We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“average hotel, central location”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I think that this is primarily a business hotel (every staff member we met asked us which conference we were there for) and I can see that it is a good place to stay on business. The room was a good size and it and the bathroom was clean and fairly comfortable. But even though we had a double bed, there was only one bedside table and lamp - and there was space for two tables in a room the size we were in. It sounds like being fussy but it was actually really inconvenient.
Service in the restaurant was not great. When we sat down there were only two other couples there but we waited about 45 minutes for our food to arrive, while other, later tables were served ahead of us. One table even managed to arrive after us, get served and finish up before our food came. And when it did come (no apologies or explanations for the delay) some of my order was missing. Very disappointing when we had both only ordered burgers and salad.
The staff were friendly, however, especially the concierge who was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Magie M ,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We appreciate all comments from our guests as it helps us to provide excellent service. Your comments help us in the areas we need to improve, to provide the level of service our guests deserve. I am very sorry we disappointed you. I have shared this review with our departments to take back to their staff to help in training them in ways to improve on our service.
I apologize for the poor experience you had while dining with us. Should you ever stay with us in the future, please contact me, and I will buy you dinner.
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    169
    157
    83
    67
See reviews for
136
102
40
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier PA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

You pretty much have only two choices if you want to stay in Harrisburg and not use a car: the Hilton and the Crowne Plaza. The CP is in a good location, but if you don't know that it's an urban Holiday Inn beforehand, it becomes apparent during the stay. Prices are high for the product, but they can be if you're the only show in town. Bathroom very tight, but good shower. Closet is open. No microwave or fridge. Tiny business center. Internet is slow. Minimalist fitness center. I just heard the toilet flush next door, and I can feel the wall shake when the neighbor slams his door. Lobby is OK, could be worse. Staff respectful and friendly. Hotel website should make clear that coming onto the property will look like going into a high-rise parking garage, and if there is a line of cars, you will stick out into the street. You would be better off to square around and come up the side street, where there are meters for loading and unloading. Check in and then have valet take car. But there are pubs and bistros within 5 minutes' walk, and state capitol is 12 minutes away. Hotel seems geared more to weddings than to business clientele. It will do, but it's definitely not upscale. "Crowne Plaza" is a glittering generality.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay heed to any room upgrade for view: everywhere you look, it's Harrisburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dukesnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Dukesnyder,

I would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all guest feedback and use it as learning opportunities to help train our staff to provide the level of guest service they deserve. I appreciate your honesty and am pleased that our staff was friendly and respectful.
Should you travels bring you to Harrisburg in the future, please contact me, so that I am able to insure that your stay is excellent.
Happy Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Traveler
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is exactly what you would expect for a hotel in this price range. OK bar and restaurant. Worst thing that happened was that one of the two slow elevators was broken during our stay. I was with a group and 3 people of the 6 complained of very noisy heaters in their rooms.The location is very convenient to downtown and the capitol area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyzxyzxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear xyzxyzxyz,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent service to our guests. It seems we were a bit average and I would like to chat with you about anything that we could have done to make your stay excellent. If you could give me a call at your convienence, I would love to talk with you. I can be reached at (717) 234-5021 ext 2104. Talking with our guests helps to provide us with learning opportunities that help us to provide the service our guests deserve.
Thank you,
Toni R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this place on our way into town and got a great deal. At check in Andrew was very helpful and even our valet at arrival was great. Service continued to be excellent.

Room was comfortable but a little dated which to my mind isn't a big deal. You can't replace furniture every 20 seconds in this economy especially. Room was very quiet and lived we could use a/c in winter.

Room service meal was amazing. Perfect after a long day of driving.

Highly recommend this property.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dean Sanden M,
We appreciate you taking time to give us your outstanding review. I am thrilled to share this positive feedback with our staff. They love to hear they are doing an excellent job and it motivates them to continue to raise the bar on the service they provide. Thank you for sharing it on Trip Advisor!
Thank you for staying with us and I hope that should your travels bring to our area in the future, you will choose to stay with us. Wishing you safe travels!
Best Regards,
Toni Rieber
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had to stay the night because of the weather and work being right down the street. I love everything about the hotel. The staff are very nice and quick. The rooms are so clean and actually have some style. The bed is sooooo comfortable and the bath tub rocks. Its huge. Loved being able to go swimming when its super cold out. Which was very refreshing. Definitely staying here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiNy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear TiNy B,
Our staff loves when our guests take the time to give them raving reviews. Thank you from all of us at Harrisburg Crowne. Great feedback provides them with feedback that helps them understand excellent service and amenities are very much appreciated.
We are pleased you enjoyed everything we have to offer and look forward to seeing you the next time Mother Nature sends us inclement weather.
Happy Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 3 days with a few friends next door..The people in the hotel are great very helpful.Denny I think was his name was great gave us ideas for dinner and down to earth guy..The guys parking the cars thumbs up to them great bunch of guys..The rooms where perfect. Will stay here again!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Floyd g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Floyd G,
Thank you for the AWESOME review and taking the time to write it! We appreciate you choosing our hotel. Our team is thrilled they provided you with excellent service.
We look forward to your next visit with us! By the way, GO BRONCOS! I am a huge Broncos fan and love your profile pic!

Happy Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were there for a three night stay. The Restaurant service was understaffed and was easily overwhelmed. Waited for almost 75 minutes for a dinner and the restaurant wasn't even full. We had a large party and asked for two large tables, and they grudgingly put them together only after we took the initiative. The food was decent, but to get drinks and dinner took far too long. They left only one server with the group, left empty, dirty glasses far too long on the table.
Twin double bed rooms are painfully small. The room's bathroom was tiny, with the toilet right behind the door, making it very difficult to allow more than one in the bathroom. We ran out of toilet paper and had to ask for more after only two days. Overall, the management staff was responsive, but the regular staff appeared to have morale problems. Garbage and towels were left in the halls for long periods of time.

Room Tip: Take the option of a king room, if given. They are larger and the bathrooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todd p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni R, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Todd P,
I sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had, while staying with us, in January. Our goal to provide our guests with an excellent stay and it seems we have disappointed you. There is little we can do about the room size, but we absolutely can provide flawless customer service.
I would like to talk with you, at your convenience. Please call me at (717) 234-5021 ext 2104.
Again, I apologize and look forward to your call.
Regards,
Toni R
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#31 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey

Property: Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Address: 23 S 2nd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and see what s new at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Harrisburg Hershey! We are proud to announce the completion of a $3M renovation throughout all areas of the hotel. The friendliest and most welcoming hotel in Harrisburg PA now features new décor and amenities from top to bottom. Discover all that downtown Harrisburg has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Crowne Plaza Harrisburg. You are at the heart of everything, including shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. You are within easy walking distance of Restaurant Row, Harrisburg s Capitol Complex and State Museum, the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and the Susquehanna River s picturesque waterfront. Whether you re coming to Harrisburg for business or just for fun, your room at the Crowne Plaza is your personal retreat. Our intimate rooms welcome you in cozy Boutique fashion, and amenities such as luxurious Sleep Advantage Bedding and complimentary HSIA mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Centrally located between Interstates 83 & 81, we're only minutes away from PA's biggest attractions, including Hershey Park, Historic Gettysburg, Lancaster Amish Country and Carlisle. Less than 2 miles from the PA Farm Show Complex & Expo Center, we're the hotel of choice for the annual Farm Show, Sports & Outdoor Show, and Horse Show. Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and discover all that Harrisburg has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing