We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves a lot to be desired”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grove City
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We were looking for a hotel close to the outlet mall that I thought, should my elderly mother choose to, could walk back to the hotel if she tired. I chose the Comfort Inn as it appeared to be the closest and the price seemed to be right. As it turns out, the hotels on that strip are all 'close' but not really walking distance with all of your purchases.

The hotel itself is presentable from the outside. The lobby is o.k, however, it is quite small/congested when it is being used as the 'breakfast area'. The room, however, leaves a lot to be desired, very tired looking. Poor lighting, cob webs coming down from the (dirty) ceiling, the wallpaper is peeling off the walls in the bathroom, the fan which is connected to the light in the bathroom is very loud (not ideal during the night should you need use the facilities), the shower head, don't know what to say about it.

But, the kicker is - we were there for two nights. On our first full day, we left the room before 10:00 a.m. We arrived back around 1:00 p.m. for a bit of a break. The cleaning staff had not yet been in our room. Approximately 2:00 we left again. We did mention at the Front Desk that our room had not been 'made up'.

We also inquired about a local restaurant and if reservations were required. They could tell us how to get there, but no they did not have their phone # or reservation information. Finally, the Clerk looked up the phone # for the restaurant. I called and made reservations. Not great for the local businesses!

As it turned out, at the end of the day when we returned - 10:00 p.m. - the beds were still unmade - no biggie - I can live with that, but the garbage was still in the cans and the hand/face towels were still in a pile in the bath tub as requested should you wish those to be replaced.

I went to the Front Desk explaining the days events. Oh well, I was handed fresh face/towels.

No, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imjustrelaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    67
    69
    26
    10
See reviews for
90
49
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for a shopping trip at Grove city. Good location as the drive from the hotel to the Outlet Mall takes less than 10mins.

Clean, Neat, Comfortable King bed. After a long drive (we drove from Washington DC and arrived at 1am), it was a welcome invite.

Their continential breakfast had quite a variety, waffles, choice of cereals, yogurt, pasteries. IT was good money for value. I had a CAA deal if you guys have that, maybe you can benefit too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for one night for a shopping trip to the outlet mall. Hotel was basic but clean & comfortable. Conveniently located (outlet mall was across the street). Breakfast was basic (nothing fancy). If you are just looking for a comfortable & clean place to stay during a shopping trip to the outlets, this place serves that purpose well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmomTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My duaghter is attending college at Slippery Rock and the Comfort Inn is only 15 minutes down the road making it very convenient. This is the 2nd time we have stayed there and we have no complaints. Check-in is smooth and the young lady that has taken care of us both times is very pleasant. She always reminds us about the Elephant and Castle restaurant across the street and gives us the coupon for the outlet shopping. Rooms have been very clean both times with plenty of towels. Not crazy about little pillows like they supply but again not a complaint just a preference.
The breakfast in the morning is fine for a quick snack on your way out the door. My only complaints is that the last hour it is served there is not alot of replenishing going on. Also there can sometimes be a wait for a table. Otherwise this is good value for the money - just make sure to book on line and you can save a few dollars.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkMthrdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I booked this hotel as it was the only one available, it was a last minute trip and because of the long weekend everything else was sold out.
I thought it was a little expenisve for a 2 star hotel, but the pictures online looked ok and the location was great right across the street from the outlets, so hey can't be that bad...wrong.
Check in went fast and smooth but as soon as we got into our room the nightmare began. First of all the room smelled horrible, like a musty, moldy smell with a ting of old cigarette smoke. The room itself looked like it had never been renovated, very outdated. It had an old tube t.v. that only got a few channels and half the screen was fuzzy so you couldn't watch anything. The bed was the worst part, felt like a rock with the springs poking in your back all night long, the comforter was worn out, and they didn't even have proper pillows on the bed, instead they had square accent cushions, so you had to put 3 together just to make a pillow! The room remined me of something that you would see in a horror movie, where a couple would have to pull over late at night and stay at some run-down hotel in the middle of nowhere.
The only thing that wasn't bad was the complimentary breakfast, it had both hot and cold items which was a bonus as most places only serve your typical bagels, muffins and toast.
I did write to the manager and explain our experience we had and they were nice enough to credit us back half of the room price, but I still would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lvstodine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grove City hotels

1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel Thatcher needs to be refreshed. Paid $107/night and the room was not worth more than $60 /night. Will not go back, room was not clean, smell moisture, and bathroom was falling apart.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticoboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It's in a very good location off I-79. The front desk staff members were very friendly. I enjoyed swimming in the pool. There was a funny smell in the swimming pool area that I think they should look into fixing. Maybe there is too much chlorine in the pool. I thought the swimming pool area was beautiful though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCMtnWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grove City
0.1 mi away
Best Western Grove City Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grove City-Prime Outlet Mall
0.2 mi away
Towneplace Suites Grove City Mercer/Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monroe Heights Hotel
Monroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 4 in Grove City
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grove City
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Grove City - Outlet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 118 Garrett Dr, Grove City, PA 16127-3358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Grove City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grove City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Grove City
Comfort Inn Grove City
Grove City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing