We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, Excellent value”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Not fancy, just good value for a nice room. The location is excellent if you happen to have business in the area. The room is comfortable and not cramped. I really don't know what else to say to make up the silly two hundred character minimum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael P. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    183
    73
    31
    11
See reviews for
284
90
30
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Enjoyed this hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast- hot items are provided as well as cold. Sufficient seating. Many restaurants surrounding the hotel if you arrive late and need something to eat. Room thermometer control is on the wall and the unit is silent. Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

You really can't go all that wrong with Hampton Inns. I'm a Silver member so I'm accustomed to staying in this chain.

I do find that the rates have crept up over the last few years versus other similar chains so that's an issue with me. At a rack rate of $194, I can almost stay at a Hilton for that as an upgrade.

Service was fine, the place is clean, having a breakfast in the hotel is a nice addition as you don't have to go look for one. My big complaint with most hotels are the air conditioning units - known in the industry as "p-tac" units. These units are terrible. Noisy and you just can't control them properly. I was in a competitor's hotel, where they used a central ac/heating system and what a difference - quiet and more comfortable. This particular hotel has older "p-tac" versions so it was not a restful sleep because of it. I wouldn't return because of it. It's unfortunate because the hotel is well run and there's little they can do about a built in ac/heating unit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I choose Hampton/Hilton hotels because of the amenities such as continental breakfast and I know I will come to a clean facility and room. Having a microwave & fridge in the rooms as basic part of the room helps so much! The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I will continue to stay at these hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 923denisef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

One overnight stay. Very clean, nice rooms, very quiet hotel. Because of limited availability of standard rooms, we were upgraded to a suite for the same price. Extensive breakfast offerings included in large, bright dining area just off registration desk. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very warm welcome and fast check-in. Everyone was eager to help in anyway. Room was clean and quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Up-to-date curtains and furniture. The bathroom was very clean and I love the fact that they have Neutrogena products. No need to bring a hair dyer, they have one. They have an ironing board, and iron. Internet access was great to have. Phone charging area, on the end table which is nice because I use my phone for an alarm and check email often. I love the fact that they have a refrigerator and microwave. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a place near Hersheypark and can't get lodging in Hershey, or are looking for something "basic", the Hampton Inn in Harrisburg is a great option. We booked a room with a king bed and pull out couch. Room was very nice and didn't have any complaints. Customer service was fair at best. No pleasantries or hellos when you walk by. B'fast in the morning wasn't as nice as what I recall at other Hampton Inns, but in all fairness, I haven't stayed in one in a couple years. Too many b'fast items heavy in sugar and carbs (ie donuts, sugary cereals, bagels) -- hard when you prefer a higher protein based b'fast. There are a lot of plazas nearby, grocery stores, and restaurants; and more extensive shopping places one exit away. Close to Hersheypark and you can't beat the rate.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tcgje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)

Property: Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Address: 4230 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing