We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This hotel smells bad from the momont you walk in. The bathrooms are small and rooms dingey. The staff was friendly and helpful but there must be something better for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aardvark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2009

After a long day on the road from Maine we were glad to have reservations at a hotel for the night to rest. I had reserved 2 rooms since we were a party of 7( 3 adults 4 kids.) On walking into the hotel I noticed that there was cinstruction underway a bit of dust about from that, This was not advertised when I made the reservations. The breakfast area was also under construction. Check in went quickly and the person at the desk was reasonably friendly. I could have sworn that this hotel was described as having a pool but when we arrived we were told no. That may have been my mistake or maybe it was under construction as well. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was OK no great shakes. We had to bring it back to our room due to cinstruction. Overall it a place to lay your head for the night

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamtinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Worse item: tub didn't drain while showering.
Best thing: Bed wasn't bad.
Other: Very little noise from outside, but doors opening and closing in the interior sounded like I had my door open!
TV offerings average. Sink faucet was either full blast or nothing until you fussed with it awhile.
Nice thing: When we searched for a room on their website. It said only 1 non-smoking, 1 queen bed room left, on first floor. I asked for a quite room away from the highway, in their comments section. When I arrived I was given a quite room on the second floor with a king bed for the same price. Staff were not over welcoming, and not especially friendly, but that's no big deal.
Observation: We left before the breakfast room opened, but as we left we saw only about a dozen cars or so, and this was New Year's Eve! Hmmm?
Summary: If you want just a place to sleep, not a bad choice, but if you are looking to be treated like a king with a great room, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MassachusettsGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

For the sake of brevity, I will omit the part about drunk guests and overly *ahem* amorous neighbors, because the quality of their guests is not something the hotel can control. However...

I booked this trip with friends after its proximity to Hershey Park (which we had visited) was touted on the website. We specifically asked for a non-smoking room. I remember because two of us are allergic to cigarette smoke... so, the hotel provides us with a room that has the little "no smoking" sign cutely displayed below the room's braille numbers. The inside of the room, though, was anything but. Smoke lingered in its confines as if someone had just finished smoking within; cigarette butts were strewn about the windowsill, and an ashtray was clearly visible on the table. When we called about it, the staff was rude and dismissive, claiming that we booked a smoking room. With no proof to the contrary, except for the aforementioned allergies, we sucked it up - literally - for the night.

The interior design looked like it had not been touched since 1971 - the orange, tan, and yellow-speckled rugs that covered every inch of floor outside the lobby met with tobacco-stained wallpaper to form a subtle mosaic to Phillip Morris and his compatriots.

I did not feel safe walking around this hotel... and it's not like the front desk did anything to assuage my concerns: they asked me for my car's make and model. I assumed they were taking an inventory and asked them if it was okay that there were two cars parked outside. Rather than explain what the purpose behind the database was, the manager - MANAGER - told me, "Nah, it's just for the computer. I don't care if your car gets stolen... so long as MY car doesn't get stolen."

Getting food wasn't any better as nothing within ten miles was open at 11PM on a Saturday. Applebee's was our only option and even that was closer to Hershey than the hotel claims to be. But I guess I can't blame the hotel for the area's lack of resources...

All in all, I guess the positive thing was that I got a great story out of staying at such a terrible hotel. Perhaps Quality Inn should look to change its name at this particular establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SeanyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My boyfriend called this the worst hotel he's ever stayed at. I'll make this simple:
- I called them at 10pm, asking for directions from Hershey Park to the hotel. Simple? No. First, the woman gave me an attitude for asking. Then, she says, "Take I-83, no, wait, I-81. No. Ummm. It's one of them... I don't know." Then, she puts me on hold for 5 minutes only to give me extremely vague - and often incorrect directions (leaving out "north" or "south," etc.) Needless to say, we got lost.
- I was specific about having a non-smoking room. The sign on the door said no smoking. BUT, inside, there were cigarette butts on the window sill, an ashtray on the table, and it smelled as if someone were actually smoking in the room. My clothes and hair literally smelled like smoke when we left.
- The hotel was so shady. There were creepy drunk people outside and the doors to get into the hotel were propped and unlocked. Even though I was staying with 3 large men, I was nervous and wanted to lock the door - but the deadbolt was torn off the wall.
- There is NOTHING anywhere near the hotel. We had to drive almost back to Hershey to eat.
- At least, there was free porn. Maybe this place is a popular spot for prostitutes because a woman was screaming and moaning until 2am - literally. The boys found this entertaining, but I did not. Even worse, there was a family staying on the other side of the pornographic couple.
- The worst part: when I complained to the manager, he literally blamed the whole thing on me. Somehow, he thought it was MY fault. NEVER EVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank marygeralyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Very good value. We made the smart move of booking our hotel at the last minute, and this was a last resort. Very nice and quaint. Small but comfy rooms. Only problem was the bathtub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while, but they immediately came up and cleaned it, and gave us $10/night off. Besides that, it was a perfect stay. Continental breakfast was very good. Close to lots of stores, very good shopping area. About 20 minute drive to Hersheypark. Located right off the Interstate on a busy road. Didn't hear any traffic noise off of the freeway, either. It was a good thing everything was a right turn out of the hotel, because a left turn would have been impossible. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wt90401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I admit that it was a great deal for a hotel so close to Hershey but it was not the nicest Quality Inn I've stayed in. Sheets, towels, etc are of average Quality Inn quality but my sheets were damp when I checked in. The drink machines were empty, the elevator door was gross looking, and the bathroom floor was a little greasy. I did not have any traffic noise, but I could hear a lot from the floor above. Staff was pleasant. About 20 min from Hershey. Food options are limited if you want sit down. Did not have breakfast there.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Littlefootann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#27 of 51 in Harrisburg
224 reviews
5.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
#36 of 51 in Harrisburg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#33 of 51 in Harrisburg
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#18 of 51 in Harrisburg
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 200 N Mountain Rd, I-81 Northbound Exit 72A, Southbound 72, Harrisburg, PA 17112-2615
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: £44 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Harrisburg
Quality Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing