We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grantville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2014

All the excellent reviews are true. We had a lovely stay in the large room (the bathroom is definitely worth the extra $). Everything was top of the line from satiny soft sheets, comfortable bed in the bedroom to the plush toilet paper, and of course the fancy shower and the spacious bubble tub. We also spent some time in the common area where there is a large gas fireplace. Everything is exactly as pictured. Tim and Anna were the perfect hosts and we enjoyed the breakfast and the conversation. It is located in a quiet little town but Hershey and Harrisburg are both very close by. If we are in the area again, we'd definitely want to stay here!

Room Tip: go for the large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went for a Mom and Dad getaway (adult time) break. We found this B&B on Tripadvisor and again, they steered us right. There was plenty of parking spaces in the back and front, the house is amazing (1850s) and renovated with minor updates to be done (front stairs, porch and banister, gorgeous but needs some stabilizing). The inside of the house was looking beautiful and decorated so nicely. The sheets and bed were so comfortable and the hosts, Anna and Tim, very personable and probably the nicest we've come across! The room we stayed in had the bigger bathroom with a bubble tub large enough room for us (and 2 kids if we had them :) and the most amazing shower ever!!! Most importantly, it was clean, cozy and we had privacy. I would recommend this B&B to all my family and friends. In fact, we plan on going back in May if we can get away again. In the area, we went to Troegs brewery, which was crowded, different and fun. We also drove into Harrisburg, to look at the Capital building (impressive) and try Bricco. We enjoyed the Red Umbrella the most. We will be back!

Room Tip: Spend most of your time in the room. You won't regret it! LoL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very impressed with how nice this was especially since it was less expensive compared to many others in the area. The large room is certainly worth the extra money if it is available. Breakfast was delicious and Anna was very friendly. My wife and I will certainly stay here again...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNE423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there over the weekend and were truly impressed with out stay. We never stayed at a B&B before but we will definately stay here again.The owners were very friendly and served us a great breakfast. We stayed in the larger room and loved the deluxe "Smart Shower" and corner jet tub. The home has 3 different room styles to pick from and were all comfy looking for just about anyone. The livign room was wonderfully decorated with couches for snuggling up by the fire. They also have a few outdoor areas for groups to sit outside and drink some wine...We ended up touring a local winery, stopping at Hershey Park, Troeg's brewey and finished the night at the nearby casino. Lots of thinsg to do for any couple wanting to get away. We even booked a future trip for family members as a Christmas present.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lager108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. We were very impressed by the room (largest one) and bathroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts are so sweet and thoughtful...they even had wine and chocolate waiting in our room for us! We will be back and definitely recommend The Red Umbrella!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwhite1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I was meeting up with 2 of my cousins and was looking for a place to stay. I thought about a hotel but was looking for something more cozy. I came upon the Red Umbrella and thought it looked like it would fit the bill. Boy, was I correct. Its so cozy, clean & cheerful. We enjoyed everything about this little gem. Anna was so friendly and laid back. In the morning we had the pleasure of Anna's company and a wonderful breakfast. Looking forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndeeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A great find on a quick weekend trip to Grantville to visit the Hollywood Casino. This B&B is about 1 1/2 miles from the casino so it was perfectly located. Anna and Tim were very accomodating and so much fun to talk with. The Common areas are very inviting and comfortable. The medium bedroom was a nice size and the bed very comfy. The breakfast was so delish. We plan on returning next year for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#3 of 9 in Grantville
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#4 of 9 in Grantville
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 9 in Grantville
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9866 Jonestown Rd, Grantville, PA 17028-8752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grantville
Price Range: £90 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast is a renovated 1845 brick Federal-style home offering three comfortable rooms, spacious living room and dining room for visiting plus various serene areas on the grounds, all for you to enjoy. The Red Umbrella is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family fun or a reunion of friends. We do our best to create sweet memories for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing