We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014 Wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrisburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Harrisburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our daughter had her wedding there and it was a wonderful experience from our first meeting with Eva to the last Sunday breakfast. The home is lovely and well cared for. Our wedding ceremony took place outside and we could not have asked for a more beautiful day. Eva was very helpful with suggestions and everything that was agreed on was honored. We are so glad that we selected City House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a great B&B! Lovely house in a great location---right across the street from a scenic walking/running/biking trail and only a few short blocks away from bars, restaurants, and nightlife---all within walking distance.

Eva was so friendly and accommodating and very welcoming.

Our room was extremely clean and the bed was SOOOO comfy! The shower was out of this world----HUGE and had 3 shower heads! Soap, shampoo, and conditioner were provided--rare for a B and B. We also took advantage of some of the common areas in the house---all of which were also very clean and nicely decorated.

There was a nice coffee/tea station on the second floor that also had some snacks available (cookies, granola bars) and we had access to a small refrigerator to store things if necessary.

We only stayed one night, but next time we are in town we will definitely be staying at the City House again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous house, very well appointed, sits along the Susquehanna River, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, really great bathrooms, on-site parking, friendly hostess, beautiful yard, nice location - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We rented the common areas of the City House for my daughter's wedding shower. After some thought, I decided to rent the rooms for guests coming in from out of town for the event. That would serve the dual purpose of not having to rush into setting up the next day. We were absolutely delighted with the accommodations. My niece said it was the most wonderful shower she ever had and we all enjoyed the mattresses and the aesthetic of being transported for the night to an earlier time when so much craftsmanship was put into making a home unique. Harrisburg can thank City House for restoring this lovely Riverfront home. Our wedding shower event "came off" wonderfully with the help of close friends and the wonderful touches of Eva, who is the innkeeper, baker, and breakfast maker extraordinaire!

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the river. I'm not sure of the other views. We were all pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What is there to say that hasn't already been said? I loved my stay at City House and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Harrisburg. I felt welcomed, at ease, and taken care of and couldn't ask for anything more in a B&B. Thank you so much to Eva for your friendliness and hospitality! Anyone would be lucky to have one of her baked treats, and the snack area upstairs was such a fun surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Beautiful old brick home in the heart of historic district; updated with clean, modern features while maintaining historic charm.
I stayed in the Helen room with a view of the river. The room had plenty of space, a beautiful view through french windows, comfortable king bed, and a huge shower. Breakfast was delicious: a hot egg dish each morning plus the regular breads, fruits, etc. Sarah the Innkeeper will sit & chat if you're so inclined. The common areas of this B&B are lovely: a large living room, intimate sitting room (with games & a t.v.) and a sunny enclosed porch.
Walking distance to the AMAZING state capitol building (DEFINITELY go here for a free tour!) and nice river trail.
One of the nicest B&B's I've ever seen.

Room Tip: All rooms are 2nd-story with no elevator. The Helen room is sunny & bright with two large windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

City House is a beautiful gem of a house right on the edge of downtown Harrisburg and along the Susquehanna River with it's park and river walk. It was so nice to drive into the private parking area at the back of the house, and know we had walking access to the Capital, restaurants and historic architecture of the city. A stroll along the river walk after breakfast was an added treat. City House is beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed having access to the living areas on the first floor for a relaxing evening. The refreshment bar located adjacent to the 4 bedrooms on the second floor was another thoughtful addition, with coffee, tea, snacks, microwave and fridge. The bed was most comfortable and the bedroom spacious and sparkling. The innkeeper, Sara, was a delightful hostess.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
2 mi away
The Manor on Front Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Inn of the Dove
Inn of the Dove
#3 of 7 in Harrisburg
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
11.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey), PA
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 915 N Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17102-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisburg
Price Range: £90 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is located in the heart of Pennsylvania’s capital city, Harrisburg. Located along the banks of the picturesque Susquehanna River, this beautiful and charming urban retreat is handcrafted with fireplaces, stained glass, hardwood floors, and arched entryways. Enjoy the comfort of home with the convenience of a central city location.City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is designed for your relaxation and comfort. Enjoy the coziness of a crackling fire while resting in our spacious living room with lovely river views. Unwind from your day and relax with a cup of hot chocolate and a good book or tend to business details in a quiet, tranquil setting. Wake up to a guaranteed hot shower in your private, newly-renovated bath.Guests of City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg are within walking distance to the capital complex and the State Museum. We are also steps away from the downtown business district, which features a plethora of fine dining options, in addition to coffee shops and many art galleries, and the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts. Enjoy the best of downtown Harrisburg, a short stroll from City House bed and breakfast.It’s also just a short walk to City Island, which offers a variety of recreational activities, such as running, walking, biking, and in the summer months, kayaking and boating. City Island is also home to Metro Bank Park, where the local minor league baseball team, the Harrisburg Senators, play.City House bed and breakfast is a perfect resting spot after a business travelers’ long day. But pleasure travelers, parents of area college students, and relocating professionals also will find our accommodations suit their needs perfectly. We provide the services you require in the comfort you desire, a home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing