We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient Value”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was nice to be in a suite with a self-service food area in the lobby. The location had easy access to major roads during a snowy winter weekend and I would stay there again. The bathroom was really large and the kitchen had a full-sized refrigerator and dishwasher.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant or room service but I didn't need it with everything is close driving di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank slsolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for staying with us, hopefully next time the weather will be a little more welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    75
    32
    11
    17
See reviews for
92
65
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I travel for work all the time, across the US, so I've been to a LOT of 2 and 3 star (and a few 5 star!) hotels by now. This hotel is right up there in solid comfort and amenities, and has a very nice and friendly staff. I got a studio room with a marble surface kitchenette, wonderful for a 3-week stay: cupboards, sink (a bit small) 2 burners, pots, pans, plates, silverware, kitchenware, (coffeemaker), full refrigerator and--a toaster and dishwasher--with soap! The desk chair was comfy and the tv was a new flatscreen. They also have a dvd player attached to the tv, if you want to bring your own movies, or borrow the ones in their library. The tile by the kitchen was nice, the carpet in the room was feet-friendly. The closet was really deep and included a laundry basket! Room for lots of luggage and clothes. The bathroom was modern and clean; the bath had the rounded shower curtain rod that means you get more room to shower than if it hangs flat. Fluffy soft towels, too. And you don't have to endure room service every day. The other really nice thing about the room was that--despite the onset of winter cold (snow!)--it stayed warm without much fooling around with the heater. These things may not seem like a lot, but the absence of any ONE of them can make for a miserable stay.

And the staff were always friendly and helpful, even when there was a mixup with the room cleaning--they fixed it right away.

I also had a pretty view out the back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarianH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one, and that you had a chance to take advantage of all of our amenities! Thank You so much for writing a review of our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

nice thing about these hotels is that they can be pretty empty on weekends(in the winter), as a lot of the weekly stay folks can head home. was traveling with 2 dogs, and they had plenty of room to play after a day of travel. it's also nice having the pantry where you can pick up a snack if you like. only issue i had was a slow bathtub drain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thugsdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review! But please don't keep us a secret, we want everyone to know what a great hotel we are!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I needed a room on short-notice and thought I'd try the Candlewood Suites, as it was close to where I wanted to be.

Walking to the elevator on the first floor, I was pleasantly surprised to see a decent size pool and small exercise room. My room was equipped with two beds, a small kitchenette, and a decent sized bathroom. The room was OK, but nothing special, in regard to comfort, size and amenities. My only complaint is that it was easy to hear the people in the adjacent room in the morning. I'm guessing that the walls are not too well insulated or sound-proofed.

If you're looking for an inexpensive hotel located not far from Harrisburg and Hershey, then Candlewood Suites is an option to consider.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities for us to improve. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us, and we will utilize this feedback to help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliquippa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First got there told I had a smoke free room. Room reeked of cigarette smoke. I was given a new room and the new room had a stale moldy smell. My parents who stayed two doers down room smelled pleasant and had an air freshener. My room did not. Their room came with a bottle of water mine did not. I had two beds in my room only one had a blanket on it and the tool overall was just dingy. The beds are. It comfortable and neither are the pillows. This is the second time I have stayed at this location. The first time they were out of shampoo and this time our room was on the dirty side. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pear61cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. Our team works very hard to take care of each and everyone of our guests, and I will address your comments with my team. Comments made by you and others are important to our success and they are always used to create a better place to stay.. Please contact me directly at ryan.mcquaide@dellisart.com and I will gladly try to rectify any of the problems that you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I had a confirmed reservation. After travelling 23 hours by air from Australia... And then driving 6 hours (on the "wrong " side of the road)....from New York... Imagine how shocked and disappointed I was to find upon arriving at 1700hrs to check in .....that my room had been given away... And there was no room for me... I could find my own way down the road to somewhere else.... I guess confirmed has a different definition in the US..... No apology.... No assistance offered... Not impressed !

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I am sorry to hear the issues that you had during your stay, and I apologize for the inconvenience you had with your reservation.
Your experience is not reflective of the high standards that we pride ourselves with. We always aim to deliver world class service and with this in mind, your comments will certainly be looked into and improvements will be made where possible. Unfortunately there are rare situations where the hotel can become oversold, and we need to relocate guests to another hotel. In your case we set up a reservation with a nearby hotel and also offered to pay for the stay as the issue was due to no fault of your own. I am terribly sorry that such a situation arose and that we did not live up to your expectations. and I will be personally reaching out to you and your company in hopes of resolving this to your satisfaction.

Thank You,
Ryan McQuaide
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarentum, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Have stayed at this candlewood for many years while attending the PA Ride Safety Seminar. Property is always very clean and in great condition. Staff is always very cheerful and willing to help. The are one of the few properties that recognize me as a Platinum member at check in and also have a welcome home gift for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmc15084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We must be doing something to right to keep you coming back every time! We're especially glad to hear you mention the extra effort we put into acknowledging IHG Rewards Platinum members, as we always try our best to make sure you know how special you are! Hope to see you again next year and thanks again for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
217 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Address: 504 N Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-2368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, where comfort and guest satisfaction are our primary goals. We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 just minutes from Hershey Park and Hershey's Chocolate World as well as the Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Track. A short drive to the south is downtown Harrisburg and our quiet suburban property is within 2 miles of multiple restaurants and shopping centers, and is an easy drive to PA Dutch country. Our all suite extended stay hotel is built for comfort. Our rooms are the ultimate suites for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your extra large executive desk with high-speed Internet and speaker phone. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD Player. Borrow your favorite movie or CD from our lending library. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, relax in our indoor heated pool & spa and take advantage of the complimentary laundry facility. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices at the Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing