We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own private pool!”
Review of Inn of the Dove

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn of the Dove
Ranked #3 of 7 Harrisburg B&B and Inns
burlington, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Our own private pool!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband recently surprised me with a trip to the Inn of the Dove. I was quickly enchanted by the view of the room when I saw that we had a nice sized jacuzzi and a beautiful fireplace (found out later that it was electric which was a little sad). THEN we found the private pool and I fell in love! After we went swimming and tested out the jacuzzi, we headed to the spacious double showers... I felt like they spared no expense when planning this floorplan. I loved it!

There are only a few small issues that caused me to hesitate with giving it a 5:
1.) as noted earlier, the fireplace was electric which took away from the ambiance
2.) the mattress was not comfortable at all
3.) the pool was clean and warm but I felt like a little more could be done in preventative maintenance (cracked walls, rusty ceiling ventilation, and other VERY MINOR things).

The experience was awesome. I recommend the Inn of the Dove for anyone interested in a unique bed and breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private pool! Definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your reviews about Inn of the dove,Harrisburg.We are pleased to learn that
you had the best experience during your stay in the room with the private indoor pool.
Just for information,all individual cottages have real wood burning fireplace while pool suite
has an electric one.We appreciate all your suggestion and thankful for your recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanking you
Inn of the dove
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    37
    9
    18
    69
See reviews for
2
123
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I needed a getaway so we went to the Inn of the dove. It has changed since we were there 3 or 4 years ago seems they have new owners who are very nice people. The price is cheaper and the rooms are better. The rooms were clean and comfy. We had a great relaxing time. We brought our own logs for the fireplace they were the same they sold at the office. They burned well and added to the romantic atmosphere. We really enjoyed the hot tub, the mirrors on the wall and above the bed. It was a romantic and restful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to share your wonderful feed back with us.We are pleased to learn that you
had a great experience during your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanking you,
manager
Inn of the dove,Harrisburg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

loved the Jacuzzi

It was my husbands birthday and decided to stay at Inn of the Dove.Dove is a perfect place for romantic stay.We had a standard room and still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
My room was clean and bed was comfy.I enjoyed whirlpool tub and fire place....of course mirrors on the wall.Plenty of places to eat locally.We had dinner at Olive garden and relaxed ourselves.It is a great place for a special occasion and to get close to each other.I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.We are delighted to know that you enjoyed at Inn of the Dove.We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanking you
Inn of the Dove
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My husband and I spent only one night in this hotel and frankly one night was all we needed. The check in was nice and easy. We bought a log from the front desk which is a little pricey, so we tried burning our own wood. However, we found when we burned our own wood there was a weird smell that came from the fireplace. Nothing to crazy or anything that prevented us from having a good time.

We stayed in the basic deluxe suite and you get what you pay for, but the value it was a wonderful room. It served its purpose which was reconnecting with my husband. The whirlpool is great! It can absolutely fit two people without a problem. A word of caution, only use a cap full of bubbles at the most because the jets create a lot themselves. The double shower heads and bench in the shower are great and very relaxing. The room is pretty big for a regular sized hotel room. The mirrors on the ceiling are very useful as well as the mirrors by the whirlpool. Yes it is a corny place to stay because you are able to turn on the tv and watch adult movies, and some of the decorations are outdated, but when going to a place like this you are there to reconnect with your significant other and this is a great place to do it. The value is great for what you get, the time together is wonderful. We will be visiting other Inn of the Dove properties.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is good for the value, check different days because prices change for the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for taking time to share your wonderful feedback with us.We are delighted to know that you had a very good week end at Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanking you
Inn of the dove
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I went for my anniversary to Inn of the Dove,Harrisburg.All I can say that we had a great time.it was clean and bed was comfortable.
I loved double shower head and jacuzzi was big enough to fit both of us.and ....best part was wood burning fire place.Sitting by the fire
with your loved one is great.
Over all let me tell you.Dove is an excellent choice for that special night away with your loved one.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We always appreciate feedback from our valued guest.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed at Inn of the dove,Harrisburg.We look forward to
welcoming you back on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Dove Beach suite for the weekend and we had a wonderful time! The staff was very nice greeting us and the room was clean, tidy and inviting. The private pool was heated and very clean. We had menus in our room of different restaurants in the area that delivered so we didn't have to leave at all. The stay was very relaxing and it was nice getaway. I would absolutely recommend staying here! Even though it was just an overnight trip I would do it again in a heartbeat. We WILL be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to share the details of your recent experience about Inn of the dove,Harrisburg.We are pleased to learn that you had a great experience during your stay with us.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

The room was very spacious, great surprise with the fireplace an everything. Great birthday gift. IT WAS AWESOME. If u want privacy go here. No need for room service or anything, would've stayed longer. Perfect get away, good front desk courtesy and very reasonable prices. We are coming back very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoveH, Manager at Inn of the Dove, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking time to share your wonderful feedback with us.The staff and management is delighted to know that you had the best experience at Inn of the dove,Harrisburg.We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
3.1 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#31 of 50 in Harrisburg
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#37 of 50 in Harrisburg
270 reviews
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Inn of the Dove

Property: Inn of the Dove
Address: 2225 Kohn Road, Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of the Dove 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn of the Dove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Dove Hotel Harrisburg
Inn Dove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing