We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
212 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had a great stay here...front desk person was super friendly... My only complaint would be the refrigerator noise woke me up all night...not used to having it so close to my bed!!! The bed and pillows were very comfortable ....easy access off I 80....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for the great review LuckyLou! Yes, it can take a little bit of getting used to have a refrigerator in the room, but its well worth it for your stay. We hope to see you again soon, and as always, we are delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    72
    31
    10
    16
See reviews for
86
61
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at an IHG hotel. The staff was friendly which is always a positive. We travel very often and had just come from a Spring Hill Suites the previous night. There are a few little items lacking here, and one big one! No suitcase racks is very poor when you are staying one night and not unpacking, no safe in the room,and not having a pet dedicated area made it very hard for us, due to our allergies.the big item is no breakfast which almost all the chains include! Just as an aside, because the property is new the towels are in decent shape unlike at the aforementioned hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg. All Candlewood Suites do not have a breakfast program, but what we offer in its place is the Candlewood Cupboard where we have numerous breakfast items for sale 24 hours a day. We hope that you will try out all of the IHG brands and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend in Harrisburg for a family wedding in February. Our stay at the Candlewoood was excellent. Our room was spotless. The floor was quiet. And, the bed was very comfortable. Management and the front desk personnel were informative, courteous and very personable. Our every need was met beyond expectation. Kudos to the staff at Candlewood!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcq361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for all the kind words and we hope you enjoyed the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Candlewood Suites are set up for extended stays with rooms that include kitchenettes. Full size fridges, microwaves, cooktops, dishes and pots, etc.

This property is new and it shows. Everything is clean and in good repair and the rooms are very comfy. I'd love to have a reason to spend two or three days in one.

The desk staff is very friendly, but not particularly professional in the way I would normally expect at a hotel. Very casual.

There's no breakfast served, but that's not the model they are going for....remember there are kitchenettes in the rooms. They have a good selection of fairly priced convenience foods.

The pool area looked very good but I didn't use it.

They are dog-friendly (with a fee) and that's why I chose them. I'm glad I did and I will stay there again if in the area....with or without a dog. They keep things clean.

My only suggestion would be to get the lobby looking a bit more professional.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow, but a high up room will be quietest. In the winter there is no road noise with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking time out of your day. Our hotel is not a "typical" hotel....some things you come to expect at a hotel (breakfast for example) is something we allow you to do at your own pace. We try to treat your room as if it was your home away from home during your stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you for a little bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Ooops and it's on me. I had forgotten that they do not offer breakfast. We had food with us so it was OK. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. I always appreciate a fridge and suites like amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooselymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We may not have a full breakfast but we make sure to always have plenty of breakfast items available to our guests in the Candlewood Cupboard. Thank you for taking a few minutes to review your hotel and we're glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a water pipe break in our home during the recent cold spell. The water had to be shut off temporarily in our home so we needed a place to spend the night. This hotel is not far from our home and I had passed it many times. I called and asked for a suite as at that time I did not know how long we would be out of our home and I did not want to live in one room if it were going to be several days. We had a very comfortable suite with separate bedroom and bathroom and a living room and full kitchen that was separated by a great work station/table. Both my husband and I had a good night's sleep in a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was spotless as were the towels and bedding. Staying here was a great experience and I will reccommend this property to family and friends.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 602Joanne2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We're so sorry to hear about the damage to your home, but glad we were able to help you out in your time of need! Hopefully next time we see you it will be under better circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was nice to be in a suite with a self-service food area in the lobby. The location had easy access to major roads during a snowy winter weekend and I would stay there again. The bathroom was really large and the kitchen had a full-sized refrigerator and dishwasher.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant or room service but I didn't need it with everything is close driving di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank slsolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thanks for staying with us, hopefully next time the weather will be a little more welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Address: 504 North Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, where comfort and guest satisfaction are our primary goals. We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 just minutes from Hershey Park and Hershey's Chocolate World as well as the Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Track. A short drive to the south is downtown Harrisburg and our quiet suburban property is within 2 miles of multiple restaurants and shopping centers, and is an easy drive to PA Dutch country. Our all suite extended stay hotel is built for comfort. Our rooms are the ultimate suites for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your extra large executive desk with high-speed Internet and speaker phone. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD Player. Borrow your favorite movie or CD from our lending library. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, relax in our indoor heated pool & spa and take advantage of the complimentary laundry facility. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices at the Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing