We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could of been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel had really drove off a cliff since we were there years ago when it was owned by Best Western. The hot tub was broken and had been drained with green water at the bottom! The rooms were dated with no flat screen tvs, and the outlet look like it short circuited and could not be used! The location was alright. About 20 min from Herhsey Park. When they took over they could of put effort into fixing the Hotel up. Try to avoid if possible!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolas1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Hershey Park for eight years and have never stayed in a worse hotel.Our room stunk, it felt damp and moldy. The heat lamp in the bathroom was exposed and had no lightbulb in it. The toilet kept clogging. There was no water pressure and the tub was falling apart. The electrical outlet near the air conditioner was broken and looked like it had caught on fire at some point so we had no lamp on that side of the room. Our door card wouldn't work. The pool was a greenish and the hot tub was empty and had about 6 inches of slime in tje bottom of it, yet they still advertise having a hot tub. The help didn't seem that bad but we didn't really see anyone around. Awful experience Choice Hotels should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adevi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Everything was terrible staff have bad attitude room smelled terrible the toilet was clogged with crap we complained staff wanted to just clean it up instead of switching rooms I demanded to have a different room so they gave us a different room it had an unpleasant moldy smell the shower barely had water pressure barely any hot water hallway smelled like cigarettes the coffee maker was next to the toilet that hotel is in definite need in upgrades

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosatati2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My family was on vacation and we had just driven 500 miles and was anxious to get to our room. When we entered our room, the smell was terrible. We soon found out the room did not have any wifi, and the front desk did not have any ether cords. The attitude was very poor. Then latter that night our room was invaded with ants! We had scheduled two nights, but checked out early in the morning. I actually made a reservation for the next night at 1:00Am because of the problems we experienced. In the morning, we did not have any water pressure and the water was cold, so much for a shower!! Again when I went to the front desk, their attitude was very indifferent. So stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redeamed82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I realize the new owners took over a distressed property--and they are trying but need to do a little better on cleaning the bathrooms the tub surround as well as the shower curtain had mold on them. The air conditioner did not work well the first night--we told the front desk and it was fixed for the second night

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklockSaintMarysPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Have stayed at other hotels with similar or better value, but this one was the worst. We rented three rooms for our extended family for three nights, and this is a summary of all three rooms.
1. Tub water was dirty, and the toilet kept getting clogged.
2. Sheets were all over the place when we came back to the room around 5 pm, as if someone had left in the middle of cleaning. Waited patiently after being told we were next, but had to still go get them an hour later after no one came.... apparently, they had forgotten,
3. Worst of all, my expensive perfume was stolen. I left the perfume out of my bag in a hurry, but when I came back, it was gone. I should have been more careful, yes, but they still should not have stolen in the first place.
4. AC was not working properly in all of the rooms.
Please choose a different place for a similar value, this was not a good experience.

Room Tip: Just go elsewhere, and keep an eye on your stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I got a good deal on this as I was driving home to Pittsburgh from Newark after an international flight and wanted to drive half way. I had booked this in advance and arrived at 6pm. Mine and many other rooms had not yet been cleaned although the hotel was booked solid. Anyway, the front desk was very nice and gave me the keys to my room. Well, like others I got to my room and it was filthy. The bed had not been changed. Towels on the floor, chewing tobacco in the waste cans and a couch that looked like it came from a frat house. i went down to the desk and to their credit they gave me another room with no trouble when I pointed out the problems. with the room. That room was very nice, although the coffee maker was there, but the coffee pot was missing. I would have given the experience a "Poor" but for the breakfast. The people running this were brilliant. They were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure everyone was taken care of i a very good way. This and the service at the front desk saved the day. However, the dirty room was a definite turn off. While I appreciate that they made right the problems and had a good breakfast, I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book that they have the room ready at 3pm as they are supposed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugachev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Comfort Inn Riverfront
#32 of 51 in Harrisburg
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#35 of 51 in Harrisburg
285 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#27 of 51 in Harrisburg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 150 Nationwide Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9746 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: £45 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides warm and inviting accommodations close to Hershey themed park. We are minutes from popular attractions including: National Civil War Museum,Gettysburg Battle field,Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course,Lancaster's Amish Country,Pennsylvania's state capital, Harrisburg offers a number of interesting things to see and do. Outdoor recreation areas are aplenty thanks to the Susquehanna River that provides a natural barrier for this thriving area. Whether you want to explore history or peruse a cornucopia of cultural offerings, this region provides the perfect backdrop for exploring the Keystone State. Our amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access,Free local calls,free parking,free coffee in the lobby,Seasonal outdoor pool,and exercise room.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Clarion Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat,yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal,including your choice of hot waffle flavors!Corporate travelers will appreciate access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 35 guests.All guest rooms are furnished with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Ask about our rooms that have kitchen facilities with microwaves and refrigerators, whirlpool bathtubs and sofa sleepers. A picnic area and laundry facilities are on-site. Ample parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles.This Clarion Inn & Suites supports green hotel practices.The Clarion Inn & Suites hotel is a great place to stay during your next visit or business trip to the Harrisburg/ Hershey area. We are close to many attractions and offer great service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Plaza Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Harrisburg
Harrisburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing