We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Comfort in South-central Pennsylvania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanover B&B and Inns
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charm and Comfort in South-central Pennsylvania”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our stay at the Shining Dawn was one of the best experiences that my wife and I have had over many years in B&Bs . Such high accolades are deserved due to the exceptional confluence of the two main essentials of a great B&B experience-- a pleasant, unique facility and wonderful hosts. Helen and Bruce have decorated a late 1800's mansion in a tasteful way while maintaining many of the original features such as stained glass and quality carpentry. Our stay was peaceful, quiet and relaxed. Helen and Bruce were a pleasure to meet and were very attentive to our individual situation. The gourmet breakfast was the final fine touch to our stay. Anyone who is a frequent B&B patron or who would like to try a form of accommodation different from the "cookie cutter" hotel will surely be glad they chose the Shining Dawn.

Room Tip: The Peacock room was quiet and enjoyable. Has an extra daybed as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Arthur F,
What a joy to meet and host you and your wife! More recently to see you again and to meet your two sons as well as your daughter-in-law! Getting to meet folks like you makes Inn-keeping truly enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're always happy to know that our guests were happy with their stay. We hope to see you again. You'll always be welcomed at Shining Dawn!

Best regards,

Bruce & Helen, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Shining Dawn B&B and Retreat Center on three occasions. We have stayed at many B&Bs and this one is, by far, one of our favorites. Bruce and Helen are some of the nicest people you will ever meet and their B&B has been beautifully and lovingly restored. The breakfasts are delicious and of consistently high quality. The guests rooms have comfortable beds, are well appointed and are very clean.

On two of the visits, we attended Meditation retreats facilitated by Helen, and came away feeling peaceful and calm at the end of the weekend. Bruce, in addition to being a great cook, has restored my grandmother's over 100 year old clock, and it is ticking and chiming beautifully in our living room. We have recommended Shining Dawn to many friends and recommend it to anyone who plans on visiting the Hanover/Gettysburg area. We know that we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MPW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Dear MPW6,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Shining Dawn. We always treasure your visits. It's our pleasure to host you. Helen truly enjoys and values your participation in her Retreats. Of course, I was very happy to get your heirloom Ansonia Mantel Clock ticking again. We wish you the very best and look forward to the opportunity to see and host you again.

With our best regards,

Bruce & Helen, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Shining Dawn B& B and Retreat is just that.....the perfect getaway if you're visiting the Amish country and/or battlefield area of south-central Pennsylvania. Inkeepers Helen and Bruce were the orchestrators of a perfect weekend for us. We loved everything about Shining Dawn….the architecture, the furnishings, the many interesting clocks that Bruce has restored, the restful balcony off of our room, the lovingly-prepared first class breakfasts and the proximity to Gettysburg and surrounding countryside. We found the sun room with bubbling fountain an especially nice touch, as were the complimentary snacks and drinks to take care of those occasional munchies! We look forward to another wonderful and restful stay at the Shining Dawn on our next getaway to the Pennsylvania countryside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
John O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Shining Dawn. We were happy to know that we got it right and that you and your wife had everything you needed to enjoy your time in the Hanover/Gettysburg area. If you're ever planning a future visit, please keep us in mind. You're always welcome at Shining Dawn!

Best regards,

Bruce & Helen, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Bruce and Helen were great hosts for our 5 night stay during the 150th anniversary of Gettysburg address, They are friendly and attentive and happy to deal with any questions or problems during your stay. The have done a wonderful, sensitive restoration of their historic home. Nice bath, comfortable bed, and solid wifi connection. We were in the Rising Sun room, which was a spacious retreat for our extended stay. Hanover is a great alternative to the crowded tourist zone of Gettysburg, but just a short scenic drive way from the Civil War sites and other attractions such as the Steam Into History railroad and area wineries.
We definitely hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10DaysOrLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Dear 10DaysorLess,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Shining Dawn and for writing such a fabulous review. Depending upon the weather, Fall and Winter are great times to visit. It's quiet, less crowded and there's just a nice, calm energy in the Hanover/Gettysburg area. Thanks again for your review. Please come again.

Best regards,

Bruce & Helen, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have had nothing but the best of times staying at Shining Dawn
two separate times. The physical space is beautiful , comfortable,
spacious, quiet and most peaceful. Bruce , one of the hosts/owners,
couldn't be nicer or more accomodating and is an excellent
cook. The breakfasts are elaborate and exceptional.
Bruce and Helen aim to please in any way they can to make
one's stay perfect in every way and most memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jasmine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I recently spent two nights at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center. It was just what I was looking for. I wanted a peaceful place to get away for the weekend to write and rest. The atmosphere of this B&B is so peaceful and welcoming. The room (Peacock Room) was very comfortable. I spent time in the Sun Room, the Living Room, and the Meditation Room. Each room has its own uniqueness and I enjoyed each one. The breakfasts were out-of-this world. I really enjoyed my stay and will be back again. My only problem will be deciding if I want to try another room or return to the Peacock. Helen and Bruce are wonderful hosts who made me feel very special and I look forward to seeing them at my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindingPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We chose Shining Dawn B&B after initially checking B&Bs in Gettysburg (where we actually were visiting). Shining Dawn is about 20 minutes from Gettysburg in Hanover, a quaint town along nice country roads. Shining Dawn is a beautiful place - great lighting, welcoming, just an overall good feeling. Helen and Bruce both greeted us, showed us around, and were gracious enough to answer the numerous questions we had about their home (we love old homes!) and the area and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. They are extremely accomodating. Our room was neat, clean, and very comfortable. The bed was wonderful and had lots of fluffy pillows. Breakfast was heavenly. The first morning we had a full breakfast of baked pear with caramel sauce, scrambled eggs with bacon, and an German apple pancake - delicious! The next morning we were served a phenomenal baked apple, cheesy scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, and blueberry pancakes. Again, fantastic. Each morning we were served fresh orange juice in chilled glasses and were able to help ourselves to coffee and a selection of teas. Additionally there were soft drinks, a selection of tea and hot chocolate, and Utz chip products (the Utz factory is in Hanover) always available. We would definitely stay there again. It was nice to be away from the extremely packed, hustle and bustle of Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Rooms towards back are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulla62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear sulla62,

You stated that "Shining Dawn is a beautiful place - great lighting, welcoming, just an overall good feeling.". That is exactly the experience we hope to provide to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your visit to the Hanover/Gettysburg area is memorable for all the right reasons. We hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever visit the area again. Thanks once again!

Sincerely,

Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
11.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Property: Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331-2501
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing