We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family friendly place to stay for Hershey Park Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Every year we take a trip to Hershey Park for several days. Last year we stayed in Lancaster and it was way too far from Hershey Park, so this year we decided to look for a hotel in Harrisburg or maybe Hershey if the price was right. We are a family of four, with two kids ages 3 and 6, we really wanted a suite with a separate room with real doors, instead of a semi-private partition which is common with studio suites. I researched and narrowed it down to Sleep Inn and Staybridge Suites. We still could not commit so we went to Hershey Park without a hotel reservation. We arrived at Staybridge Suites at 1:30pm and went inside to look around. Monica was at the front desk checking someone in. We waited and asked if there was a 1 bedroom suite available and asked if we could take a look at the suite before committing. We looked at it and immediately booked a room. Monica was able to get us a great rate and allowed us to check in early in a room on the 4th floor.

The room was very clean and the AC was already on when we entered the room. The AC was also very quiet, the hotel we stayed in last year had an AC unit that was really, really loud so I had trouble sleeping. The living room area had a loveseat which is also a sofabed, chair, TV and DVD player and coffee table. The kitchen area which is right off the living room had a counter with bar stools, refrigerator, microwave, two electric burners, dishwasher, dishes, cups, glasses, cutlery, pots and plans, coffee maker and a toaster. Bedrooms had two double beds, TV, DVD players, good sized closets. Bathroom had plenty of towels and toilet paper.

There is free hot and cold breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, corn dogs, oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, muffins, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cold cereal, bran flakes and fruit loops for the kids, yogurt, french toast and the best part of breakfast was the make your belgium waffles with all the topping. Of course there were plenty of juices and coffee. Breakfast starts at 6:30am and ends at 9am. We went down to eat at 8:15am and there was still plenty of food left. Kids loved the waffles, but the bacon went fast so if you want it get there early. There is also a free buffet guest dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. We did not find the dinner appealing to our taste, but appreciated the offer.

The area is very quiet, even though it is right off the highway, so we all slept well. We did wish the beds were queen instead of double, but it was fine, just our preference. The room gets a little cold at night so we turned off the AC. The kids took a swim in the heated pool, there is also a small fitness room right off the pool if you have the time to exercise. We washed our dirty clothes in free washer and dryer, we just had to buy the laundry detergent.

Hershey Park was only 20 minutes and downtown Harrisburg was 8 minutes away, where we found some great Sushi at Miyako on N. 2nd Street.

We were there for two nights and overall we were very, very happy with our stay. We loved the suite, clean rooms, the separate room, two televisions, full kitchen, staff was friendly, appreciated the free breakfast and dinner and free laundry. The staff was not overwhelming and left us alone, which we really liked and accommodating when we needed help. Next time, we do intend to cook so we will come prepared. Thank you Monica for hooking us up with a great room and a great, stress free stay. This is an great hotel for families, we will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask if you can preview a room before booking. I would stay in the Upper floors as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed with our two children and visited Hershey Park, Dutch Wonderland and the Amish area. We did not mind the hotel was about 45 minutes from the attractions because it was pretty new, they had free breakfast and it was very reasonably priced. The hotel was clean, staff friendly and was easy on and off the highway. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Having the kitchen was great and everything is spotless. Pets are allowed at this hotel so I guess if you are allergic it isn't a good choice. You would never know the pets were there except actually seeing them. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilS580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I had traveled into Harrisburg PA, on a business visit. I had chosen to stay at the Staybridge suites. Lovely place. Clean rooms, fantastic service, free breakfast , manager's ball on week days , has a fantastic heated pool, gym, business center, and all at a very very competitive rates. The place is near the community college and over looking the towns farmers market and is very very near to the town center shopping area.

Room Tip: Just talk to Cathy, for your room preferences. And ask for a Business traveler discount she would de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gowthaman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just returned from our 3 night stay and I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. First thing we were so happy they accepted pets at a decent price.Check in took about 5 minutes and we checked in early even. There were 4 of us so we got the suite with 2 double beds and mini kitchen,room was spotless and clean,bathroom was fine no problems. The breakfast was good but get there early you will be fighting a crowd. We utilized the outdoor patio at night for drinks and cards. It was an excellent hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have never stayed at this line of hotel and was pleasantly surprised! All the staff were courteous and helpful, and check in took about 3 minutes.
The lobby is warm and relaxing, and is clean. All the rooms have suites with a full kitchen (full fridge with freezer, stovetop, dishwasher, dishes, full sink, etc.). This is great for a traveling family! In addition, there is a place in the lobby that sells a few microwave meals and snacks so a run to the convenience store can be avoided.
The complimentary breakfast in the off-lobby area is among the best we have seen at any of these type of "breakfast included" hotels.
It is about 20 minutes from Hershey park and less than 10 minutes from downtown Harrisburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our family stayed here on our visit to Herhsey. We booked the 2 bedroom suite and it was spacious and clean. The full kitchenand two full bathrooms was a great bonus. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast which had the standard waffles, eggs and sausage along with cereals, fruit, yogurt and breads. The manager's reception was also a nice welcome. They had Taco night when we were there, along with complimentary wine and beer. When we checked in, we received a small bag that contained water, a drink mix and a cookie which was a nice surprise. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool. The chlorine smell was very intense for me and I had to leave the kids with my husband for a bit to get fresh air. The laundry facitlity and gym was located next to the pool. Overall, it was a great hotel and I would recommend it to friends visiting the area who wouldn't mind the drive to Hershey. I only gave the one star rating for the restaurant only because there were no restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohana04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We went to Penn. for a get away for our "37th Anniversary". Great room, very friendly staff, wonderful breakfast. We felt very safe and secure while staying there. Great place to stay! The hotel was easy to get too and easy to move from place to place. Families with children would enjoy how easy it would be to get to places of interest. I enjoyed all the near shopping malls and hubby enjoyed getting to farming places to look for machines. Many places around to grab a quick bite or for a dinner. The breakfast was very good. Staff had it filled and refilled when it became low . Coffee and cream was real and very good. If the staff saw you looking for something, they would quickly ask if they could help. Great idea for social gatherings provided if you would like.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
2.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 51 in Harrisburg
1,154 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Harrisburg

Address: 920 Wildwood Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17110-2921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#7 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#13 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £83 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Harrisburg 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Staybridge Suites Harrisburg, PA is a new all suite hotel located only minutes from Downtown Harrisburg, The Outlets at Hershey, Harrisburg State Capitol Complex and Hershey Park Stadium as well as the Harrisburg International Airport MDT. As an extended stay hotel, stay for a few nights or a few months you will find all the conveniences of home at our hotel. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium cable television, DVD player and HBO movies. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax in our library with your favorite book. Don t forget to stop by our Pantry where you can pick up a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing