We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be sooo much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights while visiting hershey. Pros: Quiet rooms, big, block out sun, nice lobby, warm indoor pool, 6 mi from park, friendly staff. Cons: breakfast not staffed and always low of what little food they offered. Little to no milk, juice, or cereal. Waffles were the only hot food. Had to switch rooms because of a neighbor smoking marijuana and it filtered in vents and staff couldn't identify the source. Workout room decent, but no water supply in room, just a drinking fountain by pool. However, the manager did reimburse me for ice/therapy packs I had to purchase because I left them in the old freezer in the 11 pm marijuana switch. For the price I would stay a little closer at a hotel without breakfast for the same price since we never could really eat breakfast anyway.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Owenladyvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

As usual the hotel was nice but the breakfast was weak. I wish that La Quinta would try a little harder to compete on the breakfast. I don't like to start my day with only carbs. How about a little protein? This hotel was very new and nice. AC unit was reasonable quiet and the place was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just stayed here for a visit to Hershey Park. It was a busy weekend due to a LAX tournament, and that includes this hotel. It was a little noisy from the many ill behaved children and parents, but I don't hold that against the hotel. The staff was friendly when though they were very busy. Our room was clean, the furniture was nice and new. They free breakfast was typical, and I had no complaints with the food. It was very crowded, but the staff kept us. They even opened a meeting room for us to eat when they dining area filled.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator. They are near the ice and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 956Mark956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Worst experience ever! Horrible, filthy condition. We spent the day at Hershey park & got to our hotel late at night. Walked in lobby looked ok, when we got to our room on the 3rd floor the ceiling had numerous water stains current & in the past, bathroom was dirty, hair on floor, mold on shower curtain, rugs not vacuumed in corners or floors cleaned ..... Very disgusting would have not stayed the night if we saw these conditions in day light! Went down to breakfast & walls, curtains, floor, table were dirty, curtains were all stained. Didn't feel comfortable eating there. We immediately packed up our 2 children & would not stay the second night which we had booked in advance. The exterior was littered, lawn was not mowed, full of weeds, no landscaping, that should have been the first hint to not stay in these horrible conditions!
Don't stay at this place! They blamed a lacrosse team that stayed in the hotel but these are issues from years of neglect & the place is only 2 years old. There was a sign on the front "now open" was it previously closed because of health reasons? We should have done our homework before booking this hotel ! They need to pay attention to details.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank JustynCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Laquinta due to how close it was to Hershey. The hotel has been renovated but it's a shame that Management isn't doing more to maintain the renovations. The carpet on the steps hasn't been shampoo since it was put down. Since this hotel is pet friendly then I would think the up keep of the carpet would be essential to its guest. The housekeeping staff seemed rather lazy in the fact that the carpet in our hall where I suite was didn't get vacuumed the entire three nights we were there. There was cookies and and just dirt all of the carpet outside our room. If your on the floor cleaning the rooms, why not vacuum the rugs? They appeared to be more concerned with talking to each other and playing with their cell phones. Then the flies were out of control especially when eating breakfast. Also the breakfast was more like a really bad continental breakfast. For the amount you pay for the stay bacon or sausage wouldn't be a bad idea especially since it's something other Laquinta ' s offer. The pool area was humid and the water looked merky. I didn't allow my children to swim due to the other things around the hotel didn't look to be kept up with and I didn't want to run the risk with the pool. So the hotel is modern but wearing down quickly because Management isn't engaged on the up keep just taking money from their guest. One other thought we had a suite but not a lot of storage space and our had an odor to it so we went to the Giant down the street and bought room spray. It's convenient to Hershey and the shopping centers and eatery areas but needs some maintenance in my family's opinion. We are military and a party of 9 and was expecting a lot more based upon the pictures and previous reviews.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Stephanie540VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The accommodations were very good. When we travel we normally travel with our Granddaughter who is currently 10 and an indoor pool is always a plus for us due to her love of swimming. As I described in a previous survey the breakfasts are mediocre and may not choose to stay and eat. All pastries would even be worse. We miss the biscuit and Gravy option. The evening clerk put on her smile but was not really interested or attentive to what you had to say. Example...no ice bucket smiled but not attentive, I found it in the bathroom. I shared the electrical outlet in the bathroom was loose and you had do hold the cord in to do your hair. Once again smiled and wrote it down but really not attentive...hard to describe but just not really there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice Hotel and Location! 5 to 10 minutes straight down the road to Hershey Park! Free Breakfast was your typical breakfast with a yummy waffle maker! Pool area was nice. Only bad thing about the pool was our Room (224) was directly above it and was loud in the evening until the pool closed at 10pm. Don't expect to check-in before the 3pm check-in time because it won't happen and the front desk lady was a bit rude but more friendly when we came back! Our Room was ready when we went back around 330pm though. We had a double queen room which included a mini fridge and microwave and was nice to have available if needed. Bring your own Pillows though! Hotel had a smell on the 2nd floor but appeared to be very clean. We would stay here again if we made another trip to Hershey Park. This was our first times staying at a La Quinta and was pleasant. We usually stay at Starwood Brand Hotels but we didn't have luck at the Harrisburg Sheraton on our last trip so we chose some place new. There is a restaurant right next door and a plaza on the way to Hershey park with a pizza place and Chinese buffet and more! Overall our stay with our 2 sons was great and we'd stay here again in the future! Good Luck!

Room Tip: Not 224! It's right above the pool and our kids go to bed early and it's loud till the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank surgtech16rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
7.7 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
9.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 265 N Hershey Rd, off I-81 at Exit 77, Harrisburg, PA 17112-9752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: £56 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing