We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Hanover B&B and Inns
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfort and Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Sheppard Mansion is a lovely B&B but actually more like a quaint Inn. We arrived on Friday night and there was a wedding happening which could've made anyone feel awkward, but the lady who helped us when we arrived was very quick and attentive to take us up to our room. The room was very clean and comfortable. There were lovely antiques but nothing creepy, it was just lovely. Breakfast every day was special and something different. The chef and her staff do a wonderful job!! We had dinner in the restaurant one night and my husband and I agree it was one of the best meals that we EVER ate! The atmosphere was very romantic but friendly... if that makes sense. Overall, I don't see how you could ever go wrong with the Sheppard Mansion!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaBella26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Eight female friends spent two nights here, and it was fabulous! Former private home is immense! Wonderful entrance and "Rhett Butler-like" staircase! Furnishings and decor are elegant and inviting. Rooms and suites are very comfortable, and bathrooms are gorgeous! Only caution is the Lee Suite, which has a feather bed, which CAN be uncomfortable (very soft) for some. Ayres Suite leaves nothing to be desired. Breakfasts were delicious thanks to Beverly in the kitchen. Snacks and drinks in the breakfast dining area were a nice treat! Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The eight of us definitely made use of all of the common areas, including the beautiful back patio for our snacks and wine, the "bar-lounge" and the other rooms. We were visiting Gettysburg which is only 20 minutes away from this B&B. Would highly recommend staying here! There is also a delightful brick marketplace behind the inn.

Room Tip: Take the Ayres Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAO738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were hoping for a very special dinner in what appears to be a very elegant, historic mansion. We have dined in many lovely establishments before and were hoping this would be comparable. It was the worst dinner we have ever experienced and the only thing worse than trying to swallow the food was the service. Our waiter was rude and stuffy and made us feel uncomfortable, unwelcomed and actually awful for asking for something even as simple as another glass of water. The menu does not give you much of a selection but don't even dare try modifying an item--they will not accommodate under any circumstance. Considering the prices are exorbitant we were disgusted by the awful food and even worse service. Go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taraw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My spouse and I stayed at the Sheppard Mansion this past July 5 for two nights, and so enjoyed the experience as it is a magnificent, well-preserved period property. We ate dinner at the mansion's restaurant, an excellent tasting menu/wine pairing, served in one of their fabulous period dining rooms. The only disappointment was in the breakfasts we were served. Advertised as "gourmet," they were both terribly basic and poorly prepared-one was a slice of reheated quiche with a bit of fruit; the other consisted of charred pancakes with sausage links on the side. The gourmet breakfast feature is an important part of many of our B&B experiences, and while we're very pleased with our stay as a whole, we're disappointed that, though advertised, a gourmet breakfast was not served to us at the Sheridan.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WineDineandGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

As others have written before, this mansion is very elegant and impressive, both in its architecture and interior design. The rooms are spacious and elegant, looking better in real life than in photographs we have viewed on the internet. However, our room (Ayres) and the Mansion as a whole, were somewhat overburdened with too many artifacts. The owners obviously want to preserve the original house in its full glory but they should remember that after all this is an inn, not a museum, and too many paraphernalia get in the way.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is bright and cheerful and breakfast itself is quite good, although not exceptional (for example, the pastry was not freshly baked but set out the evening before). Unfortunately we didn't have a chance to dine at the restaurant, which is closed part of the week.
The major disadvantage we have found is the mansion's surroundings. Contrary to what you may expect from the description in the web site, the mansion is situated right on a main traffic rout passing through Hanover (rout 194), not in a park, not even amidst a large garden, and the neighborhood is unimpressive, at best. The most annoying aspect of it was the noise from the cars and heavy trucks passing 15 yards from our window starting at about 5 AM, bringing our sleep to a cruel end. Anyone who is a light sleeper should be forewarned of this.
In summary, we can certainly recommend the Sheppard Inn as a very special place and a good option for staying near Gettysburg, as long as you are aware of its limitations.

Room Tip: The Ayres is prbably the most spacious and opulent of all rooms. However, a room facing a side stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itg1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night for our first anniversary. What a great place to spend it. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner and did the 7-course tasting menu. Each thing they brought out was so good. We felt like celebrities because of how delicious and elegant everything was and how important they treated us. Hands down the BEST meal we have ever had, in addition to the best place we have ever stayed at. What a treat that it was all in the same building!

We may just be coming back here each year for our anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lee Suite. It was very spacious, luxurious, and decorated very neat. If I have to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I wish there was a separate listing for the restaurant in the Sheppard Mansion, because even if you don't stay here, you need to check out the restaurant.

First, the setting is magnificent. This is our second time dining here and we were seated in the "Lady's Parlor" this time. Last time was in the "Men's Parlor." Both are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The silver used on your table is exceptional. They know how to set a table properly, that's for sure!

Tonight we had 4 courses, although the chef sent out 2 special treats. First, an amuse bouche of a potato chip with a white truffle creme fraiche. Very tasty. I started with a rabbit gnocchi with a sublime "bbq" sauce, with sweet white corn. Yum. The bibb lettuce salad with blue cheese was fresh and plentiful. For dinner I had lamb loin. It was perfectly cooked. And for dessert, a wonderful pear dumpling. A delightful little tray of sweets was brought to us with out bill. The start treat was a chocolate filled with a gooey caramel and a bit of pretzel. Oh my!

I am not doing the food justice with my description, so I'll just say that there is a lever of sophistication with all of the dishes that immediately informs you that you are in a very special restaurant. Hands down this is my favorite restaurant in the Gettysburg/Hanover/East Berlin/York circuit.

While the prices are not "cheap" I do feel the food is a great value. Everything exceeded my expectation. We travel the world and enjoy eating. It's nice to know such a special place is so near our home. NOTE: my martini was perfect. The Pinot Noir I had with my lamb was very, very good and the Armagnac I had with dessert was terrific. Their wine list is exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerNBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hanover
Hampton Inn Hanover
#1 of 5 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
5.5 mi away
No photo provided
Cross Keys Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in New Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Hanover
Super 8 Hanover
#3 of 5 in Hanover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 117 Frederick St., Hanover, PA 17331
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sheppard Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheppard Mansion b&b
Sheppard Mansion Hotel Hanover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing