We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL B&B'S SHOULD BE LIKE THIS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grantville B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ALL B&B'S SHOULD BE LIKE THIS”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Our stay of three nights could not have been more enjoyable. Anna and Tim were wonderful hosts, great cooks and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived until we left. Every B&B we visit in the future now has a tough act to follow.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed for one night at the red umbrella and had a wonderful experience. Tim and Anna are really great hosts that give you the feeling you are visiting with family. The keurig machine was a bonus as we like fresh coffee in the morning and evening.we had red roses and hershey kisses in our room when we arrived, such a personal touch to the night away from home. A must stay when you are in the Hershey area. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewarenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I cannot recommend the Red Umbrella B&B more. We loved it there. The bed was so comfortable, sheets smelled heavenly, steam shower was our favorite, but the jet bath tub was great too. Loved our conversations with Ray and Anna. We felt right at home and the breakfast was amazing. We have stayed at the B&B twice, once for Vday and the second for our Anniversary and we can't wait to go back again. We enjoyed our conversations so much with Anna that we actually left the B&B as friends. It is a must visit!

Room Tip: Get the Large suite!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Umbrella in January 2012 for an overnight getaway close to home. Anna was friendly, personable, and hospitable and her made-to-order breakfast was fresh and delicious. Our room was immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The fireplace in the living room was a beautiful and warm welcome on a cold winter night. I had been an assistant innkeeper at a 12-room Select Registry Inn in Central PA for several years and am oftentimes a bit skeptical about staying at another Inn/B&B. The Red Umbrella is definitely a recommendation of mine and I look forward to visiting again in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend to visit Hershey, PA. We stayed in the largest room. I highly recommend it. The bathroom was incredible. The shower had a radio, 6 different heads and a steam option and the tub with jets was very soothing. Anna made us feel welcome immediately upon entering and was very flexible with our late check in. The breakfasts were incredible. This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and I was very pleased. Kelci and Vinnie.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Red Umbrella 5/12/12. It was a joy.
Anna the Innkeeper is an excellent host and should be proud of the fine job her family has done in restoring this historic building. Attention has been made to those little details in the Inn that really round out a job well done.
We stayed in the larger bedroom with the very large shower and bubble bath which proved to be very enjoyable. The Inn is very clean and decorated very well. We had a tasty breakfast that was very ample in portions and in selections. Anna is a good cook and tries to use local homemade products. Our banana bread and blueberry lime jam were great.
We were sorry our stay time was a bit rushed due to our personal schedule and wished we could of stayed longer. Great Inn, Great food, Great Inn keeper.
We truly enjoyed meeting Anna and her great Inn.
We will return.
Allen and Marie

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. They just varied as to sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My first time at this beautiful B&B...feels just like home. Every detail is covered, the rooms are lovely, clean and well-appointed. The Innkeeper, Anna, made me feel completely welcome and special. I'm a bit of a lodging "snob" and this facility gets my highest recommendation. Don't look any further, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewisburg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#4 of 9 in Grantville
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 9 in Grantville
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast

Property: Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9866 Jonestown Rd, Grantville, PA 17028-8752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast is a renovated 1845 brick Federal-style home offering three comfortable rooms, spacious living room and dining room for visiting plus various serene areas on the grounds, all for you to enjoy. The Red Umbrella is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family fun or a reunion of friends. We do our best to create sweet memories for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing