We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was alright but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2010

There's not much to do in the neighborhood.
This bed&breakfast was alright but the owner definitely had an attitude. It's located by the highway so expect a nice view of trucks passing by at night. It's a possible choice to stay in Amish country but I wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aleksandr Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for After Eight Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

my wife and i got married in June of 2010. we stayed at After Eight B&B at the end of October 2010. My wife and I had tickets to Sight and Sound. She gave me the go ahead to choose the B&B. There are a lot of B&B's in the Lancaster area. I liked the pictures from After Eight's website and i took a chance. It was a hard choice. After Eight made me look good as a new husband. We had a great time. If you are looking for a B&B in the Lancaster and beyond area, choose After Eight!

Robert the keeper of After Eight was very friendly, funny and extremely informative about what to do for food, fun and relaxation. Our room was well maintained, very comfortable and relaxing. There are two sitting rooms downstairs, an amazing kitchen and dining area. Robert provides board games, cards, puzzles, great snacks and free beverages. The view of the backyard is a true Lancaster painting. The breakfast he provided each morning was grade A. My wife and I even purchased the cook book he and about 40+ other Lancaster B&B's put together. We are looking forward to making for our family what Robert made for us. Robert makes you feel at home. His cookies are amazing. After Eight might be the only B&B we ever go to now.

After Eight is right off the road. It was great because of the convenience to go places. Our room was close to the road and we could barely hear the traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelburns14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is the most beautiful B&B.....this is a very clean place, the food is great, the InnKeeper makes you feel very much at home.....he is just wonderful . I tell all my friends
this is the only place I would stay when in Lancaster, Pa.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Robert is a phenomenal host that knows the area very well. The location is great.
The B&B is perfect and the food excellent

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billp009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

this was a much needed get away for me, the rooms were so clean and i felt right at home. My room was great, i slept so well that i did not wake up once through the night.
The Inn Keeper, Robert, was so helpful, he answered every question about the local history, plays, shopping golf, etc... I will be back and will be telling my friends, family, and my co-workers. Last but not least, the breakfast was amazing, i am not a cook, but i bought a cook book from him and will try to cook the way he did. It was great, im ready now to go back. Thanks Robert and staff

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonjon1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at After Eight B and B Sept.18th to the 20th and we had such a great time. The owner/inn keeper Robert is one of the nicest people you will ever know. My wife and I are very picky when it comes to staying at places and we have nothing negative to say about the B and B or Robert you will get alot of bang for your buck staying here. When it came to check out time my wife and I didn't want to leave but we will be back. Thanks again Robert!

Sincerely,
Joe and Nancy Murphy
Philadelphia Pa.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphdog3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a visit to Amish PA. We really loved the rooms because they had an authentic antique feel with modern amenities. The breakfasts were amazing, especially the almond crusted french toast with fresh edible flowers decorating the plate. The staff is very friendly and professional. It is also convieniently located for sightseeing and antiquing.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0tApplicable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordonville
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
481 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lancaster
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy E, Gordonville, PA 17529-9525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range: £95 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing