We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness we didn't pay much for the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec
2 reviews
“Thank goodness we didn't pay much for the room.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We rented the room through Hotwire. The price was ridiculouslh low so I'm not surprised by the general state of the hotel. The bed was clean and the shower functional. I guess that's all I should have expected. The overall cleanliness of the common areas is terrible. Disgustingly dirty carpets, especially in the breakfast area. Would not go back even for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acapella1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    171
    94
    40
    40
See reviews for
224
115
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I know La Quinta recently purchased this property. They try with the La Quinta touches, the free breakfast, the nice beds, flat screen TVs in the rooms, friendly staff. The property "feels" like La Quinta but the hotel itself is worn out. The carpets in the hallways and rooms are old, you will need to wear socks. I know this grosses some people out. I did save about $40 staying here versus the property just north of Hershey Park. The drive to Hershey is about 30 minutes, not bad if you want to save some money. Plus it's located near shops and restaurants.

They need to gut a floor at a time replacing the carpet and walls. If you factor in the savings, then most will give this hotel 4 stars, but they really needs new carpets, or it will stay at 3. For example, after visiting Hershey, I traveled back to Bensalem PA and stayed at a newer HI Express and this hotel was brand new, what a difference. I would call this hotel a "dive" and I hope they gut it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice place to stay. Close to good food and airport. Easy to find and navigate. For a very reasonable price, we had a nice room with large flat screen TV, reliable/fast/free Internet, very comfortable beds, and free breakfast including the now-popular waffle makers. The room was quiet overnight even with near-by highways (we did have the AC unit fan on so this may have helped). Was it 5-star? No, but we did not stay here for vacation. It was very comfortable and I would not hesitate to stay here again. For a business or similar quick trip, it is a fine option.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine120866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here one night during for a near-by college visit. I got the place through HotWire so I did not know the hotel until I had already paid. HotWire had it at 2.5 stars.

For a very reasonable price, we had a nice room with large flatscreen TV, reliable/fast/free Internet, very comfortable beds, and free breakfast including the now-popular waffle makers.
The room was quiet overnight even with near-by highways (we did have the AC unit fan on so this may have helped).

Was it 5-star? No, but we did not stay here for vacation. It was very comfortable and I would not hesitate to stay here again. For a business or similar quick trip, it is a fine option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daopenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

hotel was very dirty and the rugs were gross, my wife would not walk around barefoot. we were asked about smoking or no smoking and i asked for non smoking, when we got the 3rd floor you could cut the smoke with a knife. we had to open the window and put a towel under the door to keep the smoke out. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL. very old and out dated.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank riartwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have stayed in many Laquinta hotels. This one rates somewhere in the middle. People who worked there were nice. Room was adequate. Things are older in the hotel. Carpets are drabby in the halls and it is dirty in the door ways and hallways. The vending machine area was quite dirty with long ago spilled sodas with dirt caked on the floor. It was gross. Not sure why a hotel doesn't spend anytime cleaning their entrances. Also the elevator rug was really dirty and needed to be vacuumed as well.

Overall the room was okay. There was food crumbs around the chair and night table, food spilled on ottoman that wasn't cleaned up. The rug was new, but it is a cheap rug and all you can smell is the rubber backing.

Anyway it was quiet and the morning breakfast was their standard fare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is fairly easy to find and is close to the airport. It is on a hill and many of the parking spots are a little steep, so beware if you drive a stickshift. Oh, there were lots of people here with dogs as well. No real barking issues, but know that there will be people with dogs walking all over the property and in the halls. It seemed almost like there were more dogs than people here.

The hotel itself is pretty dated. The tiny breakfast room did not have the seating capacity to come even close to handling the number of guests who wanted breakfast, which consisted of a couple of waffle makers and dried cereal. There is a very good diner just down the road that will get you a quick breakfast at a decent price.

The room was noisy and I could hear kids running down the hall upstairs. Luckily they calmed down at night, but the soundproofing here is not very good. My bed was way too soft (meaning not supportive), and the pillows were flimsy and also non-supportive. The wireless network at the hotel did not allow my iPad to connect to it.

I don’t think I’d stay here again, nor would I recommend it. There are plenty of other hotels in the area, and I think that even paying a little bit more would have been a good idea in this case. The staff was very friendly, but the hotel itself needs a serious makeover and some better room furniture. This is the second La Quinta I’ve ever stayed at, and the first one was much nicer. I should have looked at the reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK-in-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Address: 990 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#13 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Harrisburg Airport/Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
La Quinta Hershey
La Quinta Harrisburg
Harrisburg La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing