We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have fun while you learn something”
Review of Whitaker Center

Whitaker Center
Ranked #8 of 55 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Have fun while you learn something”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I took my children, ages 15, 10 and 10 to the Whitaker Center on a weekday, and each of them very much enjoyed the activities and exhibits there. Most enjoyed was the simulated hurricane booth (hilarious...and included in the price, unlike some other science museums I've been to that charge $2.00 and up), the build your own race car area, and the ageing computer. We stayed several hours and my children never got bored. We have been to several 'hands on' type museums such as this one and we really enjoyed The Whitaker Center. Definitely worth a stop on your itinerary!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ecrmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    27
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Solid science center, recently improved exhibits”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We have a membership here and go a few times a year. They are a solid, fun, hands-on science museum. Kids under 4 will spend most of their time in the play area, but older kids will like the rest of the exhibits.

Do check their schedule. They are closed Mondays, which is good to know before you go. Check, it may change.

Helpful?
Thank RoadTakenEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great for kids”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

we wernt to the Whitaker Center with my nephew during the Titanic Exhibit. He loved looking at the artifacts and when you got a ticket and to find out if you 'lived or died' in the disaster.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kkstirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Great place to explore with kids. Only IMAX theater in central Pa.

Helpful?
Thank Rupen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College PA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Science museum”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were heading to the philly area and took a side trip into Harrisburg since we are studying about Pennsylvania. One of our stops was the science museum in the Whitaker Center. We didn't get to see all of it but what we did see our kids loved. We were only in the first part but for a whole hour they were entertained by all of the interactive play in pretending to preform on stage and playing in an ambulance to watching how air works...Highly recommend a trip there if you can and they are also a part of the ASTC Passport Program. The one hard thing is trying to find the parking garage.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank scottaenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitaker Center also viewed

 

Been to Whitaker Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing