area, he introduced us to some places we had never tried before. Several of the guests enjoyed working together on a jigsaw puzzle in the common area in the evening, and he also had a good selection of games and movies available. Our room was beautifully decorated and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The only downside, which is beyond the innkeeper's control, is that there is a good bit of road noise from Rte. 30.

Room Tip: If you enjoy having a private area to relax, the Deluxe Suite has a private outside entrance and a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_in_17315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castine, ME
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We always enjoy our stay at After Eight Bed and Breakfast. We have stayed here 7 times and would not consider staying at another Bed and Breakfast in the Lancaster. Robert is the ultimate host! He attends to every need his guests have. He served us excellent breakfasts and is very knowledgeable about places to go and restaurants to visit. He provides guests with snacks if they so desire and always has a puzzle out and has board games to play. We had a very relaxing stay and appreciate Robert's caring nature and hospitality!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the house; it is quieter. All the rooms are beautifully decorated with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer2Castine_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Robert is a wonderful innkeeper- this was our third visit to After Eight and we enjoyed every minute of it. We had room 2- on the bottom floor - bed was extremely comfortable and the Bathroom was very large- nice little closet for hanging coats, clothes etc.
This room was a little noisier than the room we had before since it was toward the front of the house and on the bottom floor- but we slept great- he even had a noise machine that played ocean sounds which we used.
All of the bathrooms & the main rooms were recently painted very nicely.
Breakfast was plentiful - Apple turnover cheese strata, sausage, fresh pineapple & strawberries & really good coffee and of course juice & water. Robert usually has home-made cookies out as well and there is always water bottles and soda and sometimes juice- also snacks like crackers, peanuts, granola bars & even microwave popcorn.
You must check out the puzzle table- love it- and his year round tree- which was decorated with easter decorations this time around.
Robert really knows the area and always has suggestions of places to go/things to see- & we LOVE his Breakfast Humor! If you can't take a joke... don't stay here:-)
Can't wait to visit again! Hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: top floor - rear of house is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonville
2.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
8.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Property: After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy E, Gordonville, PA 17529-9525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing