We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff was amazing ... so courteous, professional, caring, and welcoming. They sent a signed card for our anniversary. They made our stay perfect and it was a wonderful anniversary. They were able to accommodate an early check in and a late check out. When there was a problem with the early check in, they quickly up graded us to a different room. They provided us with the little things that we had forgotten and never made us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
asher s,
Happy Anniversary!! Glad we were able to help make your anniversary wonderful. Wishing you many, many more, and come visit us soon.
Safe Travels
Stephanie Foose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    170
    159
    84
    69
See reviews for
137
102
40
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here because they offered a travel agent discount and it was within walking distance to all the bars/lounges on 2nd St. in Harrisburg. Check in was easy. A nice lady that worked at the hotel chatted with me about my craft beer I had in hand. Room was clean, bathroom was clean as well. Did its purpose for my 3 friends and me. No complaints from me, will stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craleycommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
craleycommando,
Thank you for your great feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit!!
Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Recently stayed on a Friday night during a trip to Hershey. I was hoping for an affordable option for a good nights sleep. Next time I would pay more to stay somewhere else.
Expensive parking. Lots of street noise. Loud in room AC unit woke me up at night - and I'm a heavy sleeper. Small bathroom with no exhaust fan. My in-room coffee maker only had one packet of decaf coffee.
Decent property and pool looks nice - but next time I will be sleeping somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDiddyBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
PDiddyBBQ from Philly!
I am sorry for the challenges you experienced. I would enjoy speaking with you to learn what room you were in so we can assist with repairs if you haven't already mentioned it to our staff before you departed. I can be reached at 717-920-1781. I look forward to assisting.

Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just stayed there overnight with our 3 kids and booked adjoining rooms on the 3rd floor. Staff were great, but the condition of the rooms and hallways are terrible.
Hallway carpet filthy and there was a constant stale odour of urine in the air.
The only good thing about the rooms was that the washrooms were clean and the beds had fresh sheets.
I used up an entire can of room freshener to get the stink out of the rooms (again, like stale urine).
The room carpet felt sticky in both rooms and we kept our shoes on all the time.
The doors between the rooms were both broken and had to be forced open.
Fabric chair had stains and the vinyl chairs had tears and other damage.
The wifi wouldn't allow me to go on once one of the kids was on the internet.
All but one of the windows were screwed shut and the frames had not been cleaned in years. The one window that opened had no screen so we had to keep it closed.
Our views were of a roof littered with garbage.
The A/C sounded like a jet engine and you could see all the dust on the cieling that was coming from the vents that had not been cleaned in a long time.
I did not allow anyone to open thier suitcases as I did not know what was crawling around. I did not see anything, but I made everyone keep the lights on the entire stay.
The washroom cieling tiles were stained and you could see signs of mould/mildew that had been painted over. There was a vent in the wall that was closed so absolutely no air circulation in the room at all.
The washroom floor kept sweating and we had to lay towels on the floor to keep from slipping.

I almost walked out, but we were in the middle of a long drive and needed to have the family rest in a room. I couldn't sleep in the room at all and we got up at 6:00 am to get out of the room as quickly as possible.

I had to take a chance on the restaurant and was glad I did. Food was OK and the server was great. She did everything right and got a good tip for her efforts.

Don't understand how anyone could give this place a good review, unless the 3rd floor is not representative of the entire hotel, but my advice is to stay far away.
What a waste of $350.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnyK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello JohnyK2013

Sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact me directly so I can help in any way, understand what room you were in and solve the challenges. I can be reached at 717-920-1781.

Thanks and looking forward to speaking with you,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a wonderful hotel near the capital building in Harrisburg,
Pa. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms was beautiful and very clean. THe beth was small but did not bother us considering all the other amenities. Upon arrival we were offered a free Hershey's ice cream. We were offered turn down service that evening, which included free water or soda and a choice of snacks. We ate dinner in the bar area and it was delicious . I had the Pasta Mamma Rosa which was very very good. The waiter and bartender (Max) was both entertaining and efficient. It was a joy to watch him work.
All in all our experience at this hotel was a great one.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MER47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Happy Traveler !!!
Thank you for the fun feedback about your visit! Max is a joy at the bar ! Glad you had a good time and we hope we can host your visit again in the future!

Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first trip to Harrisburg. We were there for a conference. This hotel is situated on a main street and close to the major highways. We found it very easy to get around.

We didn't have a bad experience at the Crown Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey. It was just okay. I think we'd have had a comparable one at a less expensive hotel - only with free parking.

Parking at this hotel is valet only and costs $18 per day. We opted to park on the street. I was a little miffed when the next day we overheard a valet tell another guest that the hotel has FREE parking available two blocks over. It would have been nice if we were given the same information. Fortunately, we were there on a weekend so street/meter parking was free.

As far as the room is concerned, it was modern, clean and well kept. The bathroom was also clean, albeit tiny. As some reviewers have mentioned, the walls are super thin. We were awakened at 6:30am by our neighbors' excited conversation and their squealing kids.

If you like a mini fridge in your room, a per/day rental fee is involved. I'd rather have a complimentary mini fridge than the ice cream novelty upon arrival.

I guess the big question is, if I were to return to Harrisburg, would I stay at the Crowne Plaza again? Probably not. I'd hunt for either a better value or greater luxury.

Room Tip: The walls are very thin. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Chula_Mia !

Thanks for your feedback! Appreciate the thoughts about your personal experience. We will look into your suggestions right away!

Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel had a good location in downtown Harrisburg. We stayed here for a concert and was happy that the concierge was so helpful in finding us a good place to eat on a Sunday when many things are closed. City park and the capitol building are walk-able. I didn't like how they only offered valet parking for almost $20, but was happy to find street parking out front. Even though we had to get up early to plug the meter, it was worth saving the money! The room was clean and nice. The one complaint I have is that the walls are thin. You could hear our next door neighbor talking. But probably more importantly for me, the windows/walls towards the road were also thin and I was woke up by traffic in the AM. It was pretty loud! Perhaps they could get noise canceling curtains or reinforce the windows or something. Overall it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Glad you enjoyed location, despite the traffic. Have a great rest of your summer!

Safe Travels,
Stephanie Foose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
316 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 50 in Harrisburg
420 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey

Property: Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Address: 23 S 2nd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see what s new at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg Hershey! We are proud to announce the completion of a $3M renovation throughout all areas of the hotel. The friendliest and most welcoming hotel in Harrisburg PA now features new décor and amenities from top to bottom. Discover all that downtown Harrisburg has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. You are at the heart of everything, including shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Restaurant Row, Harrisburg s Capitol Complex and State Museum, the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and the Susquehanna River s picturesque waterfront. Whether you re coming to Harrisburg for business or just for fun, your room at the Crowne Plaza is your personal retreat. Our intimate rooms welcome you in cozy Boutique fashion, and amenities such as luxurious Sleep Advantage Bedding and complimentary HSIA mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Centrally located between Interstates 83 & 81, we're only minutes away from PA's biggest attractions, including Hershey Park, Historic Gettysburg, Lancaster Amish Country and Carlisle. Less than 2 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, we're the hotel of choice for the annual Farm Show, Sports & Outdoor Show, and Horse Show. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and discover all that Harrisburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing