We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stop if you're in the area”

Utz Factory Outlet Store
Ranked #2 of 5 Tours in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a stop if you're in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

You don't actually go in the factory, but walk along a corridor the length of the factory with views into the work areas. You see potatoes being offloaded at one end of the building, then processed into chips and bagged as you walk along. Informative recordings explain all the steps. Free chips at the end, and a nice outlet store with all things Utz.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fun Snacks to Take Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We detoured from our trip on US 15 to drive into Hanover and stop at the Utz Outlet Store. They have ever imaginable variety of chip and pretzel and some you can't imagine too (butterfingers-coated pretzels?)

We picked up several tubs of pretzel varieties for ourselves, plus chocolate covered pretzels and a tub with four pretzel varieties for friends. I was grateful for several gluten-free varieties such as sea salt sweet potato chips and veggie sticks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Maryland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great place for snacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We missed the tour because it was the weekend but we spent quite a bit at the outlet. There were excellent deals there. Broken pretzel bag of 6 lbs for $4. Chocolate covered pretzels for $4. Good deals on the little bags that kids take to school. Great prices and nice displays. There is a cutout of the utz girl that you can take your picture in. It was fun for the kids and easy on the wallet. The building have great old neon signs. Its really a piece of history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“From The Truck to the Bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The complete UTZ experience is divided among two locations. The UTZ plant offers free self-guided tours Mon - Thurs. The tour is simple but efficient and fun. You will see some antique equipment used in the chip making process while making your way to the tour on the top floor of the building. There is a movie that shows the bigger picture of the UTZ story. There is a large display wall with more antiques, photos and information about the Utz family and business. There is also a neat display which shows the entire line of Utz products. The tour consists of a long hall way which looks down on the production process. Everything is within easy viewing from the windows and you can follow the entire process from the potatoes coming off the truck to the finished cased bags being driven into the warehouse. The smell is amazing and the amount of chips you will see coming off the conveyor belt is overwhelming. Each stop along the tour has a push button to play narration and a small ramp for kids to get a boost. My kids love the tour and we've done it several times. It is fun to see everything, one of their favorite parts in the flavoring - where you see the flavor powder added to the chips. At the end of the tour you receive a free lunch box sized bag of chips - always fresh, usually made that day! There is seating to enjoy your chips and a Coke machine if you need something to wash it down with.

The Utz Factory Store is a couple blocks over from the plant. The store offers a wide varitety of items that you don't usually see in the supermarket. There are always some really good deals to be found and all the prices are reasonable. They also carry a line of Utz branded items like shirts, bags, hats etc. ect. There is usually plenty of items to sample for free. They also have decorative tins that can be filled any way you like. Penny candy, drinks and other snacks are also available.

The store is very close to the plant, not exactly walking distance - there are flyers at the tour with directions to the store...and the other way around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ESouth398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Outlet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We try to make this trip a few times a year. We always, always buy the extremely large bag of broken pretzels. The past few times, there were many more whole pretzels than broken (didn't matter we break them to eat them anyway). We find an big assortment of some things you can't find in a grocery store (cinnamon pretzels??). I agree some things are not a bargain while others are a huge savings. If my grown children and grandkids were with us, we would probably buy one of everything in the store.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dilbertsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Utz Factory Outlet Store also viewed

 

Been to Utz Factory Outlet Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing