We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penn National get-a-way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Penn National get-a-way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We just returned from a Thurs./Friday stay at this hotel.
This hotel was very clean, rooms are very spacious. Check in desk was very welcoming, rooms were ready when we arrived. There is more than enough room in each room with the couch area as well as the bed area. there is also a safe in each room. the continental breakfast was very nice, and more than enough food. Just be careful in the shows as they can become very slippery when there is soap on the tub. The hotel was nicer than the Holiday Inn express on the same street, and a lot cheaper. About a 3 minute ride to the Hollywood casino and Penn National race track.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paajrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Your faith and trust in our ability to serve you well means so much to us, thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing to us your overall appreciation. Your wonderful feedback with regards to the entire experience and the notice you gave for the clean and spacious accommodation as well as the welcoming staff in total truly inspires us. You can be assured that we will work hard to maintain all the positive feedback you mentioned and improve more on the aspects you suggested. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    61
    55
    66
See reviews for
145
78
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

So myslef ,my daughter,and 2 of her Bff's stayed here because they were promised a day at Hershey.We get to the hotel well ahead of check in time ,we could not check in which was fully understandable.But they did allow the girls to use the restroom so they could all change because they were still in PJs after a 5 hour drive from VA.We go to the park,come back to the room around 230 and it was so hot,humid,sticky and smelly.The guy at the desk explained to me how to use the central air (guess I looked like I had no clue?). So the girls shower,I shower we leave to go back to the park thinking the room would be cooled off.We get back at 11pm and OMG it was just the same.Now I go downstairs to ask what do we do.Now the lady we speak to this time says use the other control.I said if thet does not work,then what? She said Im sorry we are all booked up.So I go back , mess with the other control and it starts to work.Now I have two different sets of staff telling the the complete opposite of each other of what to do.Bottom line is........if you stay in room 301,use the AC that is under the window.Since the small unit on the wall is not labeled (DO NOT USE)...you will go half of your stay with a hot,sticky and smelly room.

Now on the better side of things. I did send the hotel a letter stating my aggrivation.And it was addressed.So hopefully on the next stay ,after a 5 hour drive.We will be able to rest in a room that is cool and not smelly.I understand that the hotel is not brand new.But something can be done about the odor.Maybe bring your own febreeze.Again the room could have been smelly from it being so hot in there,who knows.

The lady who checked us in was probably one of the nicer staff members at the hotel but I did not catch her name.

Quick tips.................. there are no places that deliver food to you at this location,so get food while your out before you come back unless you go to the country bar at the hotel next door,and breakfast is pretty cool................you get to make your own waffles.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us, and it means a lot to us to know that you have made an effort to inform us of the things we may need to improve to better our services in total. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and pin pointing the deficiencies you found with regards to the unpleasant room smell as well as the problems encountered with the AC unit. Rest assured that you have been heard and proper modifications will be implemented in the best possible way so that we may avoid such instances in the future. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more and we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed there four nights, chose this hotel because it's pretty close to Hollywood casino, it's just a few minutes drive. Hershey is not far either, it takes about twenty minutes to go there.
The hotel itself was OK, room was comfortable and nice. Our room was in the back so facing the Interstate but there are some trees so we didn't hear much noise, that was quite acceptable.
Breakfast was good, with strawberry waffles and hot items (eggs, sausages...). But the breakfast area was rapidly full and some mornings we had to wait to get a table.
Desk staff was friendly and courteous, they helped me when I got a flat tire and I'm so grateful to them.
Station Road is a small road going nowhere, there is nothing to do in walking distance. There is just an other hotel nearby, and a gas station + a small italian diner at the entrance of Station Road, that's all. You need your car for everything.
We would probably choose the same hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We wish nothing but to express excellence in the service we give to our valued guests. Your wonderful feedback validates all the hard work we do to ensure that we meet guest satisfaction at all times, and for that we sincerely thank you. It is our aim to always provide comfort and a pleasant experience, and for you to commend us on that matter is truly heart-warming. You can be assured that we will continually work hard to further excel in attending to your needs and maintain the positive points you mentioned with regards to the good breakfast and the staff services in total. We certainly hope that we can be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was a great stay at the hotel. No complaints of any kind. We were worried about the cleanliness of the bedsheets as photos of stained bedsheets and sofas were posted on another site. But our both rooms were very clean and spacious. A little noisy because out side highway traffic but it was acceptable. The price was great and it was only a few miles from Hershey Park.

Another important feature of the hotel is the honesty and integrity of the hotel staff. While checking in, one of our kids left his tablet in the lobby. After several hours, we found about the missing tablet. We inquired about it from the reception. They had already collected the missing tablet and gave it right back to us.

We will definitely stay again and recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahzad_Malik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience for our valued guests and for you to commend us on that matter is indeed heart-warming. Thank you for all your appreciation with regards to the wonderful and comfortable experience you had during your entire stay. We wish to let you know that we will strive hard to maintain the positive remarks you mentioned pertaining to the room cleanliness, as well as the value for your money in total so that we can ensure that we meet your utmost satisfaction. Our reliable staff will always be ready to attend to your needs at all times and we are committed to giving you the best service there is we can offer. We couldn’t wait to be of service to you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Pool water was green and cloudy the water should been clear, Hot tub not working, breakfast could have had more of a selection or change the selection from day 2 day, too much truck noise from the highway

Room Tip: clean up your pool, and do something about the highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We appreciate the time you took to share to us your experience following your recent stay. It is however disheartening to know that you were not at all satisfied with our service. We wish to inform you that your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal, and it means a lot to us to hear your constructive feedback. It is our aim to always provide comfort and a pleasant experience, and we apologize if we clearly failed to do so during the time of your visit. You can be assured that we will continually work harder to correct the deficiencies with regards to the pool cleanliness, and the breakfast selection served in the best possible way. Should you reconsider and visit us again next time, we would be happy to give you a far better experience by assigning you a quieter room upon request. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Chute, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I picked this hotel for location, price and the fact that it had a hot tub and I was traveling with athletes for the State Games of America. We checked in and while I parked the car the teenagers discovered that 1 of the 2 elevators was "glitchy" but there were no signs saying it was out of order. Then we discovered that the hot tub was broken. Upon talking to the front desk she informed me that they were not planning on having it fixed. I would not have stayed here knowing that. The room was clean but it need of some minor maintenance. The tub/shower had a chunk of the coating missing, one of the lights by the bed was broke, one of the tables has some unidentified sticky substance on it and 2 of the rings on the shower curtain were broken. There were no kleenex int he room but we asked at the front desk and he gave us a box. Also on our 3rd day there they replaced the broken shower curtain. The breakfast was good and someone was always keeping things filled.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grneys71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We apologize if the hotel services were not up to your standard. Thank you for giving us a chance to correct our deficiencies by making us aware of our shortcomings, and we wish to let you know that we will look into the matters of maintenance and the hotel upkeep in total. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to the served breakfast. We sincerely hope that we may be able to give you a far better experience should you wish to reconsider and stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here recently while visiting Hershey. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant and friendly. Breakfast buffet not to my liking but the kids enjoyed the waffles a lot. They need a few more waffle irons so the line doesn't get so long. Pool was clean. Hot tub still broken.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRZGURL0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We truly appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for sharing to us your entire hotel experience. It brings us great delight to know that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It is our aim to provide comfort and quality service to our valued guests, please know that we have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the hot tub and the waffle maker, and you can be assured that we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of our services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantville
1.0 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#4 of 9 in Grantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg / Grantville / Hershey
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Grantville
Days Inn Grantville
#3 of 9 in Grantville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Harrisburg/Hershey
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 450 Station Road, I-81 at exit 80, Grantville, PA 17028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT this beautiful 96 Suite property is conveniently located off of Interstate 81 at Exit 80 just minutes from Hollywood Casino and Hersheypark. Guests of our hotel enjoy a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, heated Indoor Chemical Free Salt Water Pool,Business Center, Fitness Center and Game Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Grantville
Grantville Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Grantville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing