We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, inspiring, so much here!”

Saint Emma Monastery
Greensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, inspiring, so much here!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The monastery offers a peaceful, inspirational setting. The Robertshaw Bed and Breakfast is simple elegance at its best. All the amenities you could wish for while continuing the peaceful setting of the monastery.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolL379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Peace and beauty with great love”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a must visit. We visited several months ago and are planning a Valentines 3 night stay. Our previous visit was the most relaxing, peaceful and enjoyable stay away from home. We travel frequently yet this location gives something other places cannot - a true welcome home with serenity, peace, refreshment of the soul, rekindling of faith, a closeness to God, a surrounding of immeasurable love. The grounds are beautiful, with the most excellent walking course labeled with Bible stories. The table with Jesus is the most remarkable site - sitting with Jesus is amazing. I recommend a walk around the entire property and please take the time to visit the chapels. Even if you are not Catholic, you will find this place to be a religious comfort; a place of sanctuary for all. We highly recommend attending church with the nuns no matter your faith. We are looking forward to visiting during the holidays in the coming year. Visiting the grounds is free, joining the nuns for vespers is free, the only cost is spending the night in the beautiful B&B.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AirForceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

During the year there are events at St Emma's which include food. The Sisters are very welcoming and a good tome is had by all. The food is very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“short peaceful and restorative visit”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I needed a rest and some peace to begin the advent season and my overnight at the Robert Shaw Bed and Breakfast fulfilled this perfectly. I was able to refocus and center in the peaceful beauty of the grounds at St Emma Monastery. The Bed and Breakfast was quite festive with Christmas decor. I enjoyed walking and praying and eating the lovely breakfast. I hope to return every few months to recharge spiritually. Blessed place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for gifts”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Both the Sisters and volunteers who staff the gift shop are so helpful. And what a wonderful array of items.
I've not been to any retreats there, but, have spoken to many who have and really enjoyed them.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Emma Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Saint Emma Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing