We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a typical Candlewood hotel. Nothing fancy. Would have been a higher rating if the room was cleaner. Looked clean on first look but it wasn't. Very quick check-in. Mattresses leave a lot to be desired. Took me a few hours to straighten up in the morning. Would I stay here again? Yes, if it's for 1 night. Location couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepuntacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear ilovepuntacana,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I am truly sorry that our level of cleanliness fell below your expectations. I apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, I am glad that you were satisfied with most of the features provided.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    74
    31
    10
    16
See reviews for
87
63
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just recently a couple of my friends got together to visit Hershey Park(8/8/13). We booked two non-smoking rooms queen bed suits. Everything seemed to be alright until we got into our rooms. Well, the non-smoking rooms that we booked were defiantly smoking rooms, it smelt like one big ash tray! We then when downstairs and spoke with Venessa and she basically did nothing, just told us that the hotel was booked and we couldn't switch rooms and our money could not be refunded to us! We ended up staying and waking up every morning with headaches and sore throats. This was a horrible experience, I pray that you take this advice and stay away. Candle wood suits is far from a place you want to stay, poor customer service. Furthermore, our shower did not drain properly and ended up turning into a bath! They should rethink their policy of smoking within, it destroys your hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslinkosky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear mslinkosky21,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our deepest apology for the experience you had with the room accommodations you received and the service you encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family was booked to stay 4 nights and we simply could not take it after the third. We had to check out early and find another place. First, the hotel would not move my family to a nonsmoking room even though I have 2 small children. They said their were no rooms but I myself heard people coming in off the street and getting a nonsmoking room even without having a reservation. Secondly, the shower made a squealing noise and went from hot to cold water constantly. Thirdly, the A/C unit stopped working at night and the room became very hot.
This hotel absolutely did not meet typical Priority Club standards and families should find another place to stay in Harrisburg.
You can read my other reviews of other places we tried out of desperation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear PeterL23,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We appreciate you helping us improve our guest services.

I sincerely apologize for the room condition did not meet your expectations and truly sorry for you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up.

Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was a great stop over from a long trip. The room was very clean! Kitchen area was well equipped for a suite and allowed cooking of several meals, as well as popcorn waiting to be popped and dishwasher for clean up. There is excellent shopping and grocery stores within 2 miles. The bed was okay, but not super comfy. Pillows were the worst part, need to upgrade. Nice pool. The hotel accommodates pets. AC was a bit noisy and there was even a slight mountain view on the backside of the hotel.It is pricey. is there any hotel that is perfect?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Festival G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm staying while working in the area and it's great!! The staff is helpful and very friendly. I love the pool & hot tub. The laundry room is great. I will stay here again. I love having a kitchen in the room and being able to cook my own meals. There are a number of resturants & stores near by for shopping or dining out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with our scout troop on a trip to Hershey Park. Just a quick drive to the park. We had a room with a kitchen, which gave us the chance to do breakfast at the hotel and snacks to save money. Pool was great. We swam both days. Small convenience store on site was a nice surprise for us. Things priced reasonable too.
Facility was clean. Outside area near pool lovely place to sit and relax.
I think if you stay here you may need to be prepared for some groups with kids. While we were there there were a couple of large groups. One evening we had kids doing a knock and run on our door after 10:30pm.
I would stay here again if visiting Hershey Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hotel is in good shape and a good location. The biggest issue on our trip was getting into the hotel. The main intersection at the main entrance to the hotel is totally closed for major road construction with no detour signs. Not the fault of the hotel of course but it leaves a bad taste in your mouth when it is a big challenge finding an alternate back way into the place. Once found you are ok in and out for the rest of your stay. Friendly and helpful staff with clean comfortable rooms. Nice small kitchen. Pretty basic, nothing flashy but ok for a night or two. About 25 minutes to Hershey Park area.
Hopefully road construction will be done soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougGroveCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear DougGroveCity,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. It is also good to know that you found the rooms comfortable. However, we are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience in locating our property. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#27 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Address: 504 N Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, where comfort and guest satisfaction are our primary goals. We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 just minutes from Hershey Park and Hershey's Chocolate World as well as the Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Track. A short drive to the south is downtown Harrisburg and our quiet suburban property is within 2 miles of multiple restaurants and shopping centers, and is an easy drive to PA Dutch country. Our all suite extended stay hotel is built for comfort. Our rooms are the ultimate suites for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your extra large executive desk with high-speed Internet and speaker phone. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD Player. Borrow your favorite movie or CD from our lending library. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, relax in our indoor heated pool & spa and take advantage of the complimentary laundry facility. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices at the Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing