We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Anniversary in an Elegant, Peaceful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanover B&B and Inns
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary in an Elegant, Peaceful B&B”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

From the moment we set foot in the stately front foyer, my husband and I were treated like royalty by our gracious hosts, Helen and Bruce. And it felt like we were staying in Windsor Castle. The lovely, elegant old mansion, appointed and kept to perfection by our hosts' tender loving care, created a romantic, peaceful environment. Our room was gorgeous, spacious, and comfortable...and we enjoyed perfect nights' sleep on the wonderful bed. The delicious breakfasts made us want to linger an savor the food and the moment. We loved the stained glass windows, the ornate woodwork, the period furniture...everything first class. We found the sun room, with the lulling sound of the running water in the fountain, to be especially peaceful. We spent part of an afternoon sipping tea and reading there. Helen and Bruce were the essence of hospitality, accommodating, always accessible, yet never intrusive. We plan to make Shining Dawn our anniversary tradition.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rising Sun bedroom, which was bright, airy, and spacious. The other rooms were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueRidgeExecCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear BlueRidgeExecCoach, We enjoyed our opportunity to meet and host you. We appreciate the significance of the date and we're always very happy to hear that our anniversary guests have had a nice time at Shining Dawn. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your very kind review. We hope that you'll keep us in mind as we look forward to seeing you again. Our very best wishes to you and your family. Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The house is amazing, with its subtle grace and beauty...each room has something different to offer. We have stayed with Helen and Bruce 4 times over the last few years and will continue to keep coming back. From the wonderful breakfasts, to uniqueness of each room, you won't find a better place to rest your head...or fill you stomachs! (If you can, request the german apple pancakes, they are TO DIE FOR! I promise you you won't be disappointed)

The B&B is only 20 minutes from Gettysburg, and is very much worth the short drive to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city and the tourists...its so nice to come back to your own private escape after being on your feet all day!

Hanover itself has a lot to offer as well, with its rich history and pretzle factory! I've been a die-hard hanover pretzle fan since I can remember though, so I may have a little bias, hehe.

On a scale of 1-10 I give the Shining Dawn (and above all, its owners) a 20 :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrap54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Scrap54, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a gracious review of your stays with us. To us, the greatest compliment is the fact that you've returned to stay with us so many times. You're a wonderful, young couple. We've really enjoyed your visits and the opportunity to chat with you. If you're ever traveling in the Hanover area, we truly hope that you'll continue to keep us in mind. Thanks again! Sincerely, Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here with a wedding party, excellent service and value! Centrally located for a very convenient stay. Owners were prepared and highly hospitable. The home is elegantly decorated and very well kept.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Christopher M,
We were very happy to know that members of the wedding party had everything they required to help ensure that such a special occasion would be memorable for all the right reasons. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever be traveling in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Let me say first that the Shining Dawn is a magnificent work of
architecture and character. The stained glass windows and fine craftsmanship of this B & B
were just wonderful Our stay was a relaxing getaway that
we had hoped for. There were fresh snacks and refreshments upon our arrival. The Sun Room
is well stocked with a wide variety of teas, instant coffees, hot cocoa as well as
Cold bottled water and a good selection of Coke and Pepsi Soft Drinks. The gourmet
breakfast the following morning was superb and generous. We were so full that we skipped
lunch and enjoyed an early dinner instead. The Innkeepers gave great recommendations to
local restaurants. Their hospitality, conversation and the tranquility of their B&B all
came together for a marvelous time. In all of our travels and B&B experiences the
Shining Dawn is one of the most welcoming & worthwhile that we've experienced. We highly
recommend it to B&B Travelers.

Room Tip: The B&B is located on a fairly busy route. We stayed in the Jewel in the Heart which is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFlash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear JJFlash99,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experiences with us. It's nice to see Shining Dawn through the eyes of our guests. The architectural details, high level of craftsmanship which went into the house's construction and the numerous stained glass windows are some of the same things that told us this would be a nearly perfect facility for Shining Dawn. Instead of adding additional guest rooms, we retained the architectural integrity of the main floor which gives our guests and retreat participants very nice public areas (like the Sun Room) to meet or just relax. If you're ever traveling in the Hanover area again, please keep us in mind. We would love to host you again. You'll always be welcomed at Shining Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Shining Dawn is definitely our retreat and our recommendation to all of our friends and family. We have been staying with Bruce and Helen for several years now and look forward to our stay every time. The B&B is welcoming and it makes you feel as if you are visiting family. We look forward to waking up to the breakfast, with chilled glasses of juice, coffee, and a wide variety of gourmet meals. Their home is an incredible site and story with its restoration and history. Only 15 minutes from Gettysburg, which can be experienced by the Segway Tours! But there is plenty of things to see even closer in downtown Hanover. On Saturdays is the small farmers market just across the street. Plenty of wineries close by too. Or take an historic train ride. We also love going to Codorus State Park only a few minutes away and kayak.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schvamla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Schvamias,

It's always a real pleasure to see your smiling faces come through our door and to have the opportunity to just catch up since your last visit We think of you and smile every time we watch "Judge Judy". Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your latest visit. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you and your family the best, now and always.

Bruce & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Shining Dawn several times over the past few years, and it's always our first choice when we visit. I grew up in Hanover and remember when the family of the town's premiere veterinarian lived in this gorgeous turn-of-the-century mansion. The architecture and craftsmanship of the house are truly exceptional, and Helen and Bruce have done a magnificent job unobtrusively modernizing it while retaining its all its intricate beauty and charm. The house is filled with meticulously restored antique clocks which are among the finest examples of the clockmaker's art. The breakfasts are first-class, all the way from the gourmet coffee, to the fresh-squeezed orange juice, to the superb and ever-changing entrees. Helen and Bruce are unfailingly gracious and accommodating hosts, and have helped us with several special requests. The rooms (especially the Rising Dawn room, our favorite!) are nicely appointed and the bathrooms are modern and scrupulously clean. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better, more relaxing place to stay in Hanover.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Jim R,
You and the Mrs. are a fun and fabulous couple. We consider ourselves lucky to know you and we truly enjoy your visits. Of course we are extremely happy to know that you enjoy your time with us enough to return to Shining Dawn when you're in the area. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with other B&B Travelers. We'll always look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Bruce & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at Shining Dawn while on my way to Vienna, VA from Allentown, PA. This was a perfect stopping spot, and I was so impressed with the tranquility of the bed and breakfast. The accommodations were clean and homey, and the small patio off the bedroom provided a tranquil place to enjoy. The luminous stars on the ceiling were a delightful surprise, lending another aspect to the stay. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were about the best that could be asked. The house itself is a gorgeous old homestead with beautiful accoutrements, including stained glass windows and antique fixtures. There is a lovely outside garden in back that is lovely to relax in. Highly recommended for anyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine to me, but I chose the MidSummer Night's Dream Room and was very sati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear "S",

Being able to host guests like you is a big part of what makes Inn-keeping enjoyable to us. You describe our facility and peaceful and friendly. We're very pleased that you found some of that here during your stay. We couldn't help but notice that you brought a lot of that with you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay. Please keep us in mind in your future travels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
11.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
526 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
739 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Property: Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331-2501
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing