We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Harrisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spotless, beautifully modernized while still having the original charm.. and very secure. Amazing Weston mattresses - fireplaces- huge showers with multiple heads. I have stayed twice and if I go back to Harrisburg- this is the only place I would stay. Highly recommend...its within walking distance to the PA State Capitol..with a view of the river. You have to book in advance- they only have four rooms.. all have en suite baths.

Room Tip: Get the Bryce-- 3 shower heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had a very nice experience from the time we arrived through the time we left. The parking lot has a secure gate that requires an access code to enter after hours. You also need an access code to gain entry into the building as well as entry into your room. I felt very safe here. The room has a very comfortable king size bed, a nice size flat screen TV, and a nice ceiling fan that helps with the air conditioning. There is a nice size bathroom with an excellent large double shower. There is a small kitchenette outside of the rooms that contain good homemade chocolate chip cookies, a Kreugeg coffee maker, and a small fridge. Breakfast was good and was served buffet style. The French toast was very tasty. There was also fruit, cereal, yogurt, orange juice, coffee and tea. The host was very cordial and friendly. We had a very good experience here and look forward to staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtcurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here on a stopover on our way to Pittsburg, and I had a delightful time. It was safe, clean, friendly and convenient. Free, gated parking is included, and rates are very reasonable, compared to other local hotels. Bruce the innkeeper was prompt,knowledgeable, and efficient. The hotel is just across the street from a nice little river walk where you might take in a sunrise or sunset on the river, or just enjoy the local architecture. Good restaurants are in easy walking distance too, and the Capitol building is a very worthy attraction and the 1/2 hour tours are free, and so worthwhile. Breakfast at the inn on the weekend we were there was more like a continental breakfast with some delicious homemade oat cake, fruit,and other standard continental fair. Book early, as senators often book here while congress is in session.

Room Tip: My room faced another building, but an angled window still allowed a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilbigwlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed only one night and wished we could've stayed longer. The room was comfortable, especially the bed! We stayed in the Bryce Room, and the view of the Susquehanna was beautiful. We appreciated Bruce's suggestions re: dinner. Service was great, and so was breakfast. We'll definitely stay here again whenever we come back to Harrisburg!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchGirl152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Charming welcome, well appointed room, comfortable bed, and oodles of charm. Much thought has gone into the details, make up removers, water in the fridge, the well supplied beverage station. If only all hotels were this good at this price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We arrived and were greeted by Bruce who immediately welcomed and showed us the locking keypad at the front door. Walked into this lovely B& B, I immediately felt at ease that this was a good choice. After paperwork, Bruce explained details to help us settle in. Earlier in the week, when the reservation was made, he listened carefully to our tastes and made a perfect suggestion for dinner that evening. We had rented the largest room and were very happy with it. It was a quiet night's sleep even though on a main road. The lights shining on the river across the street was a peaceful view to relax and wake up to. The bathroom shower was huge and such a treat. The bed, linens and alike were quite comfortable. Morning breakfast was simple but filling and we met the nicest young lady with whom to converse at the table. We were even able to walk to dinner as there are several close by restaurants. I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I often travel to Harrisburg for work and enjoy staying at City House when my visits are limited to 1-2 days. Because I travel quite a bit for work, I've developed a criteria list which City House caters to that includes:

1. A top floor room. All the guest rooms are on the top floor so you don't have anyone walking around above you in this beautifully well maintained old house.
2. Quiet and safe. Because there are only 4 guest rooms, there are never issues with a stampede out in the halls or running around at all hours. And although the wooden floors do creak a bit, I've never been bothered by hearing someone outside my room. There is an exterior gate that can be closed for completely secure parking, and while the neighborhood might seem initially kind of sketchy, I've never actually seen any weirdos around so I have always felt fairly safe.
3. Comfortable beds with soft pillows. Most hotels have pillows that are just too hard and firm, but City House has created a perfect blend of pillows on their super comfortable pillow-top king size beds. The sheets are also soft and smooth, so slipping into bed after a long day of meetings is always an amazing experience at City House.
4. Great showers with plenty of hot water and lots of water pressure. The showers never fail to deliver here!

I've stayed in both the William and Elizabeth rooms. While each has it's own unique feel, they are both outstanding options for business travel. My only major gripe is with the breakfast. Because I usually have a very early schedule, I have not gotten to sit with the other guests to enjoy the fresh breakfast, but have been very graciously provided a cold option that is always ready for me when I get up before the sun is up. Another minor gripe, but this is the reason that I only stay here during short trips, is that there is no access to the kitchen in the evenings which would be great for extended trips instead of having to dine out every night.

The B&B is located in a historic and scenic area of town, right across the river. The river provides an outstanding location to go for a brisk morning walk, but if you're concerned with the neighborhood (like I said, it does have some sketchy elements), the YMCA is located a block away and has something for everyone (pool, ball courts, weights, classes, etc).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river if you want a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whaltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
2 mi away
The Manor on Front Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn of the Dove
Inn of the Dove
#3 of 7 in Harrisburg
193 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 915 N Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17102-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisburg
Price Range: £94 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is located in the heart of Pennsylvania’s capital city, Harrisburg. Located along the banks of the picturesque Susquehanna River, this beautiful and charming urban retreat is handcrafted with fireplaces, stained glass, hardwood floors, and arched entryways. Enjoy the comfort of home with the convenience of a central city location.City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is designed for your relaxation and comfort. Enjoy the coziness of a crackling fire while resting in our spacious living room with lovely river views. Unwind from your day and relax with a cup of hot chocolate and a good book or tend to business details in a quiet, tranquil setting. Wake up to a guaranteed hot shower in your private, newly-renovated bath.Guests of City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg are within walking distance to the capital complex and the State Museum. We are also steps away from the downtown business district, which features a plethora of fine dining options, in addition to coffee shops and many art galleries, and the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts. Enjoy the best of downtown Harrisburg, a short stroll from City House bed and breakfast.It’s also just a short walk to City Island, which offers a variety of recreational activities, such as running, walking, biking, and in the summer months, kayaking and boating. City Island is also home to Metro Bank Park, where the local minor league baseball team, the Harrisburg Senators, play.City House bed and breakfast is a perfect resting spot after a business travelers’ long day. But pleasure travelers, parents of area college students, and relocating professionals also will find our accommodations suit their needs perfectly. We provide the services you require in the comfort you desire, a home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing