We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Pennsylvania National Fire Museum
Ranked #13 of 53 things to do in Harrisburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enter the 1899 Victorian Firehouse, Home of the Reily Hose Co. No. 10 and experience the sights and sounds of Firefighting History. The Pennsylvania National Fire Museum features fire apparatus from Handtubs and Steam Pumpers, hand drawn to horse drawn, to motorized Engines and a 1935 MACK tillered Ladder Truck. An outstanding and varied collection of artifacts are on display
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you are a firefighter history buff this is the place to go. Staff was very friendly and informative. Located in century of Victorian Firehouse. It has a great collections of aritfacts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fire Museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Good museum of the history. Very friendly staff. Takes about an hour, well worth it if you have any interest in firefighting history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeniam826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Horse World Expo”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a great event. We have attended two years in a row now. Lots of great demonstrations and seminars. Tons of vendors with really good prices on everyday horse items and lots of vendors sell unqiue items. The Theatre Eques show is absolutely wonderful...don't miss it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bkrusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This was one of the best fire museums I have ever toured. The retired volunteers (it seemed mostly firemen/women) who run the museum were great! The facility is an original firestation that was restored and houses many antique fire trucks and even tells of how they used to be horse drawn. Just a great place to visit with TONS of history and although I didn't have any kids with me, I'm sure they would get a big kick out of going there!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tildy9423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gotta Love Our Firemen!”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is a well organized, educational experience for children as well as adults. Certainly worth scheduling time to enjoy this center city Harrisburg gem.

Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennsylvania National Fire Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania National Fire Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing