We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Compared to the process of the hotels nearest to Hershey, Candlewood offered us a great alternative. It was only about 15 mins from the park and was close to many choice to eat and shop. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable and the entire family said they would like to go back next time we visit the area. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    71
    31
    10
    16
See reviews for
86
60
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time staying at a Candlewood Suites. We stayed 3 nights for ASA State Softball Tournament. The location was great. It was right off Interstate 81 and Route 22; close to everything but quiet and away from the traffic. The rate was rather affordable compared to other hotels in the area.
Pros:
*Savon, front desk employee, was excellent. She was always greeting everyone, smiling, positive, and very accommodating. Overall, front desk help was very good.
*Rooms were well appointed and very clean. The kitchen area was nice and had everything we needed, but I didn't really cook.
*Pool and Spa- Nice and Clean
*FREE week pass to LA Fitness 1 mile away.
*Parking is free and plentiful
Cons:
*Housekeeping services only available if you stay 7 days or more. One of the best parts about hotels is not having to make the bed.
*Two times at the pool- NO towels available.
*No breakfast- they do have the Candlewood Cupboard, but the breakfast selection was very minimal.
*Having to take dirty towels down to the front desk to exchange for clean ones and taking out my own trash! It is part of their policy, I am just not used to that at hotels.
* Onsite fitness center doesn't offer much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smsinger98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Than you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! We do hear that their first stay with a Candlewood Suites can be very different than their usual stays. Due to the fact that we are an Extended stay property we do have a few quirks that you may not see elsewhere. If there is anything at all you're not used to or just need some help please just ask and we will do whatever we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I love to stay at Hampton Inns, but we've been looking for less expensive alternatives. This is a good one in Harrisburg. Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff, decent amenities. Nice and quiet.

Room Tip: They'll give you a coupon for a treat from their mini-grocery. We almost overlooked it. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe58156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank You Joe! We hope that after your stay with us that you will give more Candlewood Suites a shot, there are now more than 300 hotels and i'm sure you'll find that we're all very accomodating to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had a great stay here...front desk person was super friendly... My only complaint would be the refrigerator noise woke me up all night...not used to having it so close to my bed!!! The bed and pillows were very comfortable ....easy access off I 80....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for the great review LuckyLou! Yes, it can take a little bit of getting used to have a refrigerator in the room, but its well worth it for your stay. We hope to see you again soon, and as always, we are delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at an IHG hotel. The staff was friendly which is always a positive. We travel very often and had just come from a Spring Hill Suites the previous night. There are a few little items lacking here, and one big one! No suitcase racks is very poor when you are staying one night and not unpacking, no safe in the room,and not having a pet dedicated area made it very hard for us, due to our allergies.the big item is no breakfast which almost all the chains include! Just as an aside, because the property is new the towels are in decent shape unlike at the aforementioned hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg. All Candlewood Suites do not have a breakfast program, but what we offer in its place is the Candlewood Cupboard where we have numerous breakfast items for sale 24 hours a day. We hope that you will try out all of the IHG brands and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend in Harrisburg for a family wedding in February. Our stay at the Candlewoood was excellent. Our room was spotless. The floor was quiet. And, the bed was very comfortable. Management and the front desk personnel were informative, courteous and very personable. Our every need was met beyond expectation. Kudos to the staff at Candlewood!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcq361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for all the kind words and we hope you enjoyed the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Candlewood Suites are set up for extended stays with rooms that include kitchenettes. Full size fridges, microwaves, cooktops, dishes and pots, etc.

This property is new and it shows. Everything is clean and in good repair and the rooms are very comfy. I'd love to have a reason to spend two or three days in one.

The desk staff is very friendly, but not particularly professional in the way I would normally expect at a hotel. Very casual.

There's no breakfast served, but that's not the model they are going for....remember there are kitchenettes in the rooms. They have a good selection of fairly priced convenience foods.

The pool area looked very good but I didn't use it.

They are dog-friendly (with a fee) and that's why I chose them. I'm glad I did and I will stay there again if in the area....with or without a dog. They keep things clean.

My only suggestion would be to get the lobby looking a bit more professional.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow, but a high up room will be quietest. In the winter there is no road noise with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking time out of your day. Our hotel is not a "typical" hotel....some things you come to expect at a hotel (breakfast for example) is something we allow you to do at your own pace. We try to treat your room as if it was your home away from home during your stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you for a little bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#27 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
5.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hershey
6.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Property: Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Address: 504 North Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, where comfort and guest satisfaction are our primary goals. We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 just minutes from Hershey Park and Hershey's Chocolate World as well as the Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Track. A short drive to the south is downtown Harrisburg and our quiet suburban property is within 2 miles of multiple restaurants and shopping centers, and is an easy drive to PA Dutch country. Our all suite extended stay hotel is built for comfort. Our rooms are the ultimate suites for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your extra large executive desk with high-speed Internet and speaker phone. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD Player. Borrow your favorite movie or CD from our lending library. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, relax in our indoor heated pool & spa and take advantage of the complimentary laundry facility. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices at the Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing