We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Hotel That is a Run-of-the-Mill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

While this hotel is relatively new the construction is not the most preferred in overall quality. Sockets in my room would not work with the coffee maker and my room did not have microwave or refrigerator.

The staff is very freindly and accomodating and the hotel is in a desireable area if you are driving. The nearest sit-down restaurants are approximately 1 mile away with a Arbys 1/2 mile away.

Because of the construction material chosen (wood frame) you do tend to hear more hallway noises.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our staff takes great pride in our service.

The outlets in the rooms are actually child safety protected. When plugging the coffee maker into the outlet, the plugs need to be angled. They are specifically designed that way with safety in mind. Arby's is the closest fast food restaurant. It is .20 miles from the hotel. There are several other sit down eating establishments within a 1.5 mile radius of the hotel. The front desk has a list along with directions available for guests.

We hope to have you stay with us again when returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel opened on 6/28/12. It is new and clean and we found the staff to be quite friendly. We were greeted each time we entered the hotel, unlike a prior reviewer's experience. Erica at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was basic, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, etc. We stayed here to attend a Harrisburg Senators baseball game. The stadium was about 15 minutes from the hotel. Pros: Very high ceilings and large room and bathroom size. Wide doorways and bathroom size would accommodate a wheelchair. We received a call after arrival to make sure everything was ok with the room. Pool looked nice and fitness center was small but adequate. Easy to get on and off of the highway Cons: Beds were hard, no pillow top mattresses. It is near the highway and at the end of a cul de sac where new medical office buildings are being constructed. Therefore, there is some noise as others have noted. The construction noise will abate but the road noise will not. Ask for a room on the front (cul de sac) side of the hotel, away from the highway. Note that this hotel, the office park and even the street that it is on does not exist on any paper map. It is that new. Use mapping software to find it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PineBarrensMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

4 adults and 3 kids, 7,4 and 3!!!
Hershey park long weekend and we had a great time!! The staff was great. Brett in the morning will get you anything you need! He's top notch and he does a lot. I hope hes taken care of. The place is super clean and comfortable! It's not a nose on the air place it's more like everyday people that want to make your stay perfect!! Kirsha Damone is director of sales, sweet as a peach and Erica at the front desk as well!! Good luck and we will be back soon with the family.

Sincerely
The Lombardi family

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucidonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a brand new hotel that just opened last month so of course everything is in prefect condition. The Decor of the hotel is very nice and probably the most modern Hampton Inn I've stayed in. Our room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and spacious enough for 4 adults. The only dissapointment in the room was that we had a room right across from the highway which we could hear the traffic extremely well all night. The complimentary breakfast was average and not enough tables. The breakfast area was large and the tables were sparse. They have plenty of room to add more tables which they should because we had to go to our room to eat and so didn't many others. The service from the staff was just ok. You can walk in and out of the hotel all day long and never get greeted. Im used to the top notch service that I have always recieved at a Hampton Inn. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes away from Hershey Park/Chocolate World. Gas, restaurants, and stores near by. Over all it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in a room near the highway, it's very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridatrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments. Our hotel offers the full hot breakfast as any other Hampton Inn. Since our lobby area is so spacious, we do have additional furniture upon order. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel is nicely laid out and new. The staff is friendly but the directions to the hotel are inaccurate. The hotel also is located in an area without close food or conveniences such as pharmacy or coffee place. The room we had was on the freeway side and was almost impossible to sleep from the road noise. Another issue is the air condition unit is located directly next to the pull out couch ( we had a suite) and whoever sleeps near the ac freezeswhile the rest of the room is warm. Overall only thing this hotel has over the other Hamptons we stayed at is the hotel is new... I would avoid this hotel just for the missing conveniences and noise.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the street side. Avoid the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avigli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our hotel is centrally located with easy on and off access to I-81. Within 1 mile of our hotel is a CVS Pharmacy. 1.6 miles from the hotel is a Starbucks along with several shops and eating establishments. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again should be return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

If you are a light sleeper, avoid the side of the hotel by the freeway or use ear plugs. The property is new and nice in most respects. We asked for a room on the quiet side of the hotel but were told that there were no rooms like we requested. I suppose that means no king beds were available since that was our request. With the benefit of hindsight, we should have changed our preference.

Room Tip: See comments above re noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. We do our best to try and accommodate requests but this cannot be guaranteed. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again when traveling to or through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Newly opened as of July 2012. I stayed here for one night. REALLY REALLY NICE PLACE , unsurprisingly, I guess.. but I was not expecting it, so it was a surprise for me. The rooms are top notch. Plush comfy beds, lots of room in the suites, lovely bathroom stone flooring. Real nice presentation. Microwaves in room and small fridge ! Sooo appreciated!

When I arrived I was so tired after a long day of traveling and previous work related obligations. I did not realize how new this place was and I could smell the strong carpety odors when I entered the room. I am very aversive/sensitive to smells, and was feeling sick as a result. Combined with my mood and tiredness, that was not a good thing. I called down to the desk and asked about it- they were receptive and sent a maintenance man up for help with the ventilation. Well, this gentleman was SOOOO NICE! Here I was, probably looking like a spoiled tired princess , but he was quite polite, patient and helpful-even at 10 o'clock at night! Whoever that guy was, he was the best.
He brought up a fan which really helped disperse some fumes.

THAT made my stay soo much better and I am very thankful. Breakfast was standard. Previous comments: I agree with you. Fitness center solid. Clean and large. Pool, was placebo. small...but hey, this is Harrisburg, not Jamaica.
Overall, this is a QUALITY place . Highly recommend this hotel if you need someplace near Harrisburg to spend a night. (Be careful about the fumes if you are fragrance-sensitive though) Also, there is a detour on local road, so accessing the place might not work for you if you are staying close to when this review is written. Call ahead about that.

And whoever you are, Maintenance Man, THANK YOU~

Room Tip: Top floor. Suite. Do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chia6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorofSales17110, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our staff strives to please our guests. I am pleased to see that we were able to do so. The road that had a detour has since opened. The Staff and Management would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again while in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 51 in Harrisburg
442 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North

Address: 30 Capital Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is brand new with 106 guestrooms and suites. A full hot breakfast is included with your stay. We offer a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and a suite shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing