We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time.”
Review of Whitaker Center

Whitaker Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the most disappointing "science" center I have been to. Kids (4&5) ran through it in about 45 minutes and had to be forced to stay longer. Overpriced and a bore to children if all ages. On tip of that, downtown Harrisburg sucks. There is nothing to do for families, but head right to the car and get out of dodge. Do not waste your time, you have been warned.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank aorundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    58
    24
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool place to take the kids and entertain yourself at the same time.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our two families went here and had a blast. Great collection of material to see and most importantly interact with. Our kids were from 10-1 and they all had a great time. Parking could be a pain here but it is worth the stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crjdrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for adults and children”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Whitaker Science Centre was everyone's favorite on this trip. Although not very large the science center offers variety and fun activities for children of any age.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Teacher's Event Visit”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I visited the Whitaker Center with fellow teachers for a teacher's open house. It was a lot of fun. I've been there numerous times and found them all to be enjoyable and informative. I'm from Richmond, VA and they have a really great Science Museum. It seems like the Whitaker Center is somewhat on the small side, and after going a few times, you end up going through it quickly. I like a bigger place, like the one in Richmond, where the exhibits change frequently. It is a good time though, and when we do field trips, the kids really enjoy it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kelikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
351 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great place for all ages with lots to learn and do!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great place for families and children even teens and adults. It is reasonably priced and IMAX theater is a separate admission price, think we paid $24 for two IMAX tickets but it was well worth it. We didn't get food as it is very high priced. The artwork on the upstairs floor was beautiful and mostly local from those got to enjoy and the lower levels have the science center that's very enjoyable and educational. They have exhibits to hands on activities that explain weather, perception, sound and motion. Clean and well staffed close to a food court in the connected Strawberry Square. Parking garage located very close and elevator came right up to hallway leading to Whitaker center. Fun and great weekend adventure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanyasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitaker Center also viewed

 

Been to Whitaker Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing