We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, strange bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stopped here for one night on our way home from Florida. It was as expected for a Holiday Inn Express, the rooms were new and clean and the staff was polite and helpful though some staff got in the way and monopolized the elevator moving big boxes in the morning. Breakfast was well stocked with typical hot and cold breakfast-buffet-included fare.

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet but I can't say I liked the new layout, with the toilet and tub/shower in one closet-sized room and the tiny (2½ ft wide) sink and counter out in the main room. It begs the question; If one uses the toilet and then has to open the door to get at the sink, what's living on that door handle? With only two of us in the room, the sink and counter was hardly big enough.

I'd recommend it but check the prices, which I found vary considerably.

Room Tip: With three floors and one of the slowest elevators I've seen in a while, the ground floor might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTL_MX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHHIXAreaGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi MTL-MX5!

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule write a review of the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and found it clean and comfortable.

The day that you notice the elevator being slow was due to a new pillow delivery to our hotel which will now offer new soft and firm pillows. I am sorry you had to experience a delay with the elevator during your stay.

As for the bathroom config, I must admit, having the vanity outside the bathroom is a bit strange, but alot of our guests that are traveling with small kids enjoy since your still able to do things at the vanity, while someone us is showering.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Your friend Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

A few unique & very different things about this hotel.
The parking lot is on side or back no front entrance for parking
If you leave out a side door to go to your auto you have to enter from the front or back that's a pain
Room was clean but layout is very modern design with vanity on outside of small bathroom. The drawers were only 2 although deep small so staying more than a day or two would not work out.
Limited places to eat nearby but several only 5 miles away.
Young lady at front desk (obvious she was by herself) did not seem like she wanted to be working although not rude just not your typical warm greeting or welcome certainly no Thank you or acknowledged my Elite status not that it matters.
My big complaint is people talking in the hallway and they have a girls school group that came in they used the stairs and although they attempted to be somewhat quiet its a lot of them and giggles talking and noise echos hvac was poor and loud they could do better to bring their rating up but for now a solid 2 1/2 stars

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank istrainer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHHIXAreaGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Good Day istrainer!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE.

We value your comments and we are committed for your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.

Thank you,

Your friend Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel with some friends while passing by on my way to Florida. We booked 2 bedrooms. I've stayed numerous times at the Holiday Inn and as usual, the hotel was very clean and the beds were very comfy. My only disappointment is the cost for the room. Before arriving at the hotel, we stopped at the nearest rest area and found a pamphlet with a special rate of $89 from Monday to Thursday. However, arriving at the hotel (Wednesday night), we were told that they had limited rooms available and we had to pay the full price of $119 plus taxes. The parking was half full so very hard to believe they had limited rooms. We left the next day at 4am so quite expensive for only a few hours and no breakfast. Again, I was very disappointed and wish the hotel would respect their special prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pampered2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHHIXAreaGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Good Morning Pamper2!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our rooms clean as always, and I's sorry to hear we were unable to honor the your coupons. Unfortuantely, coupons are not valid when you already have a reservation and coupon rates are based on availability.

With that being said, please let me know when you will be in town again, and I would be happy to honor the coupon rate during your next stay. You can contact me directly at 717.540.8400 or via email at avenuto@padutchhotels.com

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again!

Your friend,
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for National Indoor Field Hockey Tournament as part of stay - to - play package. Great hotel, just too far to Spooky Nook Sports. Hotel is exceptionally clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was available prior to 6:30 which we appreciated since we had an early game. Food was plentiful and very good! Pool area was clean, hot tub was nice after a long day. Front desk service was courteous and they honored our request for a rollaway. As a matter of fact, it was already in our room when we opened the door! Convenient to several eateries, gas, Hershey Park etc. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank KatyGrl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHersheyGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Greetings KatyGrl73!

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write such a nice review about the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE! The staff of our hotel takes great pride in our property and I'm glad it shows.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels brings you to the area again!

Your friend,
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

this is a $99 a night place that was established in 1997 so it's still in good, clean shape. it is not fancy, but bed are comfortable, service is decent and it's quiet. there is not a lot around for decent restaurants, but desk clerk has a 2 pg. sheet with places 2-8 miles away.
easy acess to the highway.
all parking in back... long ramp, better to unload in front.
breakfast is kind of lean, but adequate.
nothing fancy, but for a traveling night it ranks up there with comfort, better than quality. happy trails

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHersheyGM, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hi r1manchester!

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review about the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE. I'm glad to hear that you found our hotel "A good deal for the money."

The staff takes great pride in our hotel and I'm happy it shows. Holiday Inn Express will be rolling a new breakfast pretty soon and I'm sure you will find it great.

Again, thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My family stayed here recently during a short stay in Hershey area for Hershey Park. Hotel was wonderfully renovated and beautiful. More of a High class feel than and regular HI Express feel. Room very clean. Children loved pool and we loved whirlpool. Free breakfast was great. Would go again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank cwhite8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akash P, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Good Morning cwhite8181!

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE and letting the world know how great your stay was with us!

The staff and management take great pride in our hotel and I'm glad it shows. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to the area.

Safe travels,
Anthony Venuto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

New, very clean, had no reservation but was greeted as if we were repeat clients (which we will be). Wish we had more time for the gym but had to beat the snow storm home. It was different to see the sink outside of the bathroom but it actually worked, nice layout.

Room Tip: Take a king non smoking room, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akash P, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Good Morning par72!

Thank you choosing the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE while you were travelling. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy our hotel and that you will be returning during your next visit to the area.

Thank you again,
Anthony Venuto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
7.2 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg

Address: 7744 Linglestown Rd, Hershey Area, Harrisburg, PA 17112-9426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#9 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#20 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express(R) hotel is ideally located in the heart of Pennsylvania. Explore the capital city, or visit the many attractions found in the area, including Hershypark amusement park, Giant Center, Hollywood Casino & Race Course, Indian Echo Caverns, ZooAmerica wildlife park and Hershey's Chocolate World, an interactive chocolate experience and a shopper's paradise. The Harrisburg International Airport is 15 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing