We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its very best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grantville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
359 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its very best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent 1 night with my daughter at the Red Umbrella B & B for her birthday celebration. Wow!!!!! The entire property is wonderful; the comfort of the suite and beds, delicious food, and convenience to Hershey. However, hands down the hospitality is what the Red Umbrella has unlike any other B & B or Inn that I have been to!

The owners and their beautiful daughter were the utmost gracious, friendly and hospitable inn keepers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My daughter was so very impressed with them, which is very meaningful since she is very shy and reserved when first meeting new people.

We were in Hershey to see Flashdance the musical at the Hershey Theater for her 14th birthday. I wanted to treat her to a mother daughter get away at a nearby B & B. I am so very glad that I discovered the Red Umbrella on Trip Advisor. Located not far from Hershey (maybe a 10 minute drive) in a quiet town.

I had packed some games for us to play, only to find that their were plenty of games and puzzles for our use in the common room.

We stayed in the small suite which suited our needs perfectly! It was so nice to have a relaxing night's sleep.

The breakfast was perfectly delicious, but again they could have served us cold cereal as the hospitality during breakfast far surpasses any other. My daughter and I not only enjoyed talking with Anna and Tim but a lovely couple that were also staying at the Red Umbrella.

Our only disappointment was that we only stayed 1 night.

Hopefully this can now become an annual birthday tradition for my daughter!

Room Tip: The small suite has only a shower and 2 twin beds. It was perfect for my teenage daughter and mysel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellelynnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Capon Bridge, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place lives up to and exceeds all of the excellent reviews. The inn keepers create a personal and welcoming experience for each and every guest. They take an active interest in your interests and offer insightful and enjoyable conversations and suggested activities. Our stay felt more like a visit with great friends, rather than with people that we had just met. The decor and design style combine the charm of an older building with modern conveniences and sophistication. For instance, the bedding is plush, soft, and high quality. The shower in the large room is upgraded with Internet radio, steam, and massage options. Breakfast is homemade, delicious, and plentiful. The true gems of this B&B, however, are its owners, who go above and beyond to ensure that you feel at home with a relaxing and individualized experience. This was by far the best B&B experience that we have had. We can't wait to return again next year!

Room Tip: Select the large room with the steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_Ann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

All the excellent reviews are true. We had a lovely stay in the large room (the bathroom is definitely worth the extra $). Everything was top of the line from satiny soft sheets, comfortable bed in the bedroom to the plush toilet paper, and of course the fancy shower and the spacious bubble tub. We also spent some time in the common area where there is a large gas fireplace. Everything is exactly as pictured. Tim and Anna were the perfect hosts and we enjoyed the breakfast and the conversation. It is located in a quiet little town but Hershey and Harrisburg are both very close by. If we are in the area again, we'd definitely want to stay here!

Room Tip: go for the large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington,NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went for a Mom and Dad getaway (adult time) break. We found this B&B on Tripadvisor and again, they steered us right. There was plenty of parking spaces in the back and front, the house is amazing (1850s) and renovated with minor updates to be done (front stairs, porch and banister, gorgeous but needs some stabilizing). The inside of the house was looking beautiful and decorated so nicely. The sheets and bed were so comfortable and the hosts, Anna and Tim, very personable and probably the nicest we've come across! The room we stayed in had the bigger bathroom with a bubble tub large enough room for us (and 2 kids if we had them :) and the most amazing shower ever!!! Most importantly, it was clean, cozy and we had privacy. I would recommend this B&B to all my family and friends. In fact, we plan on going back in May if we can get away again. In the area, we went to Troegs brewery, which was crowded, different and fun. We also drove into Harrisburg, to look at the Capital building (impressive) and try Bricco. We enjoyed the Red Umbrella the most. We will be back!

Room Tip: Spend most of your time in the room. You won't regret it! LoL
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very impressed with how nice this was especially since it was less expensive compared to many others in the area. The large room is certainly worth the extra money if it is available. Breakfast was delicious and Anna was very friendly. My wife and I will certainly stay here again...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNE423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there over the weekend and were truly impressed with out stay. We never stayed at a B&B before but we will definately stay here again.The owners were very friendly and served us a great breakfast. We stayed in the larger room and loved the deluxe "Smart Shower" and corner jet tub. The home has 3 different room styles to pick from and were all comfy looking for just about anyone. The livign room was wonderfully decorated with couches for snuggling up by the fire. They also have a few outdoor areas for groups to sit outside and drink some wine...We ended up touring a local winery, stopping at Hershey Park, Troeg's brewey and finished the night at the nearby casino. Lots of thinsg to do for any couple wanting to get away. We even booked a future trip for family members as a Christmas present.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lager108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. We were very impressed by the room (largest one) and bathroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts are so sweet and thoughtful...they even had wine and chocolate waiting in our room for us! We will be back and definitely recommend The Red Umbrella!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhite1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#4 of 9 in Grantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 9 in Grantville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast

Property: Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9866 Jonestown Rd, Grantville, PA 17028-8752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Umbrella Bed and Breakfast is a renovated 1845 brick Federal-style home offering three comfortable rooms, spacious living room and dining room for visiting plus various serene areas on the grounds, all for you to enjoy. The Red Umbrella is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, family fun or a reunion of friends. We do our best to create sweet memories for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing