We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun downtown area to explore”

Ranked #19 of 54 things to do in Harrisburg
Attraction details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun downtown area to explore”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was in Harrisburg for an academic conference. Between sessions, I enjoyed exploring the downtown area. I was surprised by the variety of coffee shops and restaurants. For bibliophiles, Midtown Scholar is a must-visit bookstore.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    35
    39
    15
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice city to walk around...”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Front Street, Second and Third Street offer a lot to see, specially good. The Capitol is beautiful and the Susquehanna River is impressive. If you have a car or rental, you can venture to Hershey close by.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rrivera10079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wormleysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A nice place to have fun with friends”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I enjoy hanging out with my military family whenever possible. We get together and just walk the streets of Downtown Harrisburg on Saturday nights... from eating to dancing enjoying the city life.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Honesty697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad for midsize city.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not a lot of shopping but 2nd street has some really good restaurants. The Capitol building is downtown and so is the State Museum, Whitaker Center and City Island is across the bridge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zuzuspetals84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg pa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Harrisburg, really! Needs to get with it!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

You are 30 years behind the times of the World!! What is good about it, except Carley's Piano Bar & grill, which, we love! Great food, tapas, wine & atmosphere!
Doesn't get any better than this....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Harrisburg also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing