We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I travel for business quite frequently and never have I encountered such a friendly staff. The managers came to the bar/restaurant to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. The bartender, I believe his name was Max,was very attentive to all his customers. Check in was as easy as can be. The rooms were clean, spacious and updated. I had a very enjoyable stay and will return the next time I am in hoe area as well as looking at the properties within this group next time I am booking a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Eileen G,
Thank you so much for your raving review. I can't wait to share it with the staff! Positive feedback is so important to helping to maintain the high standards we take pride in.
We are very happy that our service Wowed you. This is the plus we look to provide to all of our guests.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay for the marathon. Room was basic but clean and functional. The bed was not the most comfortable but adequate. Great happy hour. All staff was attentive and friendly. We liked the 4pm late checkout. $18 for parking was reasonable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Traveler,
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and are very pleased you returned. We take pride in serving our guests to the high standard you deserve.
We hope to see you again. Have a wonderful fall season.
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My friend and I booked our trip in the heart of downtown to explore the city and the staff here are great! However, when I got to the room while my friends were downstairs, it was about midnight, I was on the phone with my fiancee and I hear banging on our walls, following screaming, so I didn't really pay any mind to it, thought maybe a couple fighting. Next thing you know, I hear a knock on the front door, to my surprise it is a hotel security (I had got acquainted with him while we were downstairs), I explained to him, after our conversation downstairs and me saying Good Night to everyone, I came up to my room and while having a conversation on my cell with my fiancee I heard banging and screaming, so I didn't bother to contact anyone, because I was on the phone. He asked for both of us to keep quiet or we'd have to leave. I wasn't making any noise, but I sarcastically told him that I will whisper with my conversation then. LOL! Next; phone rings from the front desk asking to keep quiet, meanwhile I'm sitting on my bed talking on the phone the entire time. I told the front desk lady, I'm the only one in the room and on my cell phone that the only noise that is coming is from people next door, while she was on the phone with me I asked her to listen closely, sure enough she heard the noise. Then she called back 15 minutes later and asked if there were anymore noise, I said it was earlier but quieted down, she laughed and said they moved them to another room and she was apologetic for the inconvenience, I told her, how humorous this is, I've never had a situation like this at an upscale hotel ever! The whole experience was just uneasy! Like I said, the staff is amazing and friendly, they understood that the crazy one was next door, however, I will not return to this hotel again because of the experience.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with a joining door if you want peace in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautifulSoul07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Beautiful Soul,
I would like to apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. I appreciated the feedback as it helps in aiding us in handling future issues concerning this nature. We disappointed you and if you would like to talk with me further concerning this, please feel free to call me at (717) 234-5021 ex 2104, I would like to talk with you.
Thank you for your compliments on the staff. They love hearing the good and appreciate hearing of problems, and how to resolve them, so that they can better serve our guests.
Again, please accept our apology.
Regards,
Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a business function. The staff was consistently pleasant and competent, the rooms were attractive and well maintained, and the location was convenient, though prone to be noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleenowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Jleenowak,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review concerning your recent stay. We take pride in providing superior service and accommodations to our guests and your comments are very important to us. We encourage our guests to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. This feedback helps us to target problem areas and take action to insure our guests have an awesome stay.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to serving you again.

Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed there one night and it was horrible. When we booked the room from website, it describes there is a 365 days in-door swimming pool for use. Once we got there, the swimming pool was under construction. The front desk staff was really nice to arrange us to the Hotel next door to use their pool instead. But we still needed to walk in the cold before /after got out from the pool /water. The room has no heat for whole night, and we complained about this to the front desk staff when checked-out. The front desk staff told us that this is a really old building which the heat system doesn't really work without the Engineer come in to manually turn it on. The bed was too firm, not comfortable at all. The wallpaper has stains all over: from the AC system water leaking, humidity...etc. Front Desk staffs are super friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is really delicious and great and have many choices (but weirdly they don't have beverages in buffet area, you have to order all drinks from the waitress. waitress are nice. They will give you whatever you order with free re-fill). Parking is horrible. There is no free parking in the building on basement, it is valet parking and cost $18 / night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sheepbaby,

I am sorry for the challenges you experienced while staying with us.
We just opened our pool, today, in fact, after a total renovation and I know it was frustrating to everyone that came during the renovations. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused.
We strive to take care of each and everyone of our guests to a higher standard and we assuredly dropped the ball with you. If you have time and would like to talk more about these problems, I would enjoy speaking with you. I can be reached at 717-991-5689. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed this hotel on a recent business trip to Harrisburg and several days later to attend a friend's wedding/reception held at the Crowne Plaza. All staff were welcoming and helpful and the little 'spa' items in the room contributed to a relaxing retreat at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located, within walking distance of museums and the Capitol complex. We had the pleasure to attend a delightfully appointed wedding & reception. We heard from the bride and groom that Amy, the wedding planner, is wonderful to work with couples if anyone is planning a special event. If you have any concerns at all, see Toni Rieber, Guest Experience Champion, who went out of her way to see that our stays rated 10/10.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter than those facing 2nd Street. Wednesday evening at 5:30 P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHBGMGR, Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear 2Bedford Travelers,
We are thrilled we exceeded your expectations and appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel and staff. Thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback, allowing us the opportunity to share it with our staff.
It was a pleasure meeting both of you and look forward to being your hotel in Harrisburg should you return to our city. We appreciate you staying with us.

Sincerely,
Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed for two nights while on a business trip. Room was well sized, but the bathroom ceiling was dirty and lacked an exhaust fan. Room was extremely loud at night, particularly with the cross walk and garbage trucks in the morning (this coming from someone who lived in NYC for four years). Staff at hotel bar was unfriendly and visibly rude to other customers. Only helpful staff members I encountered were the valet and bellhop who held my bag upon check out and departure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krzemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear krzemke,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal on this occasion. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Riverfront
Quality Inn Riverfront
#30 of 51 in Harrisburg
339 reviews
2.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 51 in Harrisburg
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 51 in Harrisburg
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey

Address: 23 S 2nd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see what s new at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg Hershey! We are proud to announce the completion of a $3M renovation throughout all areas of the hotel. The friendliest and most welcoming hotel in Harrisburg PA now features new décor and amenities from top to bottom. Discover all that downtown Harrisburg has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. You are at the heart of everything, including shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Restaurant Row, Harrisburg s Capitol Complex and State Museum, the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and the Susquehanna River s picturesque waterfront. Whether you re coming to Harrisburg for business or just for fun, your room at the Crowne Plaza is your personal retreat. Our intimate rooms welcome you in cozy Boutique fashion, and amenities such as luxurious Sleep Advantage Bedding and complimentary HSIA mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Centrally located between Interstates 83 & 81, we're only minutes away from PA's biggest attractions, including Hershey Park, Historic Gettysburg, Lancaster Amish Country and Carlisle. Less than 2 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, we're the hotel of choice for the annual Farm Show, Sports & Outdoor Show, and Horse Show. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and discover all that Harrisburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing