We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dated but clean”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was clean ( did have a stale odor), but definitely needed updating!
If you're expecting a pool, don't stay here! The pool is being filled in with gravel. We were told that PA has changed the laws for public pools, and it would be too costly to meet all of the disabilities requirements
The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was adequate.
For the price, I'd stay there again. We weren't there very long, and it did meet our needs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the newer section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwcounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
8
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the Inn on the night of May 17. Our reservation went well until we went to the room. A smoker had been the previous occupant. Neither my wife or myself are smokers, plus I have heart & breathing problem. We informed the desk. To our surprise, the owner showed about an hour later. We discussed the problem with him and he refunded our money. He said it was a staff problem and he would take care of it. They worked some magic and removed the odor. We were very pleased with the care and attention they gave. It was first class.

Room Tip: Non-smokers advise them before hand that it needs to be a non-smoking room and why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Entire facility was dated, but clean and comfortable. Very, very nice staff. Restaurant/bar on site and plenty of food and shop within walking distance. Was only there for 10 hours. Fit my overnight needs well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metsluvrnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The first room I was given was sub-par, but the second was okay. The rooms need renovation - badly - but the motel overall isn't bad. The staff is super friendly. There's a bar/nightclub on site and a pool with a deck that seems like a nice place to chill on a summer afternoon. There was a fireplace in the lobby, which was nice for this time of year*.

The owner's a local, having graduated from New Oxford or one of Hanover's other satellite towns back in the 1980s. You can tell he's putting his sweat into the place. When I was here he was working on renovating the bar. I look forward to staying here again in the future and seeing progress being made on the rooms.

The location of this hotel is pretty sweet. Local walkable shopping includes Kleffels (an all-time-favorite local clothing store with great American brands) as well as Dicks, Sears, JCPenney, Tractor Supply Co., and the shops of North Hanover Mall. Plus, it's on the RabbitTransit 20N and 22N bus routes, which you can take to even more nearby shopping opportunities at the other North Hanover shopping plazas and even Hanover's historic downtown - Hanover Square.

I found this property on a dog-friendly hotel finder and found it to indeed be dog friendly.

*This review refers to winter holiday travel 2013.

Room Tip: Look at more than one room before accepting the key to whichever room they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This place is very rundown throughout. While the staff is friendly, there were many problems:
Entry lock to our room was broken for 3 days
Fan in shower did not work
Water temp in shower and sink hard to control, could not get warm water at sink most of the time
Carpet was dirty
Broken ceiling tile in breakfast room leaked when raining
Breakfast muffins were stale, and there was no fruit
AC was so loud in our room, we could not hear TV when it was running

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanover hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here many times and never had any problems. The place isnt new. Its a older hotel with a new owner and he is fixing it up nicely. The place is clean, the staff is very friendly and the hotel has more to offer then just a bed. A restaurant, outside pool, outside bar, Inside they have a game room, Room service, and much more. Many shops and restaurants in the area. if you want to stay at a hotel that holds charm and personality then this is it. If you have to have brand new everything and stuck up staff then its not for you. Im a down to earth person and i love this place.

Room Tip: try A Taste Of Bourbon you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place is a dive! We had reservations for a king room and they even tried to run our credit card 2 weeks before we arrived. Now we know why: the room was filthy and stale; new locks placed over existing old locks on doors making credit card swipe mechanism difficult. broken back on vanity chair and centipedes crawling on bathroom floor. air conditioner close to completely broken -- clattered and sputtered; ceiling tiles stained and sagging. Ice room was dark; unlighted, dirty and guess what -- no ice! All hotels in area upped prices for Gettysburg 150th anniversary but this one was definitely not worth more than $25/night. We stayed only one night - couldn't get out soon enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
14.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 27 in Gettysburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
551 reviews
4.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cross Keys Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in New Oxford
13 reviews
10.6 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center

Property: Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center
Address: 1080 Carlisle St, Hanover, PA 17331-1101 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center is a Hanover landmark. Combined with a great restaurant, our Hotel sits back away from the busy street and into a quaint courtyard. With friendly staff, you feel like you're home away from home. Our Amenities include an on-site restaurant which offers room service to our guests, a wide variety of menu items and catering for our Banquet Facility. We also have a Patio Bar for summer dining outside. There are Microwaves and Refrigerators in every room, self control heat and ac, cable and free wi-fi. We are pet friendly and we are surrounded by many historic,and family fun sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hanover Hotel & Banquet Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing